Chevron Left
Voltar para Modelos Regressivos

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Modelos Regressivos da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.4
stars
2,830 classificações
473 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Linear models, as their name implies, relates an outcome to a set of predictors of interest using linear assumptions. Regression models, a subset of linear models, are the most important statistical analysis tool in a data scientist’s toolkit. This course covers regression analysis, least squares and inference using regression models. Special cases of the regression model, ANOVA and ANCOVA will be covered as well. Analysis of residuals and variability will be investigated. The course will cover modern thinking on model selection and novel uses of regression models including scatterplot smoothing....

Melhores avaliações

KA

Dec 17, 2017

Excellent course that is jam-packed with useful material! It is quite challenging and gives a thorough grounding in how to approach the process of selecting a linear regression model for a data set.

BA

Feb 01, 2017

It really helped me to have a better understanding of these Regression Models. However, I've noticed that there is a video recording repeated: Week 3, Model Selection. Part 3 is included in Part 2.

Filtrar por:

276 — 300 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Modelos Regressivos

por Yusuf E

Aug 15, 2018

I am almost certain that regression models have more relavance in an academic setting than industry. But this doesn't affect really how I graded this course. I wish Brian skipped over the first week which entirely deals with regression to the mean. Weeks 2 and 3 were very good and detailed.

I am not sure if logistic classifier is mentioned in the next course but it would probably be best if this part would be included in the ML course. Other than that great course and very challenging quizzes.

por Jamison R C

Aug 28, 2018

Excellent course, though I recommend you supplement applied practice by using the principal instructor, Dr. Brian Caffo's book, to answer practice questions if you want to retain these content-packed lessons. Better yet, begin each week by looking at the quiz and printing it out. As you view the relevant content, answer the related questions (which are generally presented in order of delivery).

por Richard M A

Dec 23, 2016

This was better than the statistical inference course, but Brian still puts too much emphasis on the precision of his language (as if he's teaching to other mathematicians) which makes it difficult to understand. I would like to see a bit more dumbed down explanation of the mathematics in the examples (similar to Sal at Khan Academy). If that happened, this would definitely be a 5 star course.

por Sandesh

Jun 25, 2019

For the content covered, I think the course does a good job exposing students to fundamental concepts while also highlighting how much more there is to research in order to gain a solid understanding of this subject matter. The course offers a good foundation, and I hope they come out with a more advanced version of this course for more guided exposure.

por Christopher B

Mar 01, 2017

This course was an improvement in teaching modality from the statistical inference course, with more polished content, but the link between the lectures and the actual exercises was still a bit strained. Overall, it felt like there was a bit of a disconnect between the swirl exercises and the lectures, and this led to a lot of self-teaching.

por Paul R

Mar 13, 2019

Relatively, this is one of the best courses and lecturers of the specialization, Brian delivers clear, thorough and well-paced lectures. These lectures on statistics, regression and machine learning are where the rubber hits the road after a lot of prep work to learn R and principles/tools of data science taught in earlier classes.

por Max M

Nov 19, 2017

Really appreciate the depth of this course, as well as the changes Prof. Caffo made in his teaching style since his Statistical Inference course. However, the reasoning behind some of the more complex topics, like GLMs, aren't adequately explained, and the Swirl lessons are presented in a strange and disorienting order.

por Cesar L

Nov 01, 2016

Great course. The content might be improved to be more clear. I feel that sometimes the instructor assumes we are familiar with some concepts we have not seen in previous courses. Also, some times he does a very good job explaining the WHY before the HOW, and some other times he does not. Very knowledgeable instructor.

por Kevin H

Nov 09, 2016

Something was missing from this course. I cam away with an increased understanding of regression but I still feel like I struggle with many concepts and had to put in much more time than the recommended.

Still when I found the answer it was all still contained and maybe the material itself is just advanced.

my 2c

por Jeremy J

Nov 12, 2016

Like the way the Prof uses media. This is a very light touch on a very deep subject so it has to balance analytical work with the light "trust me and just do it" approach. The balance was mostly there although on a couple items I don't know that I had a good enough grip to know what I don't know.

por Wei W

Oct 23, 2017

Brian did better job in this course to elaborate and demonstrate with examples. No doubt Brian is extremely knowledge about this subject. Once again, this and Statistical Inference courses are very challenging to truly completed with insightful understanding. That's why I take one star away.

por Vidya M S

Mar 14, 2017

The concepts are well explained and precise. I think it depends on the individual to dive deeper into the topic by independent learning. Good data examples. Also following the suggested book of the author helps with some extra excercises. However , I feel extra practice questions would help .

por Linda W

Jun 04, 2016

This course will give you a good basic foundation in regression models. However, do be prepared to do a good amount of work besides just viewing the videos. I would recommend at the very least to go through the exercises in the 'recommended textbook' to gain a better understanding.

por Kim K

Aug 08, 2018

You will need to know the subject before taking this class in order to understand or be able to put in a large amount of time to learn. The book "Introduction to Statistical Learning" is an excellent supplement to the course. Rigorous and rewarding when you put the work in.

por Ada

Nov 14, 2016

Regression models was almost just as difficult as statistical inference. Again, the swirls and exercises were of great help. The pace, as always, was quite fast, but in the end all the pieces fitted together. Congratulations on a job well done!

por Peter G

Feb 10, 2016

First 3 weeks give very reasonable overview of the subject - topics of linear / polynomial / multivariate regression are covered quite well.

Week 4 is a bit sloppy and ad-hoc, comparing to first 3 weeks - GLMs are given poorly.

por Utkarsh Y

Sep 28, 2016

It is a good course for learning regression model implementation in R. You may need to have a basic understanding of popular regression models like linear & logistic as the course doesn't cover mathematical aspects in detail

por Andrew W

Feb 20, 2018

Great subject, was a bit frustrated with some of the material (seemed rushed and not well prepared). Great assignment, but too restrictive on the max number of pages allowed. Wasted a lot of time.

por Diego C

May 04, 2019

Very good course. Though basic, it provides you with the first tools and knowledge. The forums aren't what they used to be it seems, but you can find almost any answer there from past courses.

por Andrew W

Apr 05, 2018

Very good at presenting basic concepts. I highly reccomend saving the quiz questions as a good guide as to what you should know. I wish there were more material on generalized linear models.

por Arturo M K

Dec 10, 2016

I was hoping to learn about PROBIT models. I know they are very similar to LOGIT ones, but still... the pace is a little bit too fast and I think it requires more time than what it says.

por Bill K

Feb 10, 2016

This was a tough class covering a lot of material. The last week on logistic regression completely lost me. If you're new to stats like me you might want to take it more than once.

por Manny R

Mar 22, 2019

Really Fun Course. There is a lot to learn in this topic and this could be studied for a lifetime. I feel like I could apply this to discover solutions for issues at work.

por Vlad V

Apr 20, 2018

Good course, worth taking. It points out the importance of looking deeper into the world of regression models and creates right mindset and anchors for future development.

por Samirou T

May 26, 2018

I appreciate coefficients interpretation and variance influence to choose among models.

Running code takes a few seconds, understanding the model's outputs is a much hard