Chevron Left
Voltar para Rails com registro ativo e action pack

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Rails com registro ativo e action pack da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.7
703 classificações
147 avaliações

Sobre o curso

You already know how to build a basic web application with the Ruby on Rails framework. Perhaps, you have even taken Course 1, "Ruby on Rails: An Introduction" (we highly recommend it) where you relied on external web services to be your “data layer”. But in the back of your mind, you always knew that there would come a time when you would need to roll up your sleeves and learn SQL to be able to interact with your own relational database (RDBMS). But there is an easier way to get started with SQL using the Active Record Object/Relational (ORM) framework. In this course, we will be able to use the Ruby language and the Active Record ORM framework to automate interactions with the database to quickly build the application we want. In Rails with Active Record and Action Pack, we will explore how to interact with relational databases by using Active Record, a Ruby gem, which Rails uses by default for database access. We will then take a look at what role Active Record plays in the overall request-response cycle, when a client (the browser) requests data from the server, as well as how to submit the data to the server. Of course, when accessing data, security is of paramount importance! We will talk about vulnerabilities such as SQL injection, as well as how to secure access to data by authenticating and authorizing users accessing the data. Take this course to build a Ruby on Rails application with Active Record to automate the detailed SQL interactions with our database....

Melhores avaliações

AB

Aug 11, 2016

A nice continuation to course 1 of this specialization, deeper dive into RoR, among other things you will learn how to manipulate/display database data and how to authenticate/authorize users!

NL

Dec 17, 2015

Great explanation of not so easy to understand concepts. Lecturer provides good example that can help material better and see how what you've learned can be applied to real world scenarios.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Rails com registro ativo e action pack

por Nguyen M H

May 24, 2019

Active Record is so useful! I'm trying my best to learn all lectures.

por eighty

Apr 02, 2019

A detailed, thorough journey through Rails' model, view, controller framework. I took this after the popular Rails tutorial, which served as a great intro. I learned a huge amount about the main components of Rails - Active Record, Action Controller and Action View. There are no boring code-along videos, just concise lectures with slides and assignments.

This course is not really for beginners. It's challenging, just because of the many potential technical issues you can run into with Ruby, Rails, databases, servers and tests. I recommend having at least six months of programming studies behind you before diving into this course.

The previous course in the series is also a must - even if you think you already know the basics, you'll have important stuff reinforced.

por Ameer H B

Feb 09, 2019

Beautiful course. Everything is explained much clear. Easy to understand and easy to learn too

por Daichi Y

Dec 15, 2018

It was an awesome course! There is just one thing; the versions of Ruby and Ruby on Rails look to be a bit out-dated. Thank you!

por Milan T

Oct 20, 2018

hard but great course

por Takayuki K

Sep 03, 2018

This course was tough.

The content of lectures are great but autograder of assignments is too bad. It was very stressful for me to use autograder till I can get used to it.

por Xuliang S

Jul 24, 2018

Course staff does not respond to questions that I posted on the forum.

por Ryan D

Jul 11, 2018

2 things are cerating if you take this course, - you will hate it when you take it. - you will LOVE it when it's over. You will really like where it takes you when it gets over and make you feel really good on how much your skills have improved.

por Yifei H

Apr 22, 2018

This is a great course. I had no knowledge in Ruby and web development before this course (I skipped Intro to Rails course which is the first in this specialization). This course has very well designed coding assignment with tests written in RSpec. All four coding assignments all build upon the previous one, so there is no context switch, and they together build up Todo List App. I love the fact this course is very focused on MVC of Rails. I would recommend it to anyone who would love to learn Rails and MVC pattern.

por Boulate K

Mar 31, 2018

Well taught and very interactive. I recommend this to every one interested in understanding the core concepts of rails

por Nicolas S V

Mar 30, 2018

Good tips for the double AA.

por Derek H

Feb 23, 2018

This course is much better than the previous course "Ruby on Rails: An Introduction". If you struggled through the first class, this one is much more user friendly and easy to go along with.This is definitely a Rails course, with the first course being a Ruby course.

The professor's audio issues are much less pronounced in this course and less noticeable. The lectures are not as monotone and boring to listen to as well.

The modules are broken down into better sections that flow together. The materials, though older, can still be followed and course materials can be used. There has been at least some updates for newer versions of Ruby, Rails, and gems.

The assignments go with the course lectures and many of the examples can point you in the right direction. The assignments are not direct copies of the lectures with many items needing to be modified to accommodate for the assignment requirements. Each module is a take/variation of the previous assignment, which is nice because you get a better sense of how they are working together. The RSPEC files are much better at actually pointing you towards what your issues are. The Wiki site has more beneficial Q/A.

With the assignment time estimates, I found that I usually had to double the higher estimates for the amount that I would spend on each one.

One of the problems with this course is that the assignment files seem to be written by multiple people. They can be very confusing at times, hard to follow. Because the assignments are written in this way, some things will break but are fixed in later steps, though you will not know that they are fixed later after you spend time trying to fix the issues so RSPEC or the Web test will pass.

Another problem with the course has to do with Rails in general. It has some weird conventions and tries to be "Too helpful" at times. You will still have to use Google to figure out what the correct convention is and maybe why some things are done.

por Sarah H

Feb 14, 2018

I have worked with rails for sometime then stopped for a while and after that I took this course as a refreshment, and t really worth the time, actually I learned some new stuff that I did not came across before

por Vivek G

Feb 10, 2018

As good as Course 1, grate learning experience ! Thank You professor for this excellent course...

por DUTENGJIE

Jan 23, 2018

I learned so many knowledge from this course, not just the Rails , I also have comprehend the ruby , the ruby-gems and the HTTP/REST protocol. and the assignments are not particularly difficult for the beginners like me.

por Ania M

Nov 14, 2017

The course is very good. The only feedback I have is that it seems as though a lot of Windows users have to struggle with setting up the assignment environments and have to seek guidance from outside sources (e.g. Stack Overflow) for get the issues resolved.

por Alejandro E

Oct 24, 2017

Great course with excellent attention to detail.

por Joana D L

Sep 16, 2017

Excelent course! Learned a lot! Thank you Professor :)

por Scott N

Sep 03, 2017

Was great to understand how to use/implement Active Record in Rails

por Intellisys

Aug 18, 2017

This course teach me a lot of complex things like authentication, nested resources and authorization. This is a great course for someone that want to learn Rails

por Vishal B

Aug 12, 2017

Good introductory course!!

por Tony C

Aug 10, 2017

great course, good mid/advanced overview of Rails

por Deyvison d P P

Jul 30, 2017

I'm very happy with the course, that was awesome to learn a lot and increase my knowledge with Ruby on Rails

por Vitalij

Jul 16, 2017

It was difficult to follow, because of all the screenshots without live programming. I think it would be more easier to understand if the course wouldn't consist only of pics.

por sayed a e

Jul 03, 2017

great course thanks