Chevron Left
Voltar para Race and Cultural Diversity in American Life and History

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Race and Cultural Diversity in American Life and History da instituição Universidade de Illinois em Urbana-ChampaignUniversidade de Illinois em Urbana-Champaign

4.6
estrelas
204 classificações
99 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Learners will deepen their understanding and appreciation of ways in which race, ethnicity and cultural diversity have shaped American institutions, ideology, law, and social relationships from the colonial era to the present. Race and ethnicity are ideological and cultural categories that include all groups and individuals. Hence, this course is designed in significant part to take a broad look at the ideology of race and cultural diversity in America’s past and present. The primary focus is on the historical and social relationships among European Americans, Native Americans, African Americans, Latino/as, and Asian/Pacific Americans. Issues of race and ethnicity are examined across different ethno-cultural traditions in order to interweave diverse experiences into a larger synthesis of the meaning of race and ethnicity in American life. In this course, we conceive of “race” and “diversity” as references to the entire American population, even as we recognize that different groups have unique historical experiences resulting in distinctive and even fundamental cultural differences. We treat race and ethnicity as dynamic, complex ideological and cultural processes that shape all social institutions, belief systems, inter-group relationships, and individual experiences....

Melhores avaliações

J

Jun 08, 2020

This course is an excellent source of education! I learned so much, and feel so proud of myself for completing it, and getting grades that I never thought I could! Thank you, Coursera! :)

BW

Jul 13, 2020

The topics were good, and the professor clearly knows his subject. The final paper took more time than expected, but overall I felt like I came away with more knowledge on the subject.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 99 Avaliações para o Race and Cultural Diversity in American Life and History

por Antwan R

Aug 21, 2020

A very informative course that is relevant to past and current race related issues!

por Holly G

Aug 03, 2020

Great course! Really eye opening on how the United States got to where it is today.

por Stephanie I

Jul 10, 2020

Excellent course. Just what I was looking for. This was time very well spent.

por Kirstie J

Jul 06, 2020

Very informative, both allowing for personal growth and creative thought.

por Maureen R

Jul 30, 2020

Very informative and great opportunity to reflect on race in America.

por Kim H

Aug 04, 2020

Excellent. I appreciate the thoughtful and accessible information.

por Seth M H

Jun 28, 2020

Fantastic and insightful! Easy course load and interesting topic.

por Tom A E J

Sep 04, 2020

This is an excellent course. Dr. Anderson is a great professor.

por MARIO F C D

Jun 28, 2020

Excelente curso. Dinamico y muy completo.

por Daniela C V

May 31, 2020

Excellent course. Great insights.

por Lisa W

Feb 08, 2018

Great Course, great instructor.

por FRANK A

Aug 29, 2020

A VERY INTERESTING COURSE

por Pablo I G

Sep 11, 2020

Muy bueno e interesante.

por Christopher A

Aug 17, 2020

Very insightful course!

por Claire H

Aug 05, 2020

I loved this course!

por Alberto I

May 18, 2020

Really interesting!!

por Sofía A M G

Sep 05, 2020

Excelente curso!!!

por Alice Z

Feb 03, 2019

excellant

por Sara F H

Aug 16, 2020

AMAZING!

por Mona A A

Jul 03, 2020

good

por Nadine N M

Jul 25, 2020

I think it is wonderful to have this kind of course work available for free, and I am grateful to the professor and University of Illinois for doing this work. Thank you for the education, opportunity to think through these things and be exposed to better race history information that should have been taught earlier in schools. There REALLY needs to be a way to report graders who are purposefully downgrading other students. Since these classes are opened up to a very large audience with no prerequisites, it invites some people who don't necessarily have the right discernment and/or grade harshly for political reasons. For example, I was graded a '0' for references and citations on my final paper when there were citations throughout the paper (more than the minimum requirement) and more than 10 references (also more than the minimum requirement. 3 people grade our papers so, since the other 2 are fair, we mostly end up passing. However, it really isn't okay that are grades are far lower than is really deserved because of people with some kind of vengeance on the topic.

por Jasmin C

Jul 22, 2020

I absolutely loved all the material given from the Professor. I learned so much and I learned a lot from my fellow peers. This class was eye opening and I highly recommend it! Learning about race and it’s effects on society, has given me a much better understanding of what others different than me have experienced. The only thing I’d change or wish could be better is more time for the final project to be completed. I am a stay at home mom and I had a hard time finding time to finish certain assignments. A few were easy to complete but for the Final project, I would have wished I had more time to produce a better project than the one I gave. Despite this, I earned a very good grade in the class.

por Sonya R

Jul 22, 2020

The Race and Cultural Diversity in American Life and History course was excellent! Although, I didn't expect to spend as much time as I did on the assignments, it was worth it. Through the lectures presented by Professor Anderson, supplemental reading and resources, and research done to complete the assignment, I have learned more about my cultural identity, become more aware of the ideology of race and how it has shaped the lives Americans from every ethnic background. The only suggestion I would like to make is that some of the transcribed lectures be proof read. There are many typos.

Sonya Rosario

por David E E

Jul 10, 2020

While it is true that some of the administration can be clunky, and the peer reviews, both given and received can be inconsistent, the course content was excellent. Truly covering both race and cultural diversity, including ethnicity and religion, the presentations and supporting readings were engaging and thought-provoking. Beginning the course, I was skeptical of getting lively interaction typical of a classroom setting, especially for such an emotional topic, but one upside of the peer reviews was the exposure to others' thought processes and growth over the duration of the course.

por Jessica W

Jul 17, 2020

I loved the content of the course. I found it opened up a number of avenues for continued exploration and learning. The first assignment was great! I loved the reflective nature of it and it helped me to start to explore my own culture and perspectives. I have two suggestions for the course in the future: (1) make the assignments more reflective rather than the research based format and (2) the duration listed for the individual reading was not accurate. One time it said it would take 10 minutes but one of the included videos was 17 minutes.