Chevron Left
Voltar para Linguagem R

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Linguagem R da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.5
estrelas
21,627 classificações
4,688 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this course you will learn how to program in R and how to use R for effective data analysis. You will learn how to install and configure software necessary for a statistical programming environment and describe generic programming language concepts as they are implemented in a high-level statistical language. The course covers practical issues in statistical computing which includes programming in R, reading data into R, accessing R packages, writing R functions, debugging, profiling R code, and organizing and commenting R code. Topics in statistical data analysis will provide working examples....

Melhores avaliações

EJ

11 de jul de 2016

Excellent course! I already knew a lot about R - but this class helped me solidify what I already knew, taught me lots of new tricks, and now I have a certificate that says I know `something' about R!

WH

2 de fev de 2016

"R Programming" forces you to dive in deep.\n\nThese skills serve as a strong basis for the rest of the data science specialization.\n\nMaterial is in depth, but presented clearly. Highly recommended!

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de 4,596 Avaliações para o Linguagem R

por Elisa R

15 de abr de 2021

The assignments are very difficult. ALL the assignments required me to spend HOURS on them, looking for help outside what was given in the course..

BUT I learned a LOT and after finishing this course and others from the specialization I learned in 5 months what I haven't been able to learn in like a whole year.

por Astolfo

30 de jul de 2020

Great course.

Just as a spoiler, in the cache excercise, no one really understood what they answered and admins should change that assignment URGENLTY, because is frustraing. So when you solve that part, don't feel dumb, we all did, we feel you bro.

por Ryan V

11 de fev de 2022

Difficult to follow at times. it will take a lot of time to get through the assigments. but if you are serious about learning R or any programming, it is necessary to get thrown into the fire.

por WHAT

16 de abr de 2019

Nice!!

por Hans F B

14 de nov de 2020

The course is taught like how most technical university courses are taught: simple examples delivered in a complex way with DIFFICULT assessments (difficult for a beginner). I had to read from tons of other external sources just to complete the programming assignments on my own. Even the very cool self-paced, hands-on R-tutorial (Swirl) didn't help much in equipping me with the skills to easily complete the assignments. The instructor is very qualified to deliver the course, but the manner of delivery is overwhelming for a beginner in R (or programming.

Overall, I began with zero/very minimal programming skills and ended up with quite a decent background in R programming by the course's end. If you have zero programming background, do not take this course.

por Md. Z M

23 de mai de 2020

For the background, I am a graduate in Computer Science with 3+ years of professional experience in software development.

I found the course to be challenging enough, and equally rewarding. The swirl exercises are good and help you practice the commands in a guided setting. The programming assignments were very challenging. I ended up working on them for 7-8 hours on average. Assignments were designed to make you investigate and study on your own (this really helped in my understanding of R).

Surely, I would recommend R Programming. However, novices in programming will have to invest a lot of time and effort on their own to navigate through the content for significant gain.

por Twinkle J

15 de set de 2020

The course is interesting and very engaging. However, I felt difficulty in writing the codes for the assignments since I don't have a coding or programming background.

por Sebastian D

26 de fev de 2019

level of difficulty for quiz and assignments are sky high;

it seems in the course you learn how to multiply and in test you are asked to know how differentiation wordks

por Yuri C L

4 de ago de 2017

It is a good course with very challenging assignments. Given the class levels, maybe too challenging. Though I must say I did complete the course before its deadline.

por Sagar D

20 de jun de 2016

Course is really great. However for the absolute beginners it might be challenging as the assignments and videos assume basic knowledge of stats and programing

por Ong W J

6 de out de 2018

This course is tough if you have zero background in programming. I struggled alots especially in the last assignment.

por Xavi A

1 de jan de 2021

Good course but in my opinion very difficult to achieve if you don't have previous programming knowledge.

por Joanne Y

7 de fev de 2022

I​ learned a lot, but with a high frustration. More guidance/structure would be good. If Thanks!

por Zhu, T

25 de mai de 2020

Homework and programming assignments are not related with videos.

por SEEUN H

4 de fev de 2019

Nice, but limited explanation for beginners.

por yaw o a

2 de fev de 2019

Some concepts weren't clearly discussed

por John O

22 de fev de 2022

The course was very useful for learning the basics of R. The lectures were great, the swirl exercises were great, the quiz at the end of each week covered relevant topics.

However... the programming assignments were extremely difficult to the point of being almost impossible to complete without an enourmous amount of external help and research. They were way beyond the diffiulty level appropriate for the course and were impossible to complete or even understand with the information covered in the lectures and exercises. It was very discouraging at the start and I almost condiered giving up until I read other reviews and saw that many people were having the exact same issues that I was.

I think it is completely unacceptable to have assignments that are so beyond the difficulty level of the course that they are essentially irrelevant to the learning outcomes of the course. While the rest of the course was really great, this is an issue that needs to be addressed before I would consider recommending it to others.

por Ryan N

6 de out de 2021

I​ am a total beginner in R. A​s mentioned by many other learners, the projects from the course is beyond what we had learned from the videos (the videos are quite fundamental and are useful to beginners, except the lexical scoping part which I still do not understand even with the project assignment two), which is why I am giving three stars. However, it exposes us to the real working environment when you are given a project without any guides. We are required to think independently how should we tackle such kind of situation when we are facing programming problem. You may have the idea but you do not know how to code it. Then you go through forums, be it Coursera forum or StackOverflow. You will enjoy the hard time when you are stuck and when you do not understand the forum contents. But you will also enjoy the sweet time when you have finally figured out the codes that work! The course is recommended for those who like to accept the challenge.

por Konstantinos L

2 de set de 2021

I learned a lot of things in this course, but I can't say that I'm pleased with the course overall. First of all, I found really frustrating that there was no connection between assignments and each week theory with a huge difficulty leap between them. Secondly, videos was kind of useless as the tutor was just reading the slides, and thirdly there was no consistency between each week curriculum, it lacked coherence. Even so, I learned a lot of things, and after all this frustration I find myself more confident in using R language. In addition, the tutors are present in the discussion forum and they are really really helpful, answering questions and provide extra material for the assignments, which in my opinion should be integrated in the main course. If this course was a couple of weeks longer, and there was consistency between theory - assignments, I think that it would be much better.

por Jesus A P G

1 de mai de 2020

In short, I learned a lot in this cocurse but I would not consider it for beginners with little programming experience. I spent at least 3-5 times more doing the assingtments. The information presented was very valuable but the pedagogical part was not well done. The chunks of information were poorly connected between themselves, making the learning process tidous and hard to achieve. The visuals were very sloppy with only white slides and a font too small. For these reason the lectures were boring and unappealing. My suggestion is to take more care of the didactic aspect of the course. Many times I had to watch YouTube videos on the same topic that I had just seen, and I can say that a colored diagram made all the difference between understanding everything and not understanding nothing at all.

por Danielle D C

18 de fev de 2021

For this second course installment of the Data Science Specialisation, there is an immense gap between the lectures and the assignments. I completely understand not being "spoon fed", which is a critical aspect of learning anything on your own. However, the jump in expectations between Programming Assignment 2 and Assignment 3 was incomprehensible. You could work your way through #2 but with #3, it felt as though you had a plethora of information thrown at your way, adding to the confusion, which you then had to stare at for what felt like "light years" to fully decode, in order to get through the quiz.

por Yuli H

23 de jan de 2022

I did learn a lot, but not from the course given and, unfortunately, not from the instructor. I have to google and read through many R docs and articles outside this course to complete the assignments. I know Google is my friend, but I am rating the course :D. The course is somewhat not well-structured. For someone who is really new to R, guidance is extremely important considering there are many paths can be taken to solve data analysis problems using R.

por Alejandro M

24 de mai de 2020

The course is too ambitious and some themes are explained in a very plain and boring way. I can't say you will learn nothing, the course isn't too bad, but if you have no prior experience with programming o even if you have but not in R, the course programming assignments will be a little difficult and the material. If you want to complete this course you will have to invest a lot of time searching for things and/or waiting for help in the forums. 5/10

por Krystle A S

10 de nov de 2020

I learned a lot from this course. My only concern is that, most of the assignments did not match with what was discussed in the lectures. It became difficult for beginners like myself to catch up. It seemed that the lectures were incomplete. I hope this gap between lectures and assignments will be addressed soon. Nevertheless, I learned a lot from this course and now I can say I know something about R programming. Thanks Coursera.

por Agop N

8 de nov de 2020

Difficult to follow and course curriculum not fully in line with the quiz. This course could easily span 6 weeks to avoid information overload and unnecessary time pressure while working full time and with family responsibilities. Optional SWIRL exercises should be revisited between Course 2 and Course 3 as there's very little time within each week.