Chevron Left
Voltar para Linguagem R

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Linguagem R da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.5
estrelas
17,976 classificações
3,777 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this course you will learn how to program in R and how to use R for effective data analysis. You will learn how to install and configure software necessary for a statistical programming environment and describe generic programming language concepts as they are implemented in a high-level statistical language. The course covers practical issues in statistical computing which includes programming in R, reading data into R, accessing R packages, writing R functions, debugging, profiling R code, and organizing and commenting R code. Topics in statistical data analysis will provide working examples....

Melhores avaliações

JM

Aug 12, 2019

Very challenging, but good course. I've been programming in R for over a year, but there were still some things for me to pick up in this class. Assignments were a challenge, but satisfying to tackle.

MR

May 12, 2020

Really interesting course. The interactive coding sessions with swirl are especially useful. Would be great, if you provided sample solutions for the programming assignments, in particular for week 4.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 3,672 Avaliações para o Linguagem R

por Ethan T

Jun 08, 2019

The gap between tutorials and assignments is huge. They teach you algebra I and then expect calculus. I got by because of google searching. It took a long time, and it was very frustrating. This course could have been better if there were intermediate assignments to help close that gap. I'm not sure why they've done this already. Based on the discussion sections, I can tell that a large percentage of people quit the data science specialization after taking this course.

por arif v

Jan 26, 2019

the content of the course is rather irrelevant of the assignments, at least in terms of the hardness... also the presenter is substantially fast.

por Rimoun G A F

May 05, 2020

the lectures are very shallow and lack good code examples. The programming assignments are too hard. The worst course I have ever seen.

por Akram A

Jan 31, 2019

it's not good to explain only without practice or giving examples

por Shreya S

Feb 27, 2019

Brilliant content!! Practice exercises really help you evaluate yourself. A little knowledge of R programming before this course is helpful as that might help understand the slides better. Though it is not mandatory but one can still utilize free resources available online to build the basic knowledge. Also, if you have prior experience with any programming language, that'll be very helpful. Would highly recommend this course.

por WHAT

Apr 16, 2019

Nice!!

por Md. Z M

May 23, 2020

For the background, I am a graduate in Computer Science with 3+ years of professional experience in software development.

I found the course to be challenging enough, and equally rewarding. The swirl exercises are good and help you practice the commands in a guided setting. The programming assignments were very challenging. I ended up working on them for 7-8 hours on average. Assignments were designed to make you investigate and study on your own (this really helped in my understanding of R).

Surely, I would recommend R Programming. However, novices in programming will have to invest a lot of time and effort on their own to navigate through the content for significant gain.

por Ong W J

Oct 06, 2018

This course is tough if you have zero background in programming. I struggled alots especially in the last assignment.

por Zhu, T

May 26, 2020

Homework and programming assignments are not related with videos.

por SEEUN H

Feb 04, 2019

Nice, but limited explanation for beginners.

por Yaw O

Feb 02, 2019

Some concepts weren't clearly discussed

por Jesús A P G

May 02, 2020

In short, I learned a lot in this cocurse but I would not consider it for beginners with little programming experience. I spent at least 3-5 times more doing the assingtments. The information presented was very valuable but the pedagogical part was not well done. The chunks of information were poorly connected between themselves, making the learning process tidous and hard to achieve. The visuals were very sloppy with only white slides and a font too small. For these reason the lectures were boring and unappealing. My suggestion is to take more care of the didactic aspect of the course. Many times I had to watch YouTube videos on the same topic that I had just seen, and I can say that a colored diagram made all the difference between understanding everything and not understanding nothing at all.

por Alejandro M

May 25, 2020

The course is too ambitious and some themes are explained in a very plain and boring way. I can't say you will learn nothing, the course isn't too bad, but if you have no prior experience with programming o even if you have but not in R, the course programming assignments will be a little difficult and the material. If you want to complete this course you will have to invest a lot of time searching for things and/or waiting for help in the forums. 5/10

por Suwei W

Jan 02, 2019

I learned something, of course, in this course. But without previous experience in data science, I found it OK to understand the lectures, but always got lost in the coding assignments. I tried to finish it on my own, but it turns out I have to search everything online. I felt that there's a big gap between lectures and assignments.

por El M

Apr 09, 2019

very good course but you need much more time then announced to finish the assignments

por Jueyi S

Jan 07, 2019

Tutorials are indispensible for students to complete the assignments.

por Sherif A

Jan 01, 2019

Needs to be more interactive

por SANJAY K V

May 08, 2020

I believe many of the students taking this course might not have any prior coding experience. Personally, I found the assignments quite challenging (rather than intellectually stimulating or providing learning) as many of the issues and syntax used in the assignments were never elaborated in depth in the videos. There may be a few people with really good statistical and coding background, who may not find this review much helpful, But, being new to coding, I can understand this and I believe the people who really need this course to equip themselves with these lessons may not be adept at solving some of the problems asked in the assignments. Please take this constructive feedback into consideration while modifying this course (if you do so). Otherwise, it was a wonderful course and gave same basics to build a foundation in R. Thank you.

por Juergen K

May 21, 2020

Not very well organized overall. The assignments were fun, but I had to do extensive research online to find out how to answer the questions being asked, which made me wonder why I had sat through the videos. Sometimes I didn't even use what I learned in the videos to complete that week's assignments. The videos are far too theoretical, they probably would have been useful for someone familiar with R or S, but for a new user they required a lot of rewinding and without practical examples it was hard to actually remember what was being taught. In the rare instance practical examples were given the material stuck much better!

por Tareq R

Sep 17, 2018

I think for a MOOC, this course could have used the power of video a lot more, listening to the videos that are basically voice over a slide , wasn't helpful at all, and if it wasn't for the book, I wouldn't learn anything.... if the videos were more illustrative and visual to explain certain concepts , that would have been much better

por Javier P

Dec 08, 2019

Very poor material. Very theoric, no interaction, interesting applications or examples, and very boring lectures.

The material is very trivial, without real applications.

The assessments were useful but in some cases they were not related with the topic.

por Kristofer R

Oct 31, 2018

R Programming assignments were much more complex than what the tutorials taught. There was a very drastic jump between the two and was very difficult/frustrating to complete, especially for someone with no coding experience.

por Rushabh K

Apr 28, 2020

Should have been better taught and the stuff in assignment is way tough than taught in the lecture

por Amy G

May 23, 2020

At first glance, the lectures seemed great - they explain the chosen lecture material well and give you a good background on the basic building blocks and theory of R. The quizzes were also pretty good because they directly test you on the lectures and help reinforce the key ideas.

The problem with this course is the assignments. While the assignments are well-made in themselves and would otherwise help you learn by doing, they have little to no correlation with anything covered in the lectures for that particular week - or, if they do, it is not made sufficiently clear, even in hindsight.

This is not a fatal flaw learning-wise, because you can dig around in the forums/elsewhere on the internet for tutorials and explanations of the concepts you need to do the assignments, and through this you can still learn the intended material. I do feel like I've walked away from this course having learned what the instructor meant for me to learn about R.

But it does beg the question - if 80% of the essential material for succeeding in this course must be found by scouring outside websites and extra articles posted by former students in the forums, then what exactly am I paying for?

Furthermore, it seems I am not the only one who feels this way - more than once in this course I found a post from a mentor in the forums containing a random article from elsewhere on the web, with the caption "many students have said they are confused about [topic], so for the purposes of the assignment, consider this the 'missing lecture' from this week." For a free course/completely self-taught approach, this would be fine, but as part of a paid specialization, the extremely large gap between the given material and the assessments was deeply frustrating.

I understand that to learn programming is, to a certain extent, to learn by doing, and to learn how to take the theoretical information that was imparted in class and apply it to a new or different problem that is presented as an exercise. However, when, after taking diligent notes on all of the week's lectures and completing all 15 extra-credit swirl exercises twice just to make sure I haven't missed anything, I am still left wondering if the assignment in front of me was uploaded to the wrong course by the instructor by mistake, something has gone quite awry in the course design.

This course is not unhelpful, but it's not worth paying for.

por Brian K

Mar 20, 2016

I am really unhappy with this course. Coming to R with some background in statistics and SQL, but lacking programming experience, I assumed this would be an introduction. The material in the lectures is straightforward enough, and the swirl exercises are easy to get through and informative, but the assignments are, without exception, based on writing functions in R with basically zero experience. Having no background or frame of reference for best practices in syntax, logic, etc, and very little information in the lectures or supplementary material to help, I found these to be almost impossible to complete.

Furthermore, there's no mechanism or provision in the course to review the assignments after they're submitted. So not only did I not feel like I was doing the work correctly, I can't get feedback, and the lecturer doesn't break down the rationale behind the assignment, and how he would have done it or why. In addition, the assignments bear only a tangential relationship to the lecture material. So I would be feeling good coming out of a lecture and going through swirl exercises, only to be plunged into a programming assignment that was far too advanced for the small steps I felt I had taken in my overall competence with the language and material.

I don't doubt that someone with better knowledge of programming can get through this stuff, but this class should be reserved for advanced learners only, or maybe be broken up into two courses. I feel like I wasted $49.