Chevron Left
Voltar para Building Data Visualization Tools

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Building Data Visualization Tools da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

3.9
estrelas
149 classificações
38 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The data science revolution has produced reams of new data from a wide variety of new sources. These new datasets are being used to answer new questions in way never before conceived. Visualization remains one of the most powerful ways draw conclusions from data, but the influx of new data types requires the development of new visualization techniques and building blocks. This course provides you with the skills for creating those new visualization building blocks. We focus on the ggplot2 framework and describe how to use and extend the system to suit the specific needs of your organization or team. Upon completing this course, learners will be able to build the tools needed to visualize a wide variety of data types and will have the fundamentals needed to address new data types as they come about....
Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 37 Avaliações para o Building Data Visualization Tools

por Shawn M

28 de Fev de 2019

I have been progressing through all the courses in this specialization and, overall, the courses have been of tremendous value to me. However, it's really not the courses themselves but the book that goes along with the courses that deserves the four and five star ratings I have previously given (these courses are really nothing more than "read the book" and "take the assignments"). Nevertheless, the knowledge gained is not easily available elsewhere. 80% of this visualization course (i.e. the book) was excellent and I give it top marks. The other 20%, starting with the grid system section to the end of the book, was terrible. These sections need a complete rewrite as they are barely comprehensible and certainly not comprehensive. The final assignment does not test you on how much you learned in the course, rather it tests you on how much time you spend on your own finding other relevant sources of information on the internet to figure it out. Also, I don't understand why creating a custom geom would be a more important software development skill than R Shiny for example, given that having the ability to develop interactive apps is critical to visualization. I will give this course 3 1/2 stars, rounded down to 3 since coursera won't allow a half star. I hope the authors take what I have to say as an opportunity for improvement since I have benefited tremendously from this specialization so far and I would like to see it improved in certain areas.

por Rebecca G

23 de Jul de 2017

This course was not good at all. Almost all of the information is a screen scrape from a book and peer-evaluated, so you may be better off just getting the book and going through it. Neither the mentors nor the authors ever participated. The assignments are poorly written and missing too much detail. Ending up bailing on the course and the final capstone as I'm simply not learning anything and the projects are too frustrating to work on.

por João G C

1 de Jun de 2020

The course is just a dump of the recommended reading book. There are zero videos, zero walkthroughs and zero interaction with the instructors. The final project is over-demanding for the level of the content provided. I don't recommend this course to anyone.

por Maurizio C

12 de Out de 2017

Great gap between teaching and what is required to pass the course. Unnecessarily difficult.

The didactic material is not compelling.

Not recommended.

por Conner M

21 de Set de 2017

I could plot in R before and many of the topics discussed in this course I already had a working grasp on. Still, the course helped me really gave me a whole new depth of knowledge on the packages that plotting is build around in R. Highly recommended!

por José E L

18 de Jun de 2017

Good material. Thanks a lot for this course.

por Andreas P

28 de Set de 2019

Thank you very much for that lesson.

por Kunasekaran N

19 de Mai de 2017

Last assignment is hard but enjoyed.

por José A G R

5 de Mar de 2017

the last task is very challenging

por Gopal S

28 de Mai de 2017

Excellent course.

por Yaakov M

2 de Mai de 2017

good challenges

por Oswaldo N C

26 de Jul de 2017

A nice course

por JEEWESH K J

1 de Nov de 2017

Great course

por Ganapathi N K

6 de Jun de 2018

Nice

por Prakhar P

5 de Ago de 2019

This course introduced to me the advanced capabilities of data visualization in R, especially using GGPLOT. It was bit of a struggle in the course project as the examples in the Mastering Software development e-book were little simplistic in nature. Overall, very satisfied that I can create my own geom. The key learning was on creating visualization using spatial data.

por Daniel F

20 de Abr de 2020

Like other courses in this mastering, it is a little bit outdated and the practical tests proposed are way harder than examples presented before, but still worth doing because of book, "getting hands dirty" and forum.

por Antonio G

17 de Nov de 2018

Great course! You'll learn a lot about the graphic capabilities of R. However, I think there are some things that need to be explained before one goes on to complete the final project.

por Mridul M

23 de Jun de 2020

It is a good course. The only downside is that if you are a beginner level R programmer and want to upskill, you will need to do an extensive search to complete this course.

por Sandjaja B

1 de Mai de 2018

It is a very good course, but feels a bit more hands-off than the other 3 preceding courses in the Mastering Software Development in R certificate.

por Francesco D Z

1 de Ago de 2017

very useful, especially the final practical exam.

not 5 score because I think more time should have been spent in more modern interactive charts

por Ruoding W

18 de Set de 2017

the course content is just copy from the book

por KEVIN E A C

10 de Jul de 2017

nice course

por Zdenek K

9 de Jan de 2017

So first of all, the material for this course in the bookdown document are very good - well structured, with good sources. My concern is that the Coursera course does not go a lot beyond, basically just referring to the document and adding quizzes + graded assignment in the last week. The assignment, however, is nice and challenging and requires people to understand the materials.

Also, the course covers other great packages than ggplot2, e.g. plotly and leaflet and methods for handling spatial data. I think it would be very nice if the students were challenged in these topics as well and evaluate them in a better way than just a quiz (programming assignment for instance).

I liked the course though and I believe it can be prepared even better.

por Chao G

10 de Jul de 2019

This course is not as satisfactory as the second one, "Advanced R Programming". You spend most of the time reading the book they wrote. There is no video lecture or interactive quiz. The most annoying part is the peer-reviewed assignment part. This is a coding project where you need to create your own geom. I understand that building your own geom is an advanced topic in visualization using R. However, at least for me, I rarely have this need in my work. The example and the dataset they use for the project isn't very interesting neither. Overall, I think this course should not be included in the specialization.

por Wang S

23 de Jan de 2019

Content on ggplot2 framework is solid. However, no video or explanation to complement the textbook, students are expected to learn by reading solely.

Final assignment requires prior R programming knowledge, which is not taught in this course. This can lead to frustration in the end. Probably those who are enrolled in the entire specialization will find this assignment more manageable. I personally had to spend more than 20 hours on this supposedly 4-hour assignment.