Chevron Left
Voltar para Python Programming Essentials

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Python Programming Essentials da instituição Universidade Rice

4.8
1,181 classificações
290 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course will introduce you to the wonderful world of Python programming! We'll learn about the essential elements of programming and how to construct basic Python programs. We will cover expressions, variables, functions, logic, and conditionals, which are foundational concepts in computer programming. We will also teach you how to use Python modules, which enable you to benefit from the vast array of functionality that is already a part of the Python language. These concepts and skills will help you to begin to think like a computer programmer and to understand how to go about writing Python programs. By the end of the course, you will be able to write short Python programs that are able to accomplish real, practical tasks. This course is the foundation for building expertise in Python programming. As the first course in a specialization, it provides the necessary building blocks for you to succeed at learning to write more complex Python programs. This course uses Python 3. While many Python programs continue to use Python 2, Python 3 is the future of the Python programming language. This first course will use a Python 3 version of the CodeSkulptor development environment, which is specifically designed to help beginning programmers learn quickly. CodeSkulptor runs within any modern web browser and does not require you to install any software, allowing you to start writing and running small programs immediately. In the later courses in this specialization, we will help you to move to more sophisticated desktop development environments....

Melhores avaliações

JW

Apr 26, 2018

I really enjoyed this course, but I would highly recommend taking something along the lines of Codecademy prior to this one. It will help to get you versed in some of the more basic things in Python.

DV

Jan 17, 2019

Awesome teaching especially the course was designed in such a way that after the completion of the course the student can definitely feel confident about the particular course he learned .

Filtrar por:

276 — 289 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Python Programming Essentials

por Nikhil J

Aug 24, 2019

Very well explained the basics... But I would say the course is good for the one who is new to programming world. I will look for advanced course of Python now.

por Gustauo G

Sep 25, 2019

Very useful specially the last week in order to use imported libraries

por Junwei

Mar 22, 2019

A fairly good course for the beginners of python but I think there is more to teach for a beginner.

por Heiko H

Jul 13, 2018

to basic

por Priyesh

Jan 25, 2018

It was a pretty good course, I think I learnt well.. but I don't think the OwlTest on the final assignment didn't need to be so strict.

por Cynthia W

Jun 08, 2018

The class is good...up until the last couple of lessons. In having tried to take the Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python class (also offered by Rice University) in addition to this one, I've noticed that the instructors seem to have a bad habit of walking you through with baby steps all the way up until the end - where they throw a bunch of new concepts/information at you or combine a bunch of concepts in a way that has not been explained, and expect you to fare well. As someone with no experience in programming, I felt it was misleading to have 3.5 weeks of nicely explained introductory level material, only to be thrown more advanced material with little explanation the last 0.5 weeks of study. If the instructors could just keep the pace consistent throughout the course, this can be a winner.

por Moiz L

Jan 05, 2018

Good practice materials

por David S

May 15, 2018

This course is a fair introduction to Python. I found the format of a combination of video, readings and exercises to be effective, and about average quality for a popular MOOC. The two instructors were articulate and showed that they wanted to impart their knowledge. Points go for developing the final assignment for a previous session, being rock-paper-scissors-lizard-Spock. As well I'd like to share some (mostly minor) negatives. First of all, I needed to invest about double their advertised weekly time commitment of 5 to 7 hours. I would have found it helpful to get feedback on submissions, and would have preferred a peer-marking system. Finally, I think the software for marking the final project is problematic. In our case it could give a grade of zero for the entire project if you did not answer the first question correctly - and the final counted for 55% of the grade. (Ask me how I know).

por Kristoffer H

Mar 15, 2018

Great course for the basics but you end up spending more time trying to figure out their required styling than actual coding when in industry your employer will likely have an entirely different style.

por James S

Feb 23, 2018

After 3rd week, ok, but could do much better. The professors are good and do their best to be informative. I think the videos do a good job of explaining the content being presented. The major problem is when it gets to the exercises at the end of each week and before the quiz. I found myself totally lost on these. I watched the videos just about every day and stayed engaged as much as possible. Once the exercises came up, it was as if I had not learned a thing and I did not even know where to begin on some of them. The fundamental flaw in this class is lack of practical application between each lecture with exercises to stimulate learning of the subject matter. Going through a video and explaining apparently did nothing for me. There absolutely needs to be more exercises interspersed between the lectures. I fear that the next weeks are going to really throw me off, and I do not have time to go back and review all the past weeks. My other suggestion is that we are all not mathematicians taking this. Focus less on things like Collatz conjecture, especially in quizzes. I have no desire to try and learn some complex mathematical equation I will never use in real world scenarios in order to pass a quiz.

por Christian B

Oct 02, 2019

i appreciated the exercises. The explanations were too long and redundant, especially the talking.

por Susan C R

May 21, 2018

There was insufficient instruction in order to do the project. When I asked for help, I was given examples that didn't work. I was not guided to any additional reading amterial. I read all the material provided and watched all the videos.

por Olga G

Apr 23, 2018

The course did not cover all the information needed to complete the final

por VENKATA R S S

Jul 14, 2019

Not a bit of scripting taught in the entire course