Chevron Left
Voltar para Python Programming: A Concise Introduction

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Python Programming: A Concise Introduction da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.6
estrelas
3,875 classificações
1,247 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The goal of the course is to introduce students to Python Version 3.x programming using hands on instruction. It will show how to install Python and use the Spyder IDE (Integrated Development Environment) for writing and debugging programs. The approach will be to present an example followed by a small exercise where the learner tries something similar to solidify a concept. At the end of each module there will be an exercise where the student is required to write simple programs and submit them for grading. It is intended for students with little or no programming background, although students with such a background should be able to move forward at their preferred pace. The course is four modules long and is designed to be completed in four weeks....

Melhores avaliações

LR
3 de Jan de 2017

Quite interesting introduction to Python, focusing on the most important components of the language. Looking forward to other courses using the same format. Thank you Bill and team for your hard work.

HI
24 de Nov de 2020

It was my first experience with Python and I enjoyed it very much! A lot of thanks to Instructor and all team, who made this course so interest and understandable. Thanks to Coursera team as well.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 1,223 Avaliações para o Python Programming: A Concise Introduction

por Aurora C K

4 de Fev de 2018

It is really concise, no beating around the bush about why programming is needed bla bla, it provides you with the basic funtionalities & how to use them. In each lecture, you will be able to practice and compare your solution with the instructor's. In addition, there are graded assignments to ensure that you really learn something out of the course. Highly recommended. Easy to understand & to the point.

por Aaron N G

30 de Mai de 2020

Professor Bill Boyd provides a very concise primer into the world of Python programming. He does so in an easy-to-follow and exercise-based lessons. He even goes beyond his duty to make the exercise files conducive for independent learning. As both a learner and an educator, I highly recommend this course for anyone looking to dip their toes into Python. You'll be surprised where it leads you!

por Thiago I M

6 de Ago de 2020

The course is really well suited for beginners. The exercises are great and cover what has been taught in the lessons. Bill Boyd really explains things in a very clear and simple way, and everything was put in a good progressions/learning curve. I really recommend this course if you are new to programming, it is a pretty good introduction. Thanks for sharing and making this available to us!

por Jeremiah D

13 de Out de 2017

I learned a lot, and am no longer overwhelmed by coding. My suggestions:

Getting started was challenging, as it took me a lot of errors submitting problems, in addition to downloading and updating Spyder.

I would like it if the search in forums refined the results more, so I am nto re-asking the same question.

The forum should have the 10 most frequently asked questions to save everyone time.

por Shahadat H

12 de Dez de 2016

It was amazing and a wonderful learning experience! Throughout the course Instructor was really motivating, resources was comprehensive , and Instructor has done a great job remaining active almost in real time on discussion forum . I do really appreciate the Grading system. Bill, Thanks a lot for your hard effort ! Thanks also the participants who facilitated learning through discussion.

por Cody K

26 de Nov de 2018

It is indeed a concise introduction to python! The instructor is very clear and the assignments are directly related to the content that you learn in each module. This is probably the best introductory course I have run into. I would recommend this for those who are brand new to programming or those who have some background and are looking to learn the syntax of basic Python.

Bravo!

por odetayo a

19 de Jun de 2017

Using Spyder is a great way to get acquinted with Python. The Exercises, Videos and Transcripts are very nicely put together and are great ways to learn. The Problem at each week is not too difficult hence I didn't get discouraged. Each week takes about 4hours for lectures which is just right. The discussions and feedback are helpful. The pace of the course was just right for me. :-)

por Jingtian Z

10 de Abr de 2020

Well, I have already learned some python before I started this course one year ago. I have forgotten something I learned so for week 1, it is picking up. But for week 2, I had gotten further than last time about data collection types, with lists, tuples, dictionaries, and strings, and how to work with them in programs, like sorting, adding, and so on. It was all kinds of stuff now.

por Alfred N

1 de Jun de 2020

The material was as hard as I imagine programming to be. I only have intermediate excel skills and I wanted to review Python for exposure to the material. The course was extremely challenging and took me a longtime to comprehend. Thank you professor , Bill Boyd, for teaching and explaining the basics of Python to me. My brain has changed forever. I am forever indebted to you.

por shivam t

27 de Jun de 2020

I have been trying to learn programming as a hobby for a long long time. I have tried various books and other online courses. This is the first time that I have been able to cross the first barrier of getting a beginners knowledge of programming. The course as well as the assignments are beautifully designed to help you get a tighter grip on the concepts that you have learned.

por Ishita P

28 de Nov de 2020

I really enjoyed this course. As a beginner in the world of python, I was lost, until I found this course. It was an excellent introduction, during which I learned many basic skills. The videos were sometimes a bit confusing, and I needed some extra research, but the assignments were challenging and interesting. The course was informative and engaging through all four weeks.

por Gabriel N

1 de Dez de 2019

A great introduction to Python language and the Spyder IDE. This course will allow to get a first idea of what programming is, also giving you a few useful tools for data analysis (reading .txt and .csv files, do some statistics, etc). Having some background on high level programming helps, buy I a beginner in programming could make its first steps following this course.

por Sujit B B

27 de Mai de 2020

The course was excellently structured. The instructor Prof. Bill Boyd was very good at explaining the codes . The hints provided in the excersice as well as the problemset were very useful. The auto grader was not a mess until you mess it out . Just felt that the content could have been more thorough, but still as a introductory course for a beginner it was quite good.

por James P

3 de Nov de 2017

Excellent course both for beginners to Python and beginners to programming in general. If you have a fair amount of programming experience, this course won't be difficult, but it's a great introduction with lots of exercises to to give you hands-on experience. There are cheaper Python resources out there, but the structure this course provides is worth the investment.

por Anthony R

29 de Nov de 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course with Professor Boyd. The way this class was structured of Prof. Boyd showing how each function works, an exercise to implement what was covered, and showing his code worked well with my way of learning. As an intro class, I think this might be a bit too much for someone that has no experience but I definitely enjoyed the class!

por Николай Б

18 de Fev de 2019

Спасибо большое преподавателю за этот курс! Всё доходчиво, по делу, без излишних объяснений – очень ёмко. Чувствую, что я сделал значительный шаг в изучении Питона! Спасибо за комментарии к материалам – помогали решать задачи, и теперь у меня уникальный материалы остались, которые в дальнешем планирую использовать (конечно, пока наизусть не выучу). Рекомендую!

por Shi P W

3 de Jul de 2020

I learnt many basic python functions and syntax in this course. I specifically like that Bill gave us a lot of examples and exercises to practise on. Bill is also very fast in responding to questions. He sometimes showed some functions/methods without giving much explanation about how it works — this part could be better. Overall, this is an amazing course.

por Jorge H A S

5 de Set de 2020

This really was a challenge, getting back to programing after 15 years of not doing it was not easy. But videos and lectures were very useful. I believe this really needs some background in programing as it might be skipping some basic concepts in the road, but Professor Boyd really did a great job putting this course together and get you right on track.

por Justin C

21 de Jun de 2017

It is structured well so that anybody who has the time and effort can easily understand the course materials and get a good introduction towards Python. I hoped there would be more follow-up courses by the same professor so I could do more with Python, but a lack of such would have me look for courses from other universities, which I find unfortunate.

por C T

29 de Abr de 2017

I have struggled with python for along time for some reason - suddenly, this professor's method of understanding really makes you understand the mechanics of how the programming mechanics work. Recommended if you have read python and have been struggling to understand even the foundations - and also - Spyder really makes things a lot easier to learn!

por Duc L

28 de Out de 2018

This course is really good for people who never programmed before. Videos and lectures are very detailed and moderate with English subtitles. That helped a lot for people that English is not mother tongue like me. Just a little thing, I wanna see more challenge from this course. Hope that will help you guys/gals have a overview about this course.

por Yang L

6 de Jul de 2018

I have enrolled in a lot of online python courses and never finish any of those. This one is different. It is really concise and covers knowledge you need to know to start python programming. The pace of the course is just right and easy to follow. I would definitely recommend this to those who want to get a quick start on python programming.

por Dina B

24 de Jun de 2018

Thank you, Bill. This is a very comprehensive introduction to programming with python. Thank you for paying attention to details and explaining every step. This is very important when you are a beginner. I also appreciate the way the material was structured. I hope you will have a continuation course of some sort. I would definitely take it!

por KOTESWARA R S

11 de Jun de 2018

This Course provides basic introduction to python programming, Since i already have experience in other languages it didn't take much time for me to complete the course. It provided me the basic approach of how python works, with this knowledge i will improve upon my python skills by going through other materials available on the internet.

por Siphuxolo

4 de Set de 2020

The course has been exceptionally well, with a lot of learning entailed. The explanations from the lecture were very clear and precise. Even though there were a couple of challenges but the course and learning has been great. I would recommend students who wanna learn the basics of python to enroll for the course and enjoy themselves.