Chevron Left
Voltar para Python Programming: A Concise Introduction

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Python Programming: A Concise Introduction da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.6
estrelas
3,419 classificações
1,131 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The goal of the course is to introduce students to Python Version 3.x programming using hands on instruction. It will show how to install Python and use the Spyder IDE (Integrated Development Environment) for writing and debugging programs. The approach will be to present an example followed by a small exercise where the learner tries something similar to solidify a concept. At the end of each module there will be an exercise where the student is required to write simple programs and submit them for grading. It is intended for students with little or no programming background, although students with such a background should be able to move forward at their preferred pace. The course is four modules long and is designed to be completed in four weeks....

Melhores avaliações

LR

Jan 04, 2017

Quite interesting introduction to Python, focusing on the most important components of the language. Looking forward to other courses using the same format. Thank you Bill and team for your hard work.

KA

Jun 16, 2019

A very nice introduction to Python 3 programming. The course lectures are quite engaging with hands-on practice and the programming assignments revise the learned concepts in step-by-step manner.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 1,110 Avaliações para o Python Programming: A Concise Introduction

por Cody K

Nov 26, 2018

It is indeed a concise introduction to python! The instructor is very clear and the assignments are directly related to the content that you learn in each module. This is probably the best introductory course I have run into. I would recommend this for those who are brand new to programming or those who have some background and are looking to learn the syntax of basic Python.

Bravo!

por odetayo a

Jun 19, 2017

Using Spyder is a great way to get acquinted with Python. The Exercises, Videos and Transcripts are very nicely put together and are great ways to learn. The Problem at each week is not too difficult hence I didn't get discouraged. Each week takes about 4hours for lectures which is just right. The discussions and feedback are helpful. The pace of the course was just right for me. :-)

por Jingtian Z

Apr 11, 2020

Well, I have already learned some python before I started this course one year ago. I have forgotten something I learned so for week 1, it is picking up. But for week 2, I had gotten further than last time about data collection types, with lists, tuples, dictionaries, and strings, and how to work with them in programs, like sorting, adding, and so on. It was all kinds of stuff now.

por Alfred N

Jun 02, 2020

The material was as hard as I imagine programming to be. I only have intermediate excel skills and I wanted to review Python for exposure to the material. The course was extremely challenging and took me a longtime to comprehend. Thank you professor , Bill Boyd, for teaching and explaining the basics of Python to me. My brain has changed forever. I am forever indebted to you.

por shivam t

Jun 27, 2020

I have been trying to learn programming as a hobby for a long long time. I have tried various books and other online courses. This is the first time that I have been able to cross the first barrier of getting a beginners knowledge of programming. The course as well as the assignments are beautifully designed to help you get a tighter grip on the concepts that you have learned.

por Gabriel N

Dec 01, 2019

A great introduction to Python language and the Spyder IDE. This course will allow to get a first idea of what programming is, also giving you a few useful tools for data analysis (reading .txt and .csv files, do some statistics, etc). Having some background on high level programming helps, buy I a beginner in programming could make its first steps following this course.

por Sujit B B

May 27, 2020

The course was excellently structured. The instructor Prof. Bill Boyd was very good at explaining the codes . The hints provided in the excersice as well as the problemset were very useful. The auto grader was not a mess until you mess it out . Just felt that the content could have been more thorough, but still as a introductory course for a beginner it was quite good.

por James P

Nov 03, 2017

Excellent course both for beginners to Python and beginners to programming in general. If you have a fair amount of programming experience, this course won't be difficult, but it's a great introduction with lots of exercises to to give you hands-on experience. There are cheaper Python resources out there, but the structure this course provides is worth the investment.

por Николай Б

Feb 18, 2019

Спасибо большое преподавателю за этот курс! Всё доходчиво, по делу, без излишних объяснений – очень ёмко. Чувствую, что я сделал значительный шаг в изучении Питона! Спасибо за комментарии к материалам – помогали решать задачи, и теперь у меня уникальный материалы остались, которые в дальнешем планирую использовать (конечно, пока наизусть не выучу). Рекомендую!

por Shi P W

Jul 03, 2020

I learnt many basic python functions and syntax in this course. I specifically like that Bill gave us a lot of examples and exercises to practise on. Bill is also very fast in responding to questions. He sometimes showed some functions/methods without giving much explanation about how it works — this part could be better. Overall, this is an amazing course.

por Justin C

Jun 21, 2017

It is structured well so that anybody who has the time and effort can easily understand the course materials and get a good introduction towards Python. I hoped there would be more follow-up courses by the same professor so I could do more with Python, but a lack of such would have me look for courses from other universities, which I find unfortunate.

por Christine T

Apr 29, 2017

I have struggled with python for along time for some reason - suddenly, this professor's method of understanding really makes you understand the mechanics of how the programming mechanics work. Recommended if you have read python and have been struggling to understand even the foundations - and also - Spyder really makes things a lot easier to learn!

por Duc L

Oct 28, 2018

This course is really good for people who never programmed before. Videos and lectures are very detailed and moderate with English subtitles. That helped a lot for people that English is not mother tongue like me. Just a little thing, I wanna see more challenge from this course. Hope that will help you guys/gals have a overview about this course.

por Yang L

Jul 07, 2018

I have enrolled in a lot of online python courses and never finish any of those. This one is different. It is really concise and covers knowledge you need to know to start python programming. The pace of the course is just right and easy to follow. I would definitely recommend this to those who want to get a quick start on python programming.

por Dina B

Jun 24, 2018

Thank you, Bill. This is a very comprehensive introduction to programming with python. Thank you for paying attention to details and explaining every step. This is very important when you are a beginner. I also appreciate the way the material was structured. I hope you will have a continuation course of some sort. I would definitely take it!

por KOTESWARA R S

Jun 11, 2018

This Course provides basic introduction to python programming, Since i already have experience in other languages it didn't take much time for me to complete the course. It provided me the basic approach of how python works, with this knowledge i will improve upon my python skills by going through other materials available on the internet.

por david w

Jan 27, 2020

Vert informative and well spoken i understood so well that for the first time i feel confident in my progress

side note the sound desperately needs to be edited when the instructor types it creates a tooth grinding sound on the mic which is so distracting and frustrating i dont know how i finished guess i started to get use to it...

por Marcus J M

Jun 15, 2020

It was certainly concise. I appreciate the videos and the material that was covered as it had a bit more meat on the bones than I was expecting for such a short course, yet left enough wanting that I'm excited to continue looking for even more ways to get my feet wet and become a more proficient python programmer.

por Juraganet

Nov 28, 2017

By completing this course I can understand the basic concept of programming in Python. Lectures are very detail and descriptive, the exercise familiarise me with Python syntaxes. Though I will still need to learn the advanced methods and libraries, but the learning curve will be much easier once you know the basic.

por Pawan K

Jul 19, 2017

This course is really very helpful in understanding the key concepts, besides the last exercise where we do phone management use case is really very helpful in defining whole a lot concepts together. I would like to wish professor all the very best and recommend others who wanted to carve out career in Python side.

por Pearl

Feb 06, 2017

This is an excellent introductory course of python programming. I truly enjoyed the course. Professor Boyd interacted with students frequently in the discussion forum. The mentors were very responsive and helpful as well. I am able to move on to an advanced python course easily upon completion of this course.

por Rolex M

Feb 20, 2017

This course has made learn the fundamental basics of programing using python language. It has given a concrete foundation to progress in my programing career to model engineering solutions to real problems using python an easy, concise and readable language.

On look out for more of such an interesting course.

por Shervin S

Jul 23, 2017

I enjoyed it. The exercise documents are nice. The first two weeks were rather basic, so I didn't use the videos (which supplement the exercises docs). The later videos were useful in understanding some subtler code. The finale with the database program was a good introduction to sophisticated programming.

por Avraneel P

May 16, 2020

It's an extremely well-built course. The Instructor is very patient with his teaching method. I started this course not knowing "P" of programming, and still, he managed to me understand this course. I will highly recommend this one to anybody who wants to learn basic Python programming. Thanks, Bill.

por Michelle N

May 13, 2020

I had zero experience in any programming language and this was a great way to get an introduction. I know that there are still many, many, many things to learn, but I now feel like I have some basic skills and a familiarity that makes me willing to sign up for more courses to gain new skills. Thanks!