Chevron Left
Voltar para Python Programming: A Concise Introduction

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Python Programming: A Concise Introduction da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.6
estrelas
3,410 classificações
1,129 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The goal of the course is to introduce students to Python Version 3.x programming using hands on instruction. It will show how to install Python and use the Spyder IDE (Integrated Development Environment) for writing and debugging programs. The approach will be to present an example followed by a small exercise where the learner tries something similar to solidify a concept. At the end of each module there will be an exercise where the student is required to write simple programs and submit them for grading. It is intended for students with little or no programming background, although students with such a background should be able to move forward at their preferred pace. The course is four modules long and is designed to be completed in four weeks....

Melhores avaliações

LR

Jan 04, 2017

Quite interesting introduction to Python, focusing on the most important components of the language. Looking forward to other courses using the same format. Thank you Bill and team for your hard work.

RC

May 17, 2020

Great overview course in python. I was super excited it uses Spyder. The auto-grader is finicky sometimes, but fair and quick. Highly suggest this for anyone looking to cut their teeth on python.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 1,107 Avaliações para o Python Programming: A Concise Introduction

por Tiras n w

Dec 15, 2018

The provisions of the course materials was awesome, in a excellent sequential order that enables the students to build the knowledge with coherence. Also the reminders and encouragement along the way was very instrumental, e.g. when commended for keeping a good pace with speed. The fact that you can also pick up the course later incase you wished to take a break and progress from your previous work is superb. Thanks mr. Bill Boyd ! The only challenge on the materials lied on: the videos were not of very good clarity, and also one basic area I found missing was on decision making functions even though they were a part of tools for use during the course.

por Hubert F

May 07, 2017

This is by far not my first programming course, but I wanted to learn python. As such, I found the selection of topics very good - first language basics then some libraries. The videos were a good addition. Coming from classical Unix/NetBSD, I do not use integrated development environments a lot (nor like them, per se), but I found Spyder a positive experience. Thanks esp. for that one! The grading of exercises was sometimes a bit picky, as it was not so clear what the grader was complaining about. More detailled feedback could help there. In general the automated grader is a VERY good thing, though. Thanks a lot for this learning experience!

por Mohammad Z

Mar 30, 2020

This was my first course in Python and I found it very interesting and important for newcomers. I learnt basically, the coding structure of Python. My skills in C++ help me in understanding the lectures. No doubt, the lectures are designed in a very nice way – easy to follow and understand. This course enables me to write a program in Python using; Libraries (os, sys, csv, random, statistics, etc.), Lists, Tuples, Dictionaries, Text and CSV Files, Functional Values, Sorting, Formatting, Statistics, and a Menu Driven Database Program.

I would like to thank Prof. Bill Boyd, his team and Coursera for providing a great learning environment.

por Christopher B

Jul 03, 2020

This was a great introductory course into pyhton prograamming and I highly recommend it for people who knows a little programming but hasn't tried python yet or learning a computer language for the first time. The assignment can be pretty challenging at times but nothing unreasonable. I went into this course after going through college and getting a bachelor's in computer science but my school never taught me Python for some reason(even though I already know Java programming fairly well). All in all I do recommend this course. It was great for someone like me who hasn't programmed in a while and to brush up on my skills.

por Francisco F

Nov 03, 2017

This is a great course for those who haven't coded in their lives but also for programmers who want a basic but sistematic introduction to the language. It reminded me of my first courses in programming and yet I found it to be a necessary step to master python (I knew the language before but never did a course on it) . If you already program you can finish this course very quickly.

Be careful when you do your programming assignments since the autograder expects exact responses but the professor explained everything very well step by step.

Thanks!

por Douglas P

Aug 11, 2017

Python Programming: A Concise Introduction is a great starter course for those wanting to learn Python. I had some experience with Python prior to taking this course but I found it to be a great refresher and even learned new some new tools within Python. One of my favorite aspects was that you're shown how to download, install and work within Anaconda and Spyder. It makes you feel as though you're actually taking steps towards developing useful tools with Python - because you are! I highly recommend this course.

por John P

Dec 23, 2017

Excellent and fun introduction

I found this a gentle return to programming after a break of nearly 25 years. New concepts were introduced logically without being overtaxing. The combination of videos, exercises and course tests ensured that these concepts sunk in and Bill thoughtfully added in a sprinkling of advice as to OS and version compatibility. On a personal note, Bill's delivery was very easy to follow and he and his team are very responsive to queries. I also found his diction refreshingly delightful.

por Sergei S

Jan 07, 2017

A great soft start into Python. Being used to other programming languages (JS, PHP, a little bit of Java) and comfortable reading online documentation and finding answers in StackOverflow, I found this course very easy to complete within just a few days. Small difficulties with the grader interface at first, solved in the forum. Suggestion: include Python "List Comprehension" in the course. Dear Bill, thank you very much for the course and support! Now I'm looking forward to dive into Machine Learning!

por grey s

May 14, 2017

Thank You Bill! Great! Once I got your way of study it was a pleasure to learn. You introduce methods slowly so that it does not intervene with grasping the whole idea of the subject. Submissions needs to be very precise but that is the joy of learning on line. Sometimes you fail as you are missing one space.

In terms of certificate, I do not need one and I it is quite expensive but I would surly support your course by donating. I could not see the option to do it though.

Kind regards

por Tim B

Jul 21, 2020

A very useful course. This has got me from being an absolute beginner to writing my own functions and programs. Everything is gone through in detail, and the mini-exercises in videos are explained in case you couldn't figure it out. There is a good range of content, and its uses, and it gives you the skills to apply what you have learned to different contexts. I would recommend to anyone trying to learn some basics of Python, whether it be for recreation or work.

por Nicholas W

Jun 05, 2020

Professor Boyd does a great job at laying out the fundamentals and gives a great overview of them. The numerous examples given helped to reinforce these fundamentals and provide some confidence to a person that has never coded before. The course overall was what I needed to get headed in the right direction and requires you apply what you have been learning in a very practical way. Thank you Professor Boyd for your time and efforts, it is much appreciated.

por Ji D

Jun 23, 2017

This is a great class for a Python beginner like me. The class is structured very well and each knowledge point is paired with good practices. And it makes you easy to come back and review what you learned. This class build my confidence of moving next level study. Also, the professor is very warmhearted to answer you questions. I highly recommended anyone who decide to start learn Python. Here is a good place to start your amazing journey.

por Yang X

Jun 19, 2019

It's a great course for the beginner in both Python and Spyder. Exercise notes help a lot! And some of the short functions I think can be stored in learner's program base for reference. However, the lecture is so short! It doesn't refer to Numpy and Pandas as well as sci-kit and other popular modules. Quite a pity! Hope to see relevant courses in a series. Anyway, great appreciation should be given to Prof Bill Boyd and Coursera! Thank you!

por Ivan K

Jul 24, 2017

Great course to learn about basic programming in Python. Before this course I struggle on how to install Anaconda. Moreover, I even struggle to understand basic functions like print. Now I am confident that I have sound foundation for advanced application of Python. Although I was absolute beginner/novice on using Python I was able to finish all of the assignments with highest points using knowledge and information gained from the videos.

por Felix C R I

Jun 06, 2018

I can't believe I finally finished the course. I love that this course is long enough to learn the basics of Python programming. It is indeed a concise introduction. Dr. Boyd is a great instructor. He speaks with a very nice cadence that relaxes and is also able to teach very clearly the python programming concepts. I went ahead and got the certificate to verify that I indeed have passed the course. Thanks Dr. Boyd and Coursera :-)

por Tiffany B

Sep 18, 2017

Excellent course - this is the first one that I was able to stick with. The deadlines and workload were just enough to provide a beginner with little prior experience like myself with the challenge and simplicity that kept me motivated. I loved the instructor's clear and concise way of presenting the information and really love the Spyder IDE that they used for the course. I'd recommend this course to anyone - and everyone!

por Sarfuddin A T

Jun 12, 2020

As a starter in programing/coding I have had an excellent experience while attending the course. Professor Bill Boyd's presentation is nice , concise and focused and the weekly performance assessment by the autograder allowed the learners to clarify his/her understanding of the desired level of the topics.

Thanks to courser and Wesleyan University for making this arrangement of online course in such a structured manner.

por Venu G K

Jan 26, 2018

I am not a programmer. This course gave me a good hands-on approach to understand whats explained in the class and try it out. Bill gave very simple good examples to follow and built upon the past examples very well. It was easy to follow and good for practice. This is a good introduction to python. I was apprehensive about learning a new topic but this was one of the good practical courses. I am glad I took this course.

por Juan M R

Sep 06, 2017

A wonderful course.

Reported by a person with a wonderful voice and much desire to share knowledge.

This course is fantastic for anyone with or without knowledge of programming.

As a student of Computer Science, this course has important implications for completing my understanding of the functioning of computer languages.

Exercises and tasks are wonderful, it was one of my best educational experiences in my life.

por Sally C

Jul 03, 2020

I took this course as an absolute beginner and found it to be hard enough to keep me challenged and feeling like I was learning useful skills, while also manageable enough to figure out problems on my own when I got stuck. The discussion threads and lectures were sufficient for me to trouble shoot most problems and I never got so stuck I couldn't continue (which is a problem I've had with other courses).

por Aurora C K

Feb 04, 2018

It is really concise, no beating around the bush about why programming is needed bla bla, it provides you with the basic funtionalities & how to use them. In each lecture, you will be able to practice and compare your solution with the instructor's. In addition, there are graded assignments to ensure that you really learn something out of the course. Highly recommended. Easy to understand & to the point.

por Aaron N G

May 30, 2020

Professor Bill Boyd provides a very concise primer into the world of Python programming. He does so in an easy-to-follow and exercise-based lessons. He even goes beyond his duty to make the exercise files conducive for independent learning. As both a learner and an educator, I highly recommend this course for anyone looking to dip their toes into Python. You'll be surprised where it leads you!

por Thiago I M

Aug 06, 2020

The course is really well suited for beginners. The exercises are great and cover what has been taught in the lessons. Bill Boyd really explains things in a very clear and simple way, and everything was put in a good progressions/learning curve. I really recommend this course if you are new to programming, it is a pretty good introduction. Thanks for sharing and making this available to us!

por Jeremiah D

Oct 13, 2017

I learned a lot, and am no longer overwhelmed by coding. My suggestions:

Getting started was challenging, as it took me a lot of errors submitting problems, in addition to downloading and updating Spyder.

I would like it if the search in forums refined the results more, so I am nto re-asking the same question.

The forum should have the 10 most frequently asked questions to save everyone time.

por Shahadat H

Dec 12, 2016

It was amazing and a wonderful learning experience! Throughout the course Instructor was really motivating, resources was comprehensive , and Instructor has done a great job remaining active almost in real time on discussion forum . I do really appreciate the Grading system. Bill, Thanks a lot for your hard effort ! Thanks also the participants who facilitated learning through discussion.