Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Python Programming

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Python Programming da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.4
estrelas
532 classificações
156 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course provides an introduction to programming and the Python language. Students are introduced to core programming concepts like data structures, conditionals, loops, variables, and functions. This course includes an overview of the various tools available for writing and running Python, and gets students coding quickly. It also provides hands-on coding exercises using commonly used data structures, writing custom functions, and reading and writing to files. This course may be more robust than some other introductory python courses, as it delves deeper into certain essential programming topics....

Melhores avaliações

SB

26 de mar de 2021

Great explanations and lots of examples to follow on. The course built throughout so I had confidence in completing assignments though they were not easy. Great interaction in discussion forums.

RM

11 de abr de 2021

The course was really good. The assignments were challenging. It was very pleasure to solve the assignments and practice them to become perfect with the basics of Python language

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de 164 Avaliações para o Introduction to Python Programming

por Oliver C

13 de jan de 2022

Excellent!

por ADITYA S

17 de jan de 2022

awesome

por nikhil m

15 de jun de 2021

goodddd

por Cristina M

12 de set de 2021

Great!

por Jiahao H

27 de jul de 2021

great!

por Abdallah M M

7 de abr de 2021

great

por 01fe20bme010

1 de mai de 2022

good

por 121_IT_Nikhil R

12 de jan de 2022

Good

por HARSHAL P

2 de nov de 2021

Nice

por Arshdeep S

27 de out de 2021

good

por Michael G

20 de abr de 2022

I'd like to echo some things said in other reviews:

1, this course is very fast and is mostly about learning python syntax and very basic programming concepts.

2, many of the lectures are very consise and straight forward.

3, the quizzes are relatively easy but I think its best to admit that to get a 100% you really need to use references outside of the course material to understand certain syntaxs and exceptions.

4, the assignments have an annoying and sudden difficulty spikes. these spikes are usually because the question prompts don't clearly explain what is being checked by the grader clearly and one of the prompts the grader gives doesn't work with your solution properly.

5, Assignment 4 is particularly difficult and has a massive difficultly spike. I found myself spending way longer playing with my code to make it work. and many of the future questions use prior answers to build their solution. this caused a few of my previous answers to have issues since new questions give prompts that my previous answers code didn't account for.

Overall though I think this course is excellent if you are already somewhat familar with basic programming and computer logic. it might however be a bit difficult for people who have never done any programming.

por Iris L

20 de mar de 2022

This course is pretty doable if you pay close attention during the lectures or code-along-exercises. I find it helpful to think about the solution before continue watching it in the lecture (just pause and think first before seeing the answers). If you have some basic programming knowledge, it would become tremendously helpful. Otherwise, discussion in Forum is top-notch. I've been able to tackle all the assignments just by following the instructions and help from staff and the teacher. However, if you truly want to learn more and understand "why it works that way", as I do, I will recommend the course "Introduction to Computer Science and Programming Using Python" by MIT on edx. The course is very comprehensive and suitable for absolute beginners. There are many mini assignments between lectures to strengthen old topics before moving on to the new ones. I've been doing both courses at the same time. I like Python after taking these courses, to be honest. What an intuitive and helpful language! Good luck everyone! You will enjoy it!

por Theo R

22 de abr de 2021

Overall a great course, especially for beginners! If you have a little experience with programming you can easily knock this out in a week or two. The only issues with the course were:

1) the Jupyter Labs were down at one point for ~24 hours. Not a huge issue because I was ahead of schedule and I'm not super busy, but for someone on a tight schedule this would be very problematic.

2) Although the last homework assignment was effective, a few of the function requirements weren't exhaustive. It's fine if the student is meant to come up with some on their own, but that should be made clear -- if you're expecting all of the requirements to be explicitly outlined (because so far they have been), then it's frustrating when you realize something has been intentionally left out as a "gotcha". If that's not the intent, then add a note saying there could be additional requirements beyond the thought starters on each function

por Sarah S

15 de abr de 2022

The lectures were clear and coding demonstrations were really helpful. The homework assignments were challenging, but I felt like I really learned a lot through working on them. I just wish that questions about the HW would have been answered in a more prompt way. It would sometimes take several days for a reply to be posted, and sometimes the reply was very helpful (giving a good hint about how to fix a line of code) and sometimes the reply was too vague and unclear. In the latter case, if you asked for clarification, it would take another few days for the response to come.

por Tasmiya H R

26 de mai de 2021

My course is still in progress, when i reached at the stage of quiz and assessment ... i was unable to sublit because i have not completeld the subscription rules

As i am from india, and a student persuing bachelor degree, and i am not earning yet. Due to lockdown in karnataka state of india our parents have no work to do an t is not possible for me to afford to complete this course by paying. So,please let me to access this course for free which will indeed helpme to add this certificate to resume

por Charisse W

30 de abr de 2022

T​He course overall is great! The final assignment is the most difficulut and has infact been changed a few times since it's original creation. That being said I'd say the final assignement doesn't fully pull in everything you've learned in the final week and what's more is a bit too advanced and doesn't seem to fit like the other assignements. Moreover, if you're looking for achallenge but still consider yourself a beginner I'd recommend this course even if you wanted to just audit it.

por Siyuan M

12 de abr de 2022

Have done the Python for everybody and just completed this one. Honestly speaking, as everyone else pointed out, this course is not for a complete newbie to learn Python. I actually like the "short video" arrangmetn as I have difficulty in concentrating the long video. While all the previous assignments are quite easy and straightforward, the last assignment is ridicioulys long and complex for newbie and I guess it will deter a lot of folks to complete it.

por Alan R

31 de mar de 2021

A great introductory course to Python. There was issues with the instructions for the final week which cost some unnecessary lost time but this was later remedied. The only other problem I found was the slow response time for replies in the discussion forums. Apart from these small issues, I would highly recommend.

por Heather P

22 de mai de 2021

I enjoyed this course but I think it's best for a refresher vs. a beginner course. I highly recommend using supplementary material and really taking your time going through each lecture, quiz, and homework assignment. The course is challenging, but you will feel very accomplished after completing it!

por Adrian C

11 de jul de 2021

E​xcellent content and fantastic professor. Jupyter notebook absolutely sucks. I spent so much more time trying to fix minor spacing issues because Jupyter provides no assistant at all to those minute details, especially when pasting to/from another client. Otherwise, excellent.

por Anita L

1 de mar de 2021

Class ws excellent and I learned a lot about Python programming language and environments. I did struggle with the Jupiter automated testing process quite a bit though. The class should have a module that walks students through that process and how to debug their errors.

por Patrick R

14 de fev de 2021

This is a great class for coding practice, and the autograders are helpful and accurate. My biggest criticism is that there isn't much theory or background on principles, the course is very mechanical about how to code. If that's your goal, great class.

por Hasan J A

7 de nov de 2021

jupyter notebook was a little hard to work on it, so problems should be shown a little bit better, and this tool has some problems.

but all remaining things was excellent ^_^.

And the professor was amazing.

thank you for you efforts.

por Lydia M

31 de mai de 2021

The course has intensive content which requires students to fully understand the previous sections in order to go to the next one. It also provides sound knowledge on the content that you learn.

por Luke H

16 de mai de 2021

Final assignment on creating own bank is interesting and practical. Wish that the assignment explained things better though I managed to figure things out after struggling with it a little bit.