Chevron Left
Voltar para Usando o Python para acessar dados na web

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Usando o Python para acessar dados na web da instituição Universidade de Michigan

4.8
estrelas
41,475 classificações
7,557 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Destaques
High quality content
(256 avaliações)
Practical assignments
(217 avaliações)

Melhores avaliações

SM
18 de Jun de 2020

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

KZ
2 de Jul de 2017

This course is great to introduce you to regular expression, HTML, XML and JSON. Based on this course, you may dive into many other materials to further learning how to use python to access web data.

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de 7,444 Avaliações para o Usando o Python para acessar dados na web

por Benjamin S

18 de Mai de 2020

While Course 3 is significantly more challenging and technical than Courses 1 and 2 from the Python specialization, I found this to be the first time I truly felt that my Python knowledge was practically applied. Although parsing local text files is fine, one of my main goals with Python was learning to use it to interface with APIs in a seamless manner. I was also very curious as to how web scraping is actually performed, and I'm proud to say that I finally learned how it works. This course is very valuable for anyone who feels everything they've learned in Python up until this point is highly theoretical and indispensable for anyone looking to apply their Python knowledge in a professional environment.

por Art P

11 de Mai de 2020

The quality of this Coursera specialization continues. Lots of great information about networks and how to interact with them. My interest is definitely piqued for Dr. Chuck's book, "Introduction to Networking" and course "Internet History, Technology, and Security". The programming assignments continue to be straight forward and rewarding. As others have mentioned, the content can be a bit more challenging and technical with slightly less focus on Python than the previous py4e courses. However, the information provides great understanding on how to interact with the internet through Python which is a very common application. It's worth it if you're up for the challenge!

por Barrie C

12 de Abr de 2019

Dr. Chuck again does not disappoint. This class gets into the nitty gritty of web scraping using html, xml, JSON and APIs such as Google geo and Twitter. A lot of the framework is given to you in the sample code, but the trick is modifying the code for the specific task they give you, so reading the book chapter and paying close attention in the lectures to how each format is structured will help you. Also use the forum if you need to--if you have already programmed before and sailed through the first two classes in the specialization, this class may surprise you with its increased rigor but once again Dr. Chuck and his staff on the forum will get you up to speed.

por Xavier Y

23 de Mai de 2018

Excellent course, I highly recommend it. Ch. Severance is an excellent instructor, I must have said it already twice, but I can still say it again!

This course didn't make me an expert in accessing Web data, but tought me basic knowledge of what Web Services are and how to work with them in Python. Before, I have heard a bit about these concepts, but I was reluctant to using them because I didn't understand what they actually were. Now, I'm way more confident about this, and I know I'd happily delve into more advanced tutorials or courses on this topic if I needed to. This is the best profit I made from this course. Thanks a lot Dr. Chuck, see you in a next course!

por Luis W D M

29 de Ago de 2019

As the two first courses in the "Python for Everyone Specialization", this course is great. I had never done any programming in retrieving data from the web before and it was really fun being capable of learning and doing it.

However, since the lecture videos exploit a lot of the API set ups for Google and Twitter services, I expected assignments would demand these kind of things. On the other hand, as it is a begginer's course, I thought extremely useful as my first contact in retrieving data in different formats (html, xml, json) and in understanding what an API is.

Once again, thanks for Professor Severance and all the staff supporting this specialization!

por Mir A

15 de Nov de 2016

I have got a very handsome introduction to the regular expressions , web services and API . The lectures are very easy to follow. It is better to answer the quizzes right after watching the vdo lectures. The questions are mostly from what has been described in the lecture. The assignments are a little more insightful. May require basic google searches to acquire knowledge of accessing the data structures. The assignments addresses rudimentary practical problems but very substantial for starters in this field of programming. Thanks to Dr Chuck. The course is very well organized and have materials to hold the attention of the person who is following the lectures.

por Yashodeep P

5 de Jan de 2020

This course is a really good head start to know more about the web and how to parse data from the web.Dr. Chuck explained all the details very well and the assignments are comprehensive. In the initial weeks, the assignments are simple and not so complicated, but as the course advances, you will spend hours to figure out the assignment. At times this is often frustrating but once you get the final answer correct, the accomplishment makes you very happy.I really loved the course and would be looking for other material online to get a deeper knowledge on this subject. Apart from that, I will definitely enroll in all other courses under this specialization.

por Malhar B

1 de Jul de 2018

Great instructor, great class, and very easy to follow. I learned a LOT!My only critique, is that many times when I am trying to fully understand how some code works within the presentation, the presentation will suddenly show the instructor speaking briefly, and then go back to the code. We don't need to see Steve. When he's trying to explain how code works during the presentation, just show the code. This allows me to understand what's going on while he's still speaking. Otherwise I need to pause the video, and by that point I'm no longer focused on what he was talking about.Otherwise, this course is near perfect, and I've learned a ton from it. Thanks

por Nikita N

19 de Fev de 2017

Amazingly excellent course. Many thanks for Dr. Chuck for creating that. Everything explained very well, enabling doing simple steps to quickly achieving results. For those who alreay know some programming I would really recommend starting from this course and skipping the first 2 courses. Skipping means it's better to read the first 10 chapters Dr. Chucks's book through and start this course right after that. It will save your time allowing not ot do too simple tasks but just read about the Python syntax. The course is also great because of Dr. Chuck's talent to explaing everything with fun and ease. Definitely 6 stars out of 5 for the course!

por Kainka

28 de Fev de 2017

This is not another general Python course which leaves you with an 'idea' of what can be done and you struggle to actually do it. This course is in fact giving you all the relevant tools you need and leaves you with a set of practical skills allowing you to write Python codes to extract Web Data that can be used for further analysis. Creating a web browser, screen scraping, parsing XML, or JSON are among the actual skills you're getting and this is all possible thanks to the first class lectures and materials provided by Dr. Chuck. He has a particular talent and desire to teach and explain things to you so you will understand them for good.

por Berke E

20 de Set de 2020

I have enjoyed learning about how I can use Python to retrieve information about websites using its JSON and XML data. I had prior knowledge of Python and Data from my data science experience therefore I think that the assignments where pretty easy to complete. I was expecting a bit harder assignments that would challenge me. The quizzes were just enough to test your knowledge about the material. I had to go through my notes before starting a quiz. Now I will challenge myself with the knowledge I have received from this course. Thank you Dr. Chuck , University of Michigan and Coursera for providing Using Python to Access Web Data course.

por Shubhankar S

11 de Jun de 2020

I am really grateful to the instructors especially Tamara ma'am. They have never let your morale down and keep boosting your confidence and skills. Whenever I was in trouble, those daily tips for solving the assignment always lead you to your goal closer and closer one at a time instead of giving all the hints at once for helping us understand the contents of the course. And truly I became one of Dr Chuck's fans. I was in awe of his teaching skills and it was good to hear his lectures and explaining hard concepts in a pretty satirical way.Thank you so much and I hope that Dr.Chuck and the teaching staff have seen my appreciation message.

por Jason J

5 de Dez de 2017

Dr. Chuck Severance is an excellent teacher. Between his book and the video lectures, I feel 100% comfortable with the material. Granted, this is still a broad overview and we didn't dive too deep (this is a good thing) into REGEX, XML, JSON, along with different libraries (urllib, beautiful soup, etc) but I'm no longer intimidated by the terms and have a great understanding of at least what they are and why there are used. This class is a great foundation upon which one can build with further study. I'm looking forward to finishing the database course and then continuing on the next Python Data Science track offered by UMich.

por Shannon R

20 de Out de 2017

I absolutely loooooooove Charles. His teaching style is so clean and concise, this is clearly his divine purpose in life. The order in which the information is presented is perfect, I feel like I am finally able to make sense of how my computer actually works and does stuff on a daily basis. His passion for this material definitely translates in every lecture, which makes me excited for each new topic. I love the visualizations he includes or draws because it really gives me a grasp of how a program is working as we progress through each component of the program. I wish he taught the data science course too. Thank you Charles!

por Belikov D

26 de Out de 2020

Howdy all. I'm not engineer, not programmer. I'm a beginner of programming, so i have small experience of passing courses. But i think, this course needs more assignments in programming to consolidate every theory in our minds, assignments with different levels of difficulty, including assignments with less amount of prompts.

But i think course is useful, don't miss it.

P.S. maybe for some beginners this course very hard, but i think that it isn't easy mostly for many people, when you learning something new in your life. Learning how to find needed information in internet is great useful experience too ;)

por Sayak C

12 de Ago de 2020

The last week may turn out to be a bit harder than the rest and people might find it a bit more difficult than the previous courses but the devil is in the details. The are a lot of minute details that demand your attention and require to be learnt, because if you somehow miss these details or overlook the little important things, it'll become far harder to finish the assignments and weekly quizzes. As for me the simple sequence of parameters in an url was the difference between the wrong answer and the right. You'll learn a lot of stuff that requires detailed attention, every part will be requiring a lot of focus.

por Hikmet H

17 de Jan de 2021

Great course! Dr. Severance did a fantastic job, similar to what he did on previous modules. Naturally, going through the modules, difficulty level goes up and Dr. Severance is managing this very professionally. It took me less than a week time to complete first 3 modules and hopefully planning to complete rest of the modules during the upcoming week. I would rather learn any subject in a fast mode, instead of doing it in slow motion as giving days between, it takes a while to remember what you learned before. This is my personal method, which may not work in other students. Good luck to all the students!

por Huynh L D

5 de Jan de 2016

Dr. Chuck is an exceptionally-inspiring teacher. He explains complex concepts like XML, JSON, HTTP, API, RegEx in such an eloquent and down-to-earth fashion that despite having the videos at x2.0 speed, I can grasp everything he tries to deliver. Amazing! This course, and many other Dr. Chuck's courses, are really how online courses should be. Excellent instructor, fair share of hands-on programming assignments.

However, I just hope that there are many more programming assignments, maybe many optional challenging, extensive programming assignments or even projects would be an ultimate Coursera experience.

por Dinesh L

29 de Out de 2020

Interesting course. A few comments. 1: The example codes are helpful. However, I am not sure if I would be able to write a program from scratch using a customer specification. 2. The Twitter example is interesting and complicated. 3. How was the twURL code created? Is this something we will learn in this course? Many thanks to Dr. Chuck for sharing interview videos and great explanation of the material. The video of the lectures are good but I had to view them multiple times to really understand what is going on. Some of the explanations went too fast for me. The text of the video lectures are helpful.

por Sidra F A

31 de Mai de 2018

There are times in this course when you would want to go and hug Dr Chuck for making it so simple and easy to understand few of the most complex concepts in language and specially for people having no prior knowledge of the subject. One gets this feeling quite often "keep going, you can do this, its easy".

Also, this will be my first ever course on coursera that I'll complete and not just leave in the middle because this is how an online course should be - doesn't waste time, has condense information in every minute of the video lectures and stays true to topics without going under/overboard.

por Jenkins P S J

22 de Mai de 2020

The course content is excellent. The way of teaching of the great Dr Chuck is very engaging. This is the third course I have taken under him and surely, he is one of the best teachers I ever had. He breaks down the contents into nice little pieces and presses one those areas which are important. The assignments are a bit challenging compared to the previous two courses and encompasses everything that are thought in the course. The bonus contents are awesome and love watching them after doing the assignments. Overall, as a great learning experience with Dr Chuck as it always will be.

por Maksym S

16 de Nov de 2015

I'm not exactly new to python, but my typical use-cases looked more like hacking rather then conscious programming.

Said all this, I've found the first block - introduction to Python, to be very basic and slow paced, but starting from the Web it is all good stuff only.

It deserves to become one of the coursera classics. Great combination of pedagogical talent, humor an knowledge of the subject. It also tremendously helps that the course is backed by the book so it is always possible to look back for that "Introduction to Python" part, that I've skipped ;)

por beliefs22

1 de Jan de 2016

I've taken a number of courses on Python through Coursera and this was the first course that I was able to follow through to completion, and I believe that is a combination of Dr. Chucks teaching style, and the activities he uses to convey the information. It was amazing to learn about things like using APIs and mixing python with Databases in a way I could understand at my level of programming knowledge, and it enabled me to start thinking about my own projects in a completely new way.

I'm really looking forward to completing the capstone project.

por Michael R

6 de Jun de 2016

This course has been a Godsend to me. I was so confused about so many things and all the other resources I could find out there just assumed that I knew things about which I was, in fact, clueless. I got the book and watched a lot of the lectures twice but in the end I really feel like I got it. The assignments were manageable and doable after the course lectures and I have gone back and done a number of them over again to solidify things in my mind. I feel like the web is my friend now, not a source of cheap tricks and booby traps. Thanks!

por Joe W

15 de Jun de 2017

While I'm an experienced programmer I'm relatively new to Python and had never done anything with either XML or JSON before this course. Yet here I am understanding it all and successfully doing genuinely useful things with them in Python.

There can't be that many courses that can get a beginner useful in just six sets of lessons. Novice programmers should take this at the recommended pace and do not move on until you have 100% on all assessment items. Experienced programmers should be able to complete this in a couple of days. I did. :)