Chevron Left
Voltar para Python and Machine Learning for Asset Management

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Python and Machine Learning for Asset Management da instituição EDHEC Business School

3.6
estrelas
35 classificações
9 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course will enable you mastering machine-learning approaches in the area of investment management. It has been designed by two thought leaders in their field, Lionel Martellini from EDHEC-Risk Institute and John Mulvey from Princeton University. Starting from the basics, they will help you build practical skills to understand data science so you can make the best portfolio decisions. The course will start with an introduction to the fundamentals of machine learning, followed by an in-depth discussion of the application of these techniques to portfolio management decisions, including the design of more robust factor models, the construction of portfolios with improved diversification benefits, and the implementation of more efficient risk management models. We have designed a 3-step learning process: first, we will introduce a meaningful investment problem and see how this problem can be addressed using statistical techniques. Then, we will see how this new insight from Machine learning can complete and improve the relevance of the analysis. You will have the opportunity to capitalize on videos and recommended readings to level up your financial expertise, and to use the quizzes and Jupiter notebooks to ensure grasp of concept. At the end of this course, you will master the various machine learning techniques in investment management....
Filtrar por:

1 — 9 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Python and Machine Learning for Asset Management

por Keith W

Nov 20, 2019

The jump in Python programming was not handled well - it was far too complex and an order of magnitude more complex than anything that had come before. I enjoyed the theory, but feel lost with the Python component. A 12 minute lab session with a Princeton grad student was not nearly enough to grasp the material. Bring back Vijay who is excellent in teaching Python!

por Ziheng C

Dec 24, 2019

Personally, this is the BEST online course I have ever seen. For students with basic knowledge in machine learning and finance, this can help them improve a lot, especially helping them to combine these two things. In addition, the viewpoint of Professor John Mulvey is sharp and indicate directions for applying ML in investment management courses. Best course ever.

por Andrea C

Jan 09, 2020

John part is really confusing and not well explained. his slides and very high level and labs are very low level with basically no explanation. The rest of the course is fine.

por Soheil S

Jan 20, 2020

It was a terrible experience taking this course. Despite the two first courses, this one is disappointing! the ML instructor does not offer any useful material and all of the ML lectures contain ambiguous and useless material. The worst part is the quizzes. the multiple choices include ambiguous answers and that you should choose more than one and the ridiculous part is that either you would get the full mark or nothing! even if you choose some choices correctly and you never know what was your mistakenly chosen choice! I've tried the week 2 quiz for 9 times and have not been yet successful to pass it.

It's overwhelmingly complicated and unclear.

I didn't expect such a terrible course from EDHEC Business School and Coursera!

por Serg D

Nov 23, 2019

Well, that was disappointing. What was the point bringing Princeton into this? Looks like edhec does not have in house ml experience. I did not find this course, exercises and labs to be practical at all. As another commentator said bring back Vijay!

por Francisco C

Jan 17, 2020

I learned about how can be used the machine learning in asset management, but to much theory and nothing practical. We received the lab done, and could not understand how implement. I missed the lab of the first two courses.

por Loc N

Jan 02, 2020

The course feels chaotic and unplanned, unlike the previous two courses in the series. This course glosses over on some of the important technical details, while repeats too much basic or non-technical information. It also seems the course outsources the teaching to PhD students and readings, which causes further inconsistency.

por Semant J P

Jan 13, 2020

First about me - I been deeply involved in data science, and machine learning and trade on the financial markets. So, in addition to solid academic credentials, I have a real life practical experience. I took this course to check if there were some additional skills I could learn.

I was sorely disappointed. This is a completely useless course.

The first two courses in this specialization were amazing. This has been the worst organized and least practical course. As other reviews have pointed out, academic research on regime filtering was pandered out as machine learning in finance. I was expecting to learn practical instances of using supervised, unsupervised, deep learning used in finance. There was nothing of this sort.

I have never seen Q-Q plots being used in investment/hedge funds - we talk about annualized returns, standard deviation, Sharpe ratio, and drawdowns. These statistical markers were used by Vijay in the first two courses. Not here.

This course needs to be rebuild from scratch - and Vijay needs to be brought back in for real practical application of ML in financial services.

por Платонов Д Ю

Jan 03, 2020

Very bad. Previous 2 courses was amazing, but this is a strange.