Chevron Left
Voltar para Data Visualization with Python

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Data Visualization with Python da instituição IBM

4.5
estrelas
9,493 classificações
1,420 avaliações

Sobre o curso

"A picture is worth a thousand words". We are all familiar with this expression. It especially applies when trying to explain the insight obtained from the analysis of increasingly large datasets. Data visualization plays an essential role in the representation of both small and large-scale data. One of the key skills of a data scientist is the ability to tell a compelling story, visualizing data and findings in an approachable and stimulating way. Learning how to leverage a software tool to visualize data will also enable you to extract information, better understand the data, and make more effective decisions. The main goal of this Data Visualization with Python course is to teach you how to take data that at first glance has little meaning and present that data in a form that makes sense to people. Various techniques have been developed for presenting data visually but in this course, we will be using several data visualization libraries in Python, namely Matplotlib, Seaborn, and Folium. LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

Melhores avaliações

AM
13 de Ago de 2020

Great course, one of the best course to get hands-on learning for Data Visualization with Python. Particularly the lap exercise, it will make you think on every line of code you write. Excellent!!!

SS
20 de Nov de 2019

It's a really great course with proper hands on time and the assignments are great too. i got enough opportunity to explore the things which were taught in the course. Really Satisfied. Thanks :)

Filtrar por:

1301 — 1325 de 1,415 Avaliações para o Data Visualization with Python

por Gloria S

15 de Ago de 2019

too basic

por Fabio B

15 de Mar de 2019

Too basic

por Vu C T

22 de Set de 2021

por Frank A I

21 de Mar de 2021

Unfortunately, this has to be to worst Coursera course that I have taken. I only give it 2 stars for the first few weeks, otherwise this is more of a 0/5 star

While the beginning was a descent course, the final project was very much a left field task. While it did have some of the material from the course, there were several aspects that were not explained in depth or not at all. It also didnt help that there were some errors in the base code that were not explained and it took the students to resolve them.

Many people pinged the instructors for assistance, including myself, but aside from a few comments here and there, all their responses were basically "Review this thread that says to run the code a gain and give it time to load". When I asked for more detailed instruction beyond that thread, I never heard back from the instructors. With so many students opening threads and asking the same question, the instructors should take that as a hint that something is wrong and that they should take a more active roll to resolve the issue (a new lecture or assignment to help explains the errors rather than a thread provided).

The best part was that when I mentioned I had issues with this at work, a coworker of mine who had 20 years experience, at least 10 of which is with Python, offered to look over the code with me. He was confused with what the instructor was attempting to have us learn with the final assignment.

In short, I rate this course low because of the final assignment not being properly explained before or during it and that fact that there is little to no instructor support beyond repeating themselves and telling students to "toggle the dropdowns and wait"/ "rerun the code"

por Thierry C

31 de Jul de 2021

T​his course is the most disorganized I ever followed to date on Coursera. Up to the step where we learn about the Dashboards, the course is pretty well presented and the labs are working with good guidance but then, when reaching the dashboards, the guidances disappear, none of the dashboard lab work in JupyterLab. The final exam is a torture with a peer review submission so messy that you will have to spend more time assembling screenshots together than producing the dashboards themselves, and after so much struggle, you will have to answer sneaky questions with some answer that do not even make any sense in English. Be prepared for a lot of frustration and even though, they say that knowledge of HTML language is not required... well... most of the dashboard labs are actually based on HTML language. I wish the course was better prepared and that all labs were working, I have learned less than I could due to those broken labs.

por Carina D

20 de Abr de 2021

Although the course was informative, the course components related to Dash applications need to be reworked or removed. For a course that should only require the use of a course-provided cloud-based Jupyter notebook (JupyterLab via IBM Skills Network Labs), the labs and final assignment should work via that service. The final assignment also should be reworked into a new assignment because of its incompatibility with the course-provided Jupyter notebook. A final assignment should not be debugged extensively and require the use of outside applications (one of them being an application that requires computer installation) to be completed. The course should explicitly state what resources are needed for the final assignment if it requires outside resources, and the debugging instructions should be listed in the final assignment instructions, not in a thread in a discussion board.

por Ian R

18 de Fev de 2021

This course needs some significant remodeling in order for users to feel like they learned something from this course. I couldn't finish the final assignment because visually speaking, it was so hard to follow. Furthermore, the final assignment was creating a dashboard, which covered Week 4. There was no graded assignment that covered Weeks 1-3. Luckily, that material was easy to follow. Not sure what the point of having the material for Weeks 1-3 is if we are not going to be tested on this material via a final assignment.

To make this course more worthwhile, I think there should be a graded peer review assignment for Weeks 1-3, so learners have a chance to test their knowledge on this material. Then have an assignment that addresses dashboards. I also think it would be easier the dashboard assignment in IBM Watson Studio.

por Soubir D

1 de Mai de 2021

I spent more time trying to fix "localhost refused to connect" and other errors from the end of course management, while submitting my final assignment, than on doing the actual course or assignment - it's not a very efficient way to test a newbie like me who isn't familiar with these various environments.

Also, when there's no instructor speaking to you and it's just robotic voice and text, it doesn't feel much like an educational course and is off-putting. The lectures were also way too short and flew through concepts too quickly. The only mitigating factor was the labs which were decent and the only thing that actually aided my learning rather than being a hindrance. I hope you don't take this the wrong way, but I'm unsubscribing from this course. Thanks anyway.

por Albert K

8 de Mai de 2021

The lessons are so easy to finish. Annoying is to have 40% of the time of each video repeating data cleaning. MOST FRUSTRATING is the FINAL PEER GRADED PROJECT, so frustrating to the level that even if your code is correct it will fail to run to show the required charts. Google colab was the final savior for me to avoid the unending errors thrown at me in Jupyter NB, and through skills lab. In terms of recommending, I am not sure of what i can say based on the last part of it. I was grading and came across 2 students who seemed frustrated and submitted wrong files for each question. I am sure the their tactic was first to submit the project and get access to other student's work. Which showed a high order that students were frustrated and tired enough

por Cynthia J

27 de Jul de 2021

El curso esta descripto como nivel intermedio, sin embargo, las primeras dos semanas se tratan plots basicos (ej. boxplot, pie chart, scatter, etc) pero no se profundiza muchos sobre las opciones de parametros a ajustar ni como mejorar la parte estetica, y la practica solo da un pantallasmo muy general. Yo en mi caso buscaba conocimientos algo mas avanzados sobre estos graficos.

L​a seccion de dash, si bien yo no la conocia y estuvo interesante, fue poco clara la explicacion, una practica completa pero como que me falto mas base y explicacion de los diferentes modulos para poder llevarla a cabo. Al final no me quedo muy claro como se deberia armar el archivo para dashnoard ni que rol cumple cada parte.

por Abu S N

2 de Mai de 2021

I would give 2 stars for the materials taught prior to 5th week's final project. It goes downhill from there. The final project is atrocious. The assignment does not run in the suggested platform (e.g., Jupyter notebook, Watson, or Skills Network - the latter has been malfunctioning for couple of weeks now). I had to run the project in Google Colab to get the output. Most of the students are facing the same problem. Ans yet, neither the instructors nor IBM staff provide any workable solution. Furthermore, the instructions given does not match with the output generated in the lab (e.g., only one upload 'space' for uploading multiple plots). Terrible experience for most participants.

por Mauro L

31 de Ago de 2021

Overall, the course has been interesting and pretty useful to learn the basics of Data Visualization and how to implement interesting graphs in Python. Unfortunately, the final assignment is a complete mess and a waste of time. The tasks themselves took about half an hour to complete, but the provided code is full of typos and small errors that required days of troubleshooting, only to figure out that my code wasn't working because of a couple of misplaced spaces in a code that was meant to be only copied and pasted. In addition, a basic understanding of HTML is required to complete the final weeks of the course.

por Jeffrey J H

22 de Dez de 2020

The topic was interesting and visual feedback is gratifying.

The instructor videos were almost totally worthless. The first video should explain how the course will be conducted (information presentation, additional reading required, overall approach to homework, etc.) with subsequent videos explaining important concepts.

The included sample code files at least presented a progression to learn some concepts and provide a basis for experimentation.

The final homework required extensive internet searches rather defeating the point of a "lecture course".

By far the worst Coursera course I have taken.

por Kenny T

23 de Ago de 2021

I​ think the materials are good, and give a very broad overview of what visualization packages are available.

H​owever, having the assignment based on Plotly Dash is very painful as it is not a straightforward setup, and some individuals might face challenges even executing the codes.

I​ would suggest sticking with matplotlib, as I presume the main objective is to know how to storytell, and not on how fanciful your storytelling can be. We can probably leave that in other courses like Tableau, D3.js or a focused visualisation course.

por Jessica C

10 de Jun de 2021

I was really enjoying the classes in this certification until this one came along. There were so many errors and issues and it was an incredibly frustrating experience. The only reason that I am even giving it two stars is that I feel like I did learn a little in the beginning of the course. I really hoped to learn more and now feel anxious about what the next course in this certification will be like. Very disappointing and discouraging experience and such an unexpected turn after so many great courses.

por Matthew M

4 de Ago de 2020

The course material is well presented and interesting, but the final assignment is totally out of line. It contains questions with items that are not in the course or prior courses and I for one could not find on the internet. It took much longer and was much more difficult than final assignments in any of the prior courses. The professor needs to change this assignment, in particular question 2. Other people have struggled with the assignment and complained about the course and nobody seems to care.

por Colin R

29 de Jun de 2021

This course is great, the material is well organized and easy enough to understand and learn however the final assignment is a royal pain due to formatting issues. More time was spent trying to figure out my formatting so I could run my application than learning the material itself. It would be nice if the code for the final assignment could be submitted so partial marks could be awarded. I spun my wheels for 2-3 weeks on this before I could get my dashboard to successfully run.

Thanks, Colin R

por ARPINO E

24 de Mai de 2021

At the end of the course we introduce the tutorial part on an Integrated Development Environment (IDE) based on Theia (an open source IDE platform similar to VS Code) to develop and run Python code. This system is extremely impractical and does not allow to save the exercises on file. In fact, for the final exam, a series of reports are required that are not at all simple and paratic in performing in such an environment and with the few notions explained during the course.

por Jesse I

22 de Out de 2020

The lessons were great! Super informative and I truly learned a lot. The final assignment was extremely frustrating though as minimal instructions/links were provided and some of the links were broken. The concepts in the final assignment were somewhat related with the course material, but much more advanced (ex: using the artist layer of MatplotLib with looping to create patches was NOT covered in the material). This made what I did learn very frustrating to apply.

por Matt S

29 de Mai de 2021

O​ften found bugs and errors in the code supplied by the labs. The staff seemed to ignore most of the posts on the forum when other students were looking for help / solutions. The course also fell under the unfortunate category that most online courses fall under - the course starts off basic and understandable and then makes leaps in information and expects students to keep up. Loved the start of the course, hated it by the end.

por Luke M

15 de Ago de 2021

The biggest challenge of this course was getting the workshops to work to begin with, and not what the course is supposed to be about. I can't say I learned a whole lot about creating dashboards or visualising data, but I certainly learned more about troubleshooting. Most of the time I spent on this course was trying to get the workshops to work as they were poorly made and contained errors or had other problems.

por Bohdan T

8 de Mai de 2021

Very interesting topic with poor materials. Apparently not only I had problems with the final assignment, but earlier materials also were not very precisely explained. It forced me to look for support and solutions outside the Coursera, which is good, but I would imagine that everything is prepared, explained with references to external sources. Sorry, for me this module - great disappointment.

por Pedro H M P

11 de Jul de 2020

Not good. The quizzes were pointless and the final assignment deal minimal modifications (that have nothing to do with analyzing the data ) that are not covered in the course. Of course you can do these minimal adjustments if you search the documentation for the plotting libraries, however is this was the goal of the course why not teach it? if not, why make us bother with it?

por Anna B

15 de Jan de 2021

Some useful information but overall this course needs upgrading. Pretty much all of the information was given in the labs which made the videos feel a bit pointless. Final graded assignment required so much outside research not covered in the actual course that it took far longer than expected. Quite surprising as the previous 6 modules were all really well thought through.

por Brittany M

13 de Jul de 2020

This program needs to be updated. There were some things that were outdated. Additionally, for the final, we would be asked to do things that were not covered in the lessons. Although this can help in teaching problem solving, it was quite confusing and overwhelming considering this is an online class in which we have no instructor to go to for guidance.