Chevron Left
Voltar para Introdução à Oratória - Apresentação em Público

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introdução à Oratória - Apresentação em Público da instituição Universidade de Washington

4.8
estrelas
1,809 classificações
591 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course gives you a reliable model for preparing and delivering effective presentations. In business, in school, and in public life, we are often called upon to “make a few comments.” Often, people tasked with such speeches become flummoxed. They might not know what to talk about, or ramble without making a point, or simply be confusing to listen to. This course is designed to help you shine where others falter. We’ll learn how organize talks clearly, write them memorably, and deliver them confidently. By the end of the course, you should be able to significantly reduce your fear of public speaking, use rehearsal techniques to develop a strong, vibrant speaking voice, and perform speeches with dynamic movement and gestures. The speech model that we’ll practice is useful for briefings, elevator talks, interviews, and even as a structure for hour-long presentations. If you’re a beginner, this course will help you quickly master the fundamentals of speaking. If you’re a seasoned speaker, this course will help you better understand public speaking and push you to the next level....

Melhores avaliações

E

27 de fev de 2017

This course is great. You simply learn a lot in an easy way. The teacher is really good and knows how to teach and engage you in the lessons. I am looking forward to next courses in the specialization

AJ

5 de jun de 2020

Excellent course for who are starting to speak in public or who are already a public speaker, no matter you join this course to get more tools & ideas to make your speech interesting to the audience.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 593 Avaliações para o Introdução à Oratória - Apresentação em Público

por Tejas N B

7 de fev de 2020

good for learning

por SHARON C S

1 de ago de 2020

g

o

o

d

por Brandon W

21 de out de 2019

I was finished with assignments two weeks in advance with the belief that I could complete the course and receive the certificate early; that is not true. They make you wait until the end, which is very frustrating and inefficient.

por GiacomoPersici

12 de out de 2017

I believe that is great knowing how to speak and how to perform a speech in front of an audience. Unfortunately here we haven’t a real audience, the real one that we really have in front of us when we really have to speak.

This course, helped me anyway a lot, because i couldn’t take the time to follow a real class, and of course thanks to THE UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON is possible all of this. It is so a great course.

por Mary E C

14 de nov de 2020

Ironically the best course I ever enrolled in despite being an introvert with an extreme case of stage fright. I took this course so that I can stop that fear and improve on my speaking skills, and I loved this course. I didn't intend to enroll in the specialization course but now I think I want to. I also really loved the professor, wish we could have someone like him in my college. Cheers!

por Erdem G

30 de mar de 2021

In every year of high school and university, I found myself presenting in front of the class. When I took this lecture from Matt McGarrity, I realized that I didn't know how to give speeches appropriately. There were many useful techniques to create a key point speech. Now I know how to mesmerize them with the skills I got from this course! Thanks a lot to Coursera and Matt McGarrity

por Alejandra P M C

24 de ago de 2020

Un muy buen curso introductorio pero con todo lo necesario para desarrollar un buen discurso oral, sin importar el tamaño de la audiencia. Da buenos consejos y las lecciones son muy entretenidas y fácil de comprender. El instructor (Dr. Matt McGarrity) es excelente y se nota su habilidad para poder hacer llegar el mensaje a su audiencia así sea a través de una pantalla, gracias!

por Weina S

17 de set de 2020

The course is very organized, informative, and helpful! Thank you, Prof.McGarrity, for offering us this wonderful public speaking course. I've gained a great learning experience and learned a great deal from your lectures, case analysis, hands-on practice, quizzes, course summaries, and so on! I'll be joining you for the informative speech. Looking forward to that!

por Fernando U

15 de ago de 2020

This is an awesome course. In the first two weeks I had the impression the course was trying to use rethoric to teach something unuseful. I couldn't understand why the teacher speaks so fast and gesticulates a lot. But my opinion drastically changed on the following weeks. This is one of the best courses I've made in my life. Excellent teacher and great material.

por Eva D

24 de fev de 2021

The course taught me a lot about public speaking and was well structured and easy to follow. The videos, for me, were a really good learning experience, since it seemed casual, but also like I was really learning new things. The weekly assignment weren't too difficult but always expected more, which was good. In all I really enjoyed this learning experience.

por Anaum S H

20 de out de 2020

This course was of great help to me! Toward the end of the course I noticed subtle changes within myself. Earlier I used to try to do everything in my power to not be able to give a speech. Yet, at the end of this course I was looking forward to deliver the speech that I was supposed to. I'm glad I had the opportunity to be a part of this course. Thank you!

por Luis C

22 de dez de 2016

Great course, excellent instructor. The topics are easy to follow up. And easy and practical to apply since day 1 of the course. I have improve in my speeches, I am an instructor so the topic was really important for me and also to my students.

Thanks for sharing your knowledge with the world.

por Meng W

18 de mai de 2021

It would be better if this course has more assignments and speaking practices.

por Perla G R

30 de set de 2021

It is a great way to introduce yourself to the Public Speaking

por Mariem B

17 de out de 2017

Hello professor Matt,

I've reviewed the course never really expecting a reply. so your comment really surprised me.

thank you so much for sharing your course online and for all the explanations you've been providing.

I really enjoy it a lot !

I feel that most of the reviews I've gotten weren't really helpful in targetting the problems or the points I need to work on.( just like my review on the course I have realised it following your reply ) . They are mostly just too vague. an example of this is someone rating a 3-4 and just saying you did a good job or evreything is ok. then I can't figure out really what they meant.

another thing that bothred me was someone saying you need to work more on tone. I just wish i could talk to the person a bit more and understand what they mean because i ve watched the video again and again and I can't pinpoint if my tone was too monotoneous or was it because of my high pitched voice ( i m sorry i didn't know how to reply to your comment)

por Daniel M A

7 de mar de 2021

The content is very good. I was very satisfied with the material. However, the peer-reviewing experience is not quite good yet. Overall, I had only one nice review, in the sense that the reviewer took time to read/watch my work and give me suggestions to improve. Most of my reviewers were shallow, giving superficial comments that did not add anything. That is very frustrating because I dedicate myself to do a complete review of all works I evaluated. Additionally, it seems that the system is very vulnerable to bots. I had reviews that made no sense at all. I really like the idea of peer-reviewing, and I really believe that it works when it is done right. But for the current state of the Coursera system, it undermined my experience with the course.

por BHOSLE R D

24 de jan de 2020

good

por Zachary A

15 de dez de 2019

A bit boring

por hussain a

8 de mai de 2018

so bad

por Oluwakayode O

25 de jul de 2020

I didn't know what to expect going into this course but taking a look through the overview made me take a punt. It was great, enjoyable and very insightful and covered a lot of ground for an introduction course. The timings were manageable and focused.

The teachings were clear and concise which made it much easier to learn and complete the assignments. The course had many positives but one of my many takeaways would be that It not only teaches you how to think about (and deliver) your speech, it also touches on how to listen, break-down and decode other speeches from a listeners perspective.

I fully recommend to anyone who is thinking of taking this course to do it, I found it very useful and it's a skill I'll be practicing and fine-tuning for a long time. You won't be dissapointed!

por Diego M

12 de fev de 2021

I loved the course. The content was high quality. The videos and materials were concise, clear, and effective. The assignments were similarly great with creative and analytical questions. The discussion forums available are good, but they can be improved. The only aspects that I didn't like were: There were no enough short quizzes to test yourself in the videos like other courses, some quizzes were too short, people did not give much valuable feedback in peer reviews, and the speech assignments were not very focused on the implementation of the knowledge (practicality) as I would have liked. Anyways, it was awesome; strongly recommended for developing communication skills.

por Jennifer D

10 de ago de 2017

A really big thank you to Dr. Matt McGarrity! This was a very interesting, very informative and very enjoyable course. I wasn't sure what to expect so it was a pleasant surprise to find it so useful and at the same time fun. I have already recommended it to several people (likely many more). It is well worth the time and probably not just for public speaking; I think it is valuable on even a basic communication level. For me, I sought out this course to try to help myself tackle speaking apprehension and I think I struck gold in finding a course that did that and so much more. Do not hesitate to do this!!

por Maria L C Z

20 de nov de 2021

I loved this course! It helped me to overcome one of my biggest fears, to stand in front of an audience and start talking.

This course provides a variety of tools to help you write a speech and to present it. The content is quite interesting. It includes short videos that help you finish the topic of a week in shorter time. If the videos were longer, I would probably quit earlier, but I realized I finished the week assignments in no time! The professor was funny yet knowledgeable.

The activities were dinamic, we got to interact with people from around the globe. Overall, I highly recommend this course.

por Jaya V

26 de mai de 2020

I am fortunate to get trained by excellent trainer Dr. Matt McGarrity. Earlier I was not able to follow his too fast speech but later on ai started enjoying his pace and intonation. His sense of humour made all the session so interesting that I watched many videos twice or thrice. I would love to join another cours under his mentorship. This is one of best courses I ever attended on public speaking. The quality of content and references are unparalleled. I will recommend everyone mu students, my colleagues and to my friends to join this course. Thank you excellent training session and course material.

por Akin A

14 de mai de 2020

I really liked this course - this is one of the best that I have taken. The content and lectures were brilliant. The quizzes and assignments were also really well thought out too. Having to write, prepare and deliver speeches really pushed you to improve.

The only slightly disappointment was that some of the peer reviews are abit weak. I felt that in the first few weeks of the course I received good constructive feedback. Near the end of the course I would only get feedback like "good" or "adequate", which isn't very helpful.

Nonetheless, this is a fantastic course and one that I thoroughly recommend.