Chevron Left
Voltar para Os Desafios das Políticas Públicas no Século 21

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Os Desafios das Políticas Públicas no Século 21 da instituição Universidade da Virgínia

4.6
estrelas
1,024 classificações
271 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course introduces class participants to the political significance and societal consequences of challenges facing U.S. and international policymakers. It is designed to help participants develop skills to analyze policy proposals and advocate for their preferred options for issues on the public policy agenda ahead. The class assumes basic knowledge about governing institutions and democratic processes, while recommending supplemental materials for further study to complement reading links provided. The course focuses on future policy challenges, while examining the broad historical context in which policies are adopted and implemented. As the course evaluates how issues are advanced by private sector interests, non-governmental organizations, and government policymakers, it examines how groups become effective policy advocates. Particular attention is paid to how winning coalitions are formed and how issue framing shapes the outcome of policy campaigns. The goal is neither to produce partisan talking points, nor to favor one governance philosophy over others. Rather it is to clarify the public policy challenges ahead and to enhance participants’ understanding of how policy options are adopted in the real world arena of contemporary politics....

Melhores avaliações

TA

Sep 27, 2019

To know the "Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century" is more essential for the global people in this era. Thanks for the opportunity. I hope it will give a concise idea to learn on it...

GM

Apr 24, 2020

This course does not focus on any partisan interest but rather inspires you to think deeply, challenges you to reason beyond the status quo, and empowers you with the tools to make an impact!

Filtrar por:

201 — 225 de 270 Avaliações para o Os Desafios das Políticas Públicas no Século 21

por May D

Jun 01, 2017

Really inspiring, and a great collections of speakers. All of the challenges covered in class are relevant and will be remain relevant for a long time (that's the point of the class), but the lectures are from 2013 or maybe 2014, so I would love to take an updated version of this class with current perspectives. I really enjoyed this class!

por Lucas d A F C

Aug 04, 2020

While i feel the course is very U.S. oriented, I believe it has a lot to teach policymakers and students from around the world, specially in respect to what challenges future leaders will face and how to tackle those issues by understanding their causes and consequences, and learning to reach compromises with opposite parties.

por Hannah S J

Jun 01, 2020

I believe the course could have looked into more transitional topics and brought in similar policy skills for other forms of government as well. The breakdown of the Affordable Care Act and the proposal for the war powers Act were both illuminating. The Media perspective, although slightly uncommon, was very much appreciated.

por Ankita W

May 20, 2020

It's a good course for beginners and those who want to understand Public policy. However, it would be great if the current course is updated to the latest sessions, because the lectures are at least 5 years old and the world has changed quite a bit since then. Updated policy challenges would be really helpful.

por JOSE A G G

Aug 31, 2020

Very good course. And it makes me think that part of the expectations of the invited speakers, and those from prof. Warburg, hasn't happened yet. Much to the contrary, it seems that many problems pointed were exacerbated. I would gladly attend an updated version of the course. Thanks!

por Ankur G

May 10, 2017

A very good introduction to Public Policy Challenges and related debates. Also a great way to get a snapshot of what plagues America, why America reacts the way it does and how the America of the future might react and shape the rest of the world.

por Smriti S

Jul 15, 2020

Updating the content of some of the modules with additional reading material would be beneficial given how much the governance structures have altered since 2014 (when the course content was first created). Thank you for this enriching course!

por Madan P P

Jun 26, 2020

A well-formatted course to know about the public policy of the contemporary USA and its challenges. It is mainly focused on USA policies. However, it is highly beneficial to all who are working in policy area.

por Kyle H

Sep 01, 2018

Great course, but just like one of the key themes of the course shows, the rapid pace of change requires it be updated more often. Taking a course filmed in 2014 in 2018 is like a lifetime of difference.

por Krishaan K

Dec 01, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed and benefitted from this course, however, I also feel there was too much of an emphasis on U.S Policy. It is understandable, but other than that, it was great!

por Faith C K

Sep 29, 2020

Succinct, engaging. The scope should have been a bit more universal for the various Coursera students around the world. but it allows for a good grasp on 21st century challenges.

por Ryan T

Jul 14, 2020

Highly interactive class. The guest lecturers have extensive experience and highlight so much information from the past and into the future. I highly recommend this course.

por Shantanu P

Sep 22, 2015

Helped me understand the key challenges to Public Policy, albeit to the US.

However, many of the challenges are global and also impact the developing nations of Asia.

por Alexander S

Feb 09, 2016

Very much enjoyed the course and the discussions (particularly on healthcare policy). However, the title should reflect that the course is entirely US-centric.

por carrie D

May 03, 2018

Enjoyed the lectures but could not figure out how to engage with the other students...

Also, the class was a few years old so issues had obviously changed.

por Nicolás C

Jun 14, 2020

Muy buen curso, abarca diferentes habilidades como profesional de políticas publicas debe tener, siento que las lecturas deben ser actualizadas

por 임용진

Aug 30, 2020

This class is amazing and I was able to conveniently study major i wanted to learn also. I have to find another class and take it. thank you

por Seyed M H G

Oct 18, 2018

The course concentrate on american public policy. It could be wider regarding the topic "Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century.

por Mohammad K F

Jun 07, 2020

It's a well-designed course but the Course is designed in the USA-perspective only which does not go with the title of the Course.

por KAPISH 1

Aug 22, 2020

Wonderful Course to learn about Future challenges . Also the course offers different ideological perspectives to learn from .

por Janice W

May 15, 2020

Great overview of policy challenges with several examples of different topics that will impact future policy discussions.

por Afsarul K

Aug 26, 2020

wow it effective course for me as a student of public administration.,i really enjoy it to enriched my knowledge. thanks

por eliema c p d r

Aug 31, 2020

The course was excellent but it could have complementary reading suggested for students, from professors and guests.

por Abrar H

Jun 20, 2020

Very helpful and in depth course, focusing on the public policy and other aspects of the government. Learnt a lot.

por Racquel W

Jun 06, 2018

Very useful course to get a baseline knowledge of sustainable development and the key content areas in this field