Chevron Left
Voltar para Understanding Prostate Cancer

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Understanding Prostate Cancer da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.8
estrelas
370 classificações
96 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to Understanding Prostate Cancer. My name is Ken Pienta, Professor of Urology and Oncology at the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine. I have been studying prostate cancer and treating patients with prostate cancer for over 25 years. Over 1,000,000 men worldwide and 230,000 men in the United States are diagnosed with prostate cancer every year. Three hundred thousand men worldwide and 30,000 men in the US are dying from prostate cancer every year. As people live longer, the incidence of prostate cancer is rising worldwide and prostate cancer continues to be a major health problem. Thanks to years of dedication and commitment to research we’ve made enormous advances in the treatment of prostate cancer, But there is still a lot of work to be done. In this Understanding Prostate Cancer course, I will provide an introduction to the biology of prostate cancer as well as how it is identified and treated at various stages of the disease. I've put together this course in order to introduce you to the essentials of prostate cancer. By the time you finish this course you'll be able to  Define risk factors for prostate cancer  Understand current prostate cancer screening guidelines  Understand prostate cancer staging  Understand treatments for localized prostate cancer  Understand treatments for advanced prostate cancer  Understand treatments to alleviate the symptoms caused by prostate cancer This Understanding Prostate Cancer Course should be helpful to anyone who wants to develop a deeper understanding of prostate cancer biology and treatment. It should be useful to students who are interested in a deeper understanding of the science of cancer. It should also be helpful to health care providers, data managers, and educators who wish to develop a better understanding of prostate cancer and how it affects individuals. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance. For those of you who might be thinking about a career in cancer research or patient care, I hope this course will inspire you to pursue that path! The course is divided into five modules organized to facilitate learning. I'm glad that you decided to join this course. I hope that you will develop a basic understanding of prostate cancer. I hope that it will help you in whatever field you work. If you are a student, I hope that what you learn here will help you begin a career in cancer biology research and contribute to the worldwide effort to save lives....

Melhores avaliações

LK

May 15, 2018

A good course. The short video format with plenty of review questions is very helpful. More review questions, trickier review questions, and good glossaries might help make the course even better.

SA

May 28, 2020

A great course, it help me to get a better understanding of prostate cancer. a very simple yet very efficient explanation about everything. i was new to the topic so i got a very good knowledge.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 95 Avaliações para o Understanding Prostate Cancer

por Eryka W

May 26, 2020

Really great overview of prostate cancer. The lecture videos were just long enough for you to learn the materials and be able to take the quiz. I thought the pace of the course was perfect. My only suggestion would be to make the review quizzes at the end of each section include questions not found in the smaller lecture quizzes. They were often the same questions and memory helped me answer them more than knowledge!

por SOW A A

Jul 20, 2020

very interesting course

can be more better if updated with new guidelines

por Gregory S

Aug 01, 2018

Excellent overview. Pace was perfect. All terms/acronyms/abbreviations were spelled out. Dr. Pienta seemed to speak from a tremendous amount of knowledge and experience and was still able to distill the fundamentals down into concepts that were easy to understand. I work in Regulatory Affairs for a pharmaceutical company. This course gave me an excellent base understanding for an important disease in my company's drug portfolio. Thank you.

por Roshan N

Aug 31, 2017

Extremely detailed and complete course on Prostate Cancer. Lucid in understanding - though being from non-English speaking country. Detailed introduction to very technical management of Prostate cancer aided with various important treatment types and options. I'd love to learn more from the University and same group of professors and his team.

por Brad H

Oct 01, 2017

I love this professor. He is informative, succinct, and sincere; he seems to convey empathy in a professional manner while discussing such serious conditions. I am guessing that his bedside manner would be excellent in a clinical setting. The important thing here, though, is that he teaches the necessary information with exemplary care.

por Tanbin J F

Jul 19, 2020

I must say that it's a well organized course. I learnt a lot regarding prostate cancer. As i have enthusiasm to enrich my knowledge regarding cancer, this course seems to me very informative and interesting. I will suggest everyone to take this course and increase wisdom.

por Nicholas L

Sep 21, 2020

Absolutely loved this course. Provides a nice, accessible summary of prostate cancer. Nice diagrams too. Hope that similar courses like this can be done for other types of cancer (e.g. pancreatic cancer, lung cancer, hepatobiliary cancers). Will definitely do them!

por Robert J

Feb 12, 2018

A variety of information on cancer, including the biology of cancer, hallmarks of cancer, risk factors, screening controversies, PSA analysis, staging PCa, microscopic architecture analysis of the prostate, roles of radiation and surgery, hormone therapy, etc

por Antoinette B

Aug 03, 2020

As a community nurse I have a number of older men as clients. This course has been very helpful in updating my knowledge of prostrate cancer and the current treatments. The information about side effects is especially beneficial. Thank you

por Ukpai C K

Sep 07, 2020

I must say that I was amazed at how the courselves was taught with much ease and just anyone with little or no prior knowledge in health field could understand very well. Thanks to Coursera for this opportunity to learn and advance my career.

por Wilmer M

Aug 31, 2020

They are great people, incredible doctors, and excellent teachers. It is a course that I recommend to anyone who is interested in learning about cancer and particularly prostate cancer. Very good course, thank you very much for your teaching.

por Anil K D

Jul 08, 2020

The course Understanding Prostate Cancer provides a great learning of fundamentals of prostate cancer. The course material and lectures are very relevant. I highly recommend this course for students and researchers in the field.

por Muhammad S M M M

Jul 06, 2017

Very Informative and useful for those who are interested in the topic, and very important as an introductory to understand more about prostate cancer and the questions of research that still need more efforts to overcome.

por Levon K

May 15, 2018

A good course. The short video format with plenty of review questions is very helpful. More review questions, trickier review questions, and good glossaries might help make the course even better.

por Shaikh U A M A

May 28, 2020

A great course, it help me to get a better understanding of prostate cancer. a very simple yet very efficient explanation about everything. i was new to the topic so i got a very good knowledge.

por Ario B

Nov 26, 2018

Great course, It help us to get a better understanding of prostate cancer. He gave simple yet good explanation about the treatment options and advantages or disadvantages of each treatment

por Garcia R O U

Sep 03, 2017

Muy buen curso, explican de forma clara y sencilla conceptos básicos. Brinda, además un panorama de en que dirección puede conducirse la investigación del cáncer de próstata en el futuro.

por Karishma K

Feb 18, 2018

An amazing course. It is very informative, interesting and the videos are short enough that you can split up the information easily and don't lose focus. A very well structured course.

por Md M I

Apr 11, 2020

It was my first and great experience. i now target roe working on prostate cancer. this videos actually made the complex topics easier. thanks the authority for making it easy for me.

por Farabi S S

Sep 04, 2020

Now ,, I have a clear concept on prostate cancer .

As a Pharmacy student,, this course will gonna highly help me in future ....

I would like to thank,, Mentor ....

Best of luck ....

por Dr.Mohan P

Jul 03, 2020

Let me thank first Dr. Kennethh J. Pienta who has explained in avery effective manner. I have learnt rather revised my knowledge in Prostate cance and its management in details.

por Jeannie R

Dec 26, 2019

This is a comprehensive course that covers risk factors, diagnosis, treatment, and management of prostate cancer. It covers advanced treatments for Metastatic cancer as well.

por 曾梓瑋

Nov 25, 2019

very helpful and informative course. It helps me to have a general concept of prostate cancer and thus this will help me a lot in my future cancer studying and researching.

por ِِAli M

Nov 08, 2017

Great Work, I recommend it for anyone who is non-physician that will study or research on the prostate cancer. it is simplifying many clinical facts about prostate cancer.

por GIORGIA R

Aug 03, 2020

Complete and well organized course. In just three weeks it develops various topics related to prostate cancer in a clear and simple way. I consider myself satisfied.