Chevron Left
Voltar para Foundations of Project Management

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Foundations of Project Management da instituição Google

4.9
estrelas
35,494 classificações
7,204 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course is the first in a series of six to equip you with the skills you need to apply to introductory-level roles in project management. Project managers play a key role in leading, planning and implementing critical projects to help their organizations succeed. In this course, you’ll discover foundational project management terminology and gain a deeper understanding of the role and responsibilities of a project manager. We’ll also introduce you to the kinds of jobs you might pursue after completing this program. Throughout the program, you’ll learn from current Google project managers, who can provide you with a multi-dimensional educational experience that will help you build your skills for on-the-job application. Learners who complete this program should be equipped to apply for introductory-level jobs as project managers. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Define project management and describe what constitutes a project. - Explore project management roles and responsibilities across a variety of industries. - Detail the core skills that help a project manager be successful. - Describe the life cycle of a project and explain the significance of each phase. - Compare different program management methodologies and approaches and determine which is most effective for a given project. - Define organizational structure and culture and explain how it impacts project management. - Define change management and describe the role of the project manager in the process....

Melhores avaliações

MR

27 de nov de 2021

Learned a lot such as Agile, C-Suite, Change management, Corporate governance, Culture mapping, DMAIC, Kanban, Lean, Lean Six Sigma, Linear, Matrix structure, Reporting chart, Six Sigma etc. Thank you

SO

11 de abr de 2022

So much information was packaged in this course but it was so well organized and delivered that I was compelled to complete every segment. Well timed quizzes helped to ensure my comprehension as well.

Filtrar por:

6976 — 7000 de 7,739 Avaliações para o Foundations of Project Management

por Victoria H

20 de mai de 2022

O​verall it is a great course. It gave me a clear idea of what Project Management means, what are the core aspects of being a PM and how Project Managers fit in an Organization. The videos and texts persent essencial information in a clear way and I liked that we had some extra material to read.

W​hat didn't completly work for me was the Forum and the optional actitivies we should place there. It is a good idea that we should write some concepts, expectations, make some research, because it of course adds up to what we are learning but it felt like nobody is really reading or paying attention to the forums so that felt like a waste of time at some point. I've never done a course 100% online and I am really happy with this one, I will definitly recommend it.

por Marina O

4 de jan de 2022

This course contains fundamental ideas in project management. The ideas would sound very basic to experienced managers. But they are really useful to beginners and less experienced managers who have no prior education in this field. The material is explained in a very thourough way and in a good, interesting language (to me as a non-native speaker the vocabulary was really useful, I was writing down new vocabulary - good for improving the level of my English).

The small quizzes withing the lessons were too easy. Some questions did not require any knowlenge, just common sence. The final tests were more interesting, but still I would want more difficult tests.

por Tanya T

16 de jun de 2022

Overall, I loved this course. In some cases it was a good review of information I already knew. It put names to things that I was aware of in practice, but didn't know they had a formal names. It introduced new information and perspectives that I wasn't aware of or hadn't thought of. I wasn't a fan of the community engagement component, but that is purely a personal preference, I am aware of the huge value that it can provide (I'm glad it was optional). I would have liked to see it dig more into influencing without authority, and how to manage teams that you don't have the luxury of selecting yourself.

por Shirley P

12 de abr de 2022

Good, detailed overview with relevant content that can be applied in all industries. I appreciated being able to review content for assignments and for the varied templates. It would be great if this course could develop into modules that are geared toward more specific industries, such as software development or E-learning development. That way, the examples and assignments are directly applicable and one could even build their portfolio examples for the industry they work in, or want to work in. Overall a great value course. Thank you.

por Noorah C

1 de dez de 2021

I absolutely enjoyed this course and everything it had to offer. Project management has such a vast application that i think everybody should atleast do this foundation course. Google has a unique way of making you learn and i enjoyed every bit of it. I would give 5 stars to the team.

However to be honest the vertificate looks a little dodgy and childish. You invest so many hours of your time, i wish Coursera would make a more presentable certificate in the future. Something you could prodbly display at an interview.

por Tracy F

30 de ago de 2021

Loved the course design and information, though some of it is commonsense. Wish there was an easier way to see if classmates have responded. Posts got buried quickly and I didn't see a way to quickly go back to them without scrolling through. The only other complaint isn't as much about the course as the "scholarship program." Project Management is a six-part course, and the scholarship apparently only covers one part, so the rest of it is something you have to pay for.

por Melissa M

17 de jan de 2022

Great information! If you are new to project management, this is a great beginner course for you. The videos are informative and the course has a great amount of resources listed outside of the certificate that you can refer to as well. My only complaint is that I wish there were more case studies and interactive study modules. I am more of a visual and hands on learner. Seeing these topics being used in the real world and the interactive exercises helps a lot.

por Jabari B

17 de abr de 2022

I appreaciated the thoroughness and polished style of this presented course, from the excercises to the forums to deadline reminders to personal accounts given by actual Google employees. Speaking of personal accounts, what I would have liked to have seen in at least ONE of the videos from the employees was an account of a failed project and what was learned from it. And not necessarily a project at Google itself, but somewhere in their previous work history.

por Kathleen K

26 de mai de 2021

The variety of information via video lectures, readings, and personal testimonials was enlightening and encouraging. I could see the course was trying to appeal to all kinds of audience members to encourage a safe learning space, especially for those who may be older and completely new to project management. Course lives up to its name. It is foundational, borderline basic. Would have loved more depth of information even in this introductory course.

por PW L

12 de nov de 2021

This course is normally about some concept and structure of project management, for the basic knowladge, not too hard to leran. otherwise, I like the example illustration during the course, which is easy for me to immurse myself into the sanario and learn it quickly. The arrangement of the course schadule is loose and I can finish in one week, so excited about that! hopefully I can keep learning about project management in the future days.

por Laura L

19 de nov de 2021

The organization of the course, videos, and variety of materials was superb. The reason I gave it 4 stars is because there was a little too much redundancy in places and the quiz questions were good, not great. The questions were low level depth of knowledge. Although I like the idea of the discussion area forcing me to put my thoughts down in writing, I couldn't figure out how to see if someone replied to any of my comments.

por Diaa A

18 de fev de 2022

The course has a lot of good content but is let down by its graded quizzes. The lectures, readings, and experiences from project managers are very good. I would've liked if there were case studies. The graded quizzes weren't challenging and didn't require much thought which was disappointing. I would've preferred something more applied or detailed case with graded options on what to do on this case from initiation to delivery.

por Susanna S

13 de out de 2021

I found this course very helpful in getting an overview of project management, it's purpose, methodologies and value within organizations. The video content and learning materials were very good. It would have been great to have been offered the option to download the learning materials as a PDF to keep. I look forward to completing the other 5 modules of the course and am keen to obtain my first role in project management.

por Tina C

28 de fev de 2022

Positives, I am learning so much about project management. This gives me a new appreciation to all the project managers in the work force or who has retired. A​s much as I like the course, I think a lot of the information given is redundant and can be given in a more straightforward format. The videos are a nice touch however, would like the option to skip over them if I read the content of the video.

por Annalee J

20 de ago de 2021

This was a great tool for someone with absolutely no experience in PM. It was brought to my attention as a way to add authority as a Google Partner with our Agency - in that regard 90% of the course was redundant information for me. I anticipate the following course to be more beneficial in helping to stay abreast of best practices across industries and perhaps different means of engaging with a team.

por Matteo B

24 de abr de 2021

I didn't expect to learn so much from the first course and find it so interesting. Many notions learned were similar to the knowledge I already had, but I was able to further expand the information regarding the world of the Project Manager. I was amazed by the types of business organization and all the technical thermiology of the course..There really is a world behind any job and this is super cool!

por SALAH M E

25 de jul de 2021

Je tiens vraiment à saluer toute l'équipe qui a participer à la réussite de cette formation en fournissant des efforts considérables.

Je vous pris d'enrichir cette formation encore plus par d'autres cas pratique (un Mini Projet Virtuel) dans lesquels les notions apprises durant les cours seront appliqués d'une manière mesurable (Tableaux, Représentations graphiques, ...etc).

Bonne Continuation.

por Charli W

30 de mar de 2021

A good introduction to program management. A little slower paced than I expected but in truth all the deadlines and times are median suggestions so you can move at your own pace. I enjoyed the course I just wonder if as I progress throughout this course won't match the intensity or nature of the program overall, which could lead to a false sense of capability for some enrolling in the program.

por Guru S

27 de mai de 2021

This has been a great introductory section for someone who already works and knows a bit of Project Management. I really like the instructors and how succinctly they communicate. Can we please have the sections where we users are supposed to read a bit be presented in various eLearning modes? We could have used infographics, interactives, or animated videos to present the same information!

por Simon K

15 de set de 2021

Solid introduction into the world of project management. Covers a range of ideas - human and technical skills, the challenges PMs might face, change management and organisational structure. It's pretty basic in some parts (anyone that has worked in any role for a company of any size will be already be familiar with some elements) but amongst the basic bits are some genuinely useful ideas.

por Nicolas P

28 de mar de 2022

A​lmost everything about this course was great. It 's a top notch introduction to basic concepts within project management, and lays a solid foundation for those interested in pursuing a career in the field. My only issue would be the readings; for paying subscribers, it would be nice to have the option of downloading ALL reading and supplemental materials for outside reading/reference.

por Soundarya.M

28 de mai de 2022

Consider the different steps of the Waterfall and Agile project management approaches and consider the benefits of each one. Then, reflect on a project that you recently completed. Write 5-10 sentences on which approach you would use if you were starting it from scratch, and why.

Then, visit the discussion forums to learn from your peers' experiences, and reply to at least two posts.

por Jacqueline L

10 de jan de 2022

I liked the Foundations of Project Management Course. I spent four weeks taking this course and believed I would get a certificate on completion, but there is no indication at the end of how one gets the certificate. A little misleading. The course was good, I did have to write a lot of notes to remember the info for the quiz. Videos are clear and short, and also very fast.

por Erika S

15 de abr de 2021

I truly enjoyed this course. I was a little nervous in the beginning not sure if online courses was for me, but the way the videos and reading materials are set up, the learning process was very easy. I can go back and watch a video again, I can take notes, I wish there was a highlighting feature, I love to highlight my notes, and for that reason only I gave 4 stars.

por Stephanie R

15 de ago de 2021

T​his course gave me a better understanding of the role for project management. I do a similar role at my current job but it was not titled project management. It gave me a better grasp on the lingo and differences on my current position vs project management and where they overlap. I would recommend it to anyone needing to bridge the gap to start that career jump.