Chevron Left
Voltar para Programming Languages, Part C

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Programming Languages, Part C da instituição Universidade de Washington

4.9
291 classificações
59 avaliações

Sobre o curso

[As described below, this is Part C of a 3-part course. Participants should complete Parts A and B first -- Part C "dives right in" and refers often to material from Part A and Part B.] This course is an introduction to the basic concepts of programming languages, with a strong emphasis on functional programming. The course uses the languages ML, Racket, and Ruby as vehicles for teaching the concepts, but the real intent is to teach enough about how any language “fits together” to make you more effective programming in any language -- and in learning new ones. This course is neither particularly theoretical nor just about programming specifics -- it will give you a framework for understanding how to use language constructs effectively and how to design correct and elegant programs. By using different languages, you will learn to think more deeply than in terms of the particular syntax of one language. The emphasis on functional programming is essential for learning how to write robust, reusable, composable, and elegant programs. Indeed, many of the most important ideas in modern languages have their roots in functional programming. Get ready to learn a fresh and beautiful way to look at software and how to have fun building it. The course assumes some prior experience with programming, as described in more detail in the first module of Part A. Part B assumes successful completion of Part A. The course is divided into three Coursera courses: Part A, Part B, and Part C. As explained in more detail in the first module of Part A, the overall course is a substantial amount of challenging material, so the three-part format provides two intermediate milestones and opportunities for a pause before continuing. The three parts are designed to be completed in order and set up to motivate you to continue through to the end of Part C. Week 1 of Part A has a more detailed list of topics for all three parts of the course, but it is expected that most course participants will not (yet!) know what all these topics mean....

Melhores avaliações

SS

Jan 08, 2019

Great course, nicely rounded off the discussions from previous parts. Really puts OOP style programming in context and nicely contrasts it from the functional programming concepts. Highly recommended!

JH

Dec 27, 2016

I took this course about 10 years off the college, and it was excellent refresher on the topics I don't use on a daily basis. Absolutely great lecturer, great videos and study materials!

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Programming Languages, Part C

por Wang Y

Aug 01, 2017

The best course on coursera!

por Xiang-Yu G

Jul 27, 2017

Clear and refreshing. Especially the part comparing OOP with FP. They way to compare subtyping and generics is also novel. I have been writing OOP and FP programs for years but haven't look at them from such a point of view.

por Hector L

Aug 13, 2017

concise comparison between FP and OOP

por Alejandro M

Dec 18, 2016

Excellent!

por dynasty919

Mar 03, 2018

that last assignment is pretty neat.

por Jan H

Dec 27, 2016

I took this course about 10 years off the college, and it was excellent refresher on the topics I don't use on a daily basis. Absolutely great lecturer, great videos and study materials!

por Jing Y

Jan 13, 2018

Interesting course, covers many interesting topics. Homework is a must-do but not hard.

por Shaohao Z

Jan 19, 2017

It really took quite a lot effort to accomplish the course and I'm sure that I am having a much clearer mind towards different programming language, which is impossible without this course.

So thank you for bringing us this wonderful course, Dan!

por Wentao Y

Jul 31, 2017

Very good and helpful!

No wasting time, efficient for busy learners.

por Hou Y D

Feb 12, 2018

Great course. I want to learn another courses right now.

por anton k

Mar 11, 2018

Very challenging and rewarding course. Dan is a perfect teacher!

por Guilherme B

Oct 24, 2016

Best course of my life!

por 郑

Jan 10, 2018

very good course!

por Abhik K

Oct 18, 2016

Perhaps the best course i have completed on Coursera. I aboslutely love Dan Grossman's teaching approach. I can only applaud the care and effort that has gone into designing this. I would eagerly join any course that Dan teaches in future

por Noah P

Jan 26, 2017

Interesting class and well taught. Part B was particularly fun.

por Suvrat A

Oct 22, 2016

This part concludes the Programming Languages series by Dan Grossman! All the 3 parts are amazing. I have learnt a lot in each part. I think now I can look at a problem and then choose a programming languages with some good reasoning behind the choice I make.THANK YOU COURSERA! THANK YOU DAN! :)

por Johnathan F

Jan 14, 2018

Courses I've taken on programming languages often focus on one language. You learn the different concepts for that one language but don't understand why the language chose those concepts and what the alternatives are. By covering three languages, this course integrates the concepts and their alternatives to give you a solid understanding of how languages work.

por Rongge Y

Jan 27, 2018

Very passionate instructor and very rich and well-organized content. Great to learn and reflect on some novel concepts like double dispatch and sub typing; it's really enlightening. Great course experience. Thank you Dan!

por UmbraSeven

Sep 29, 2017

Great!

por Brunno d S L

Oct 22, 2016

This course is awesome, I think all developer should take a look at this!

por Yifeng M

Jul 18, 2017

The course series covered a broad range of knowledge. And the material are presented with great details.

por liuyaqiu

Oct 22, 2016

This Course if difficult but is very valuable.

por Wei J

Jan 19, 2017

Really helpful for understanding a lot of programming concept. Very wonderful experience. Thanks to Dan and Coursera!

por jani k

Mar 28, 2018

exellent

por Thassilo H

Nov 01, 2017

Part C ends the story, and if you liked Part A and Part B, there is no reason to not complete your journey with this course. It has the same great teaching style but now talks about OOP and contrasts it with functional programming. The three parts together form a wonderfull learning experience back from the early times where enthusiastic profs recorded lectures themselfes to spread the world about there subject.