Chevron Left
Voltar para Programming Languages, Part B

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Programming Languages, Part B da instituição Universidade de Washington

4.9
estrelas
689 classificações
156 avaliações

Sobre o curso

[As described below, this is Part B of a 3-part course. Participants should complete Part A first -- Part B "dives right in" and refers often to material from Part A.] This course is an introduction to the basic concepts of programming languages, with a strong emphasis on functional programming. The course uses the languages ML, Racket, and Ruby as vehicles for teaching the concepts, but the real intent is to teach enough about how any language “fits together” to make you more effective programming in any language -- and in learning new ones. This course is neither particularly theoretical nor just about programming specifics -- it will give you a framework for understanding how to use language constructs effectively and how to design correct and elegant programs. By using different languages, you will learn to think more deeply than in terms of the particular syntax of one language. The emphasis on functional programming is essential for learning how to write robust, reusable, composable, and elegant programs. Indeed, many of the most important ideas in modern languages have their roots in functional programming. Get ready to learn a fresh and beautiful way to look at software and how to have fun building it. The course assumes some prior experience with programming, as described in more detail in the first module of Part A. Part B assumes successful completion of Part A. The course is divided into three Coursera courses: Part A, Part B, and Part C. As explained in more detail in the first module of Part A, the overall course is a substantial amount of challenging material, so the three-part format provides two intermediate milestones and opportunities for a pause before continuing. The three parts are designed to be completed in order and set up to motivate you to continue through to the end of Part C. Week 1 of Part A has a more detailed list of topics for all three parts of the course, but it is expected that most course participants will not (yet!) know what all these topics mean....

Melhores avaliações

AZ

23 de mar de 2018

Great course with really interesting and challenging assignments that allow to get more precise vision on programming languages (especially on PL's typing systems) and get experience with modern LISP

VA

18 de mar de 2018

This course (as Part A and C) is great - Dan is great in teaching and the content is perfect for anyone who wants to learn more about programming languages!

Warning - you might end up loving FP :)

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 155 Avaliações para o Programming Languages, Part B

por Peter D

16 de jan de 2020

Very good course. It helps contrast dynamically typed language such as Racket and a statically typed language such as ML to help me better understand the tradeoffs in language designing. In this sense, it makes me a better programmer in other languages.

por Luiz C

4 de jul de 2018

Fantastic course, a must for anyone serious or interested about programming. Challenging, but time really well spent: Course very well organized, quality videos by a very engaging professor, and very interesting with gradual complexity exercises

por Juliano P

28 de jun de 2020

Great! A complement to Part A and it really uses things we've learned in Part A with the Standard ML language and does lots of comparisons, so you should probably take Part A if you have never used SML. Learned a lot with this course. Thanks!

por John S

14 de set de 2016

An absolutely high quality class. The instruction is superb, the assignment is on par with top programs at Stanford, MIT, and CMU. Dr. Grossman's lecture is just so clear and energetic that makes learning this hard topic fun.

por Lorenzo B

2 de jul de 2020

I didn't terribly care about racket because of some previous common lisp/scheme experience; I wish the static/dynamic typing comparison had more space, but that's just because to ME that was the most interesting part.

por Vaidas A

19 de mar de 2018

This course (as Part A and C) is great - Dan is great in teaching and the content is perfect for anyone who wants to learn more about programming languages!

Warning - you might end up loving FP :)

por Jan H

27 de dez de 2016

I took this course about 10 years off the college, and it was excellent refresher on the topics I don't use on a daily basis. Absolutely great lecturer, great videos and study materials!

por Jiangnan T

2 de dez de 2021

T​hanks for this wonderful course. What I learned through this course really made me a much more efficient programmer, and it helped me to grasp new programming language a lot faster.

por Yuji S

25 de set de 2016

Great course! Learned more about PL, what is interpreter/ compiler language, what is statically typed/ dynamically typed. The homework is very rewarding! Looking forward to Part C.

por David H

28 de set de 2021

F​antastic course on functional programming, programming languages, and type theory. Highly recommended. Dan is an amazing teacher and the course structure and pace is excellent.

por Sam S

1 de abr de 2020

A strong follow-up to Part A. The second week's homework assignment is quite difficult, but very rewarding. This course has greatly helped shape my views on programming.

por Jose J

16 de ago de 2020

Excelent course.! Wished contained more material. Also I think changing the editor from Emacs to Dr Racket was not really necessary... all in all excellent course!

por Jacob K

5 de jul de 2018

Just as good as the first segment of the course. Learned a lot of good material about dynamically vs statically typed languages and how languages are interpreted.

por Pedro d S Q

12 de ago de 2020

Very enjoyable course, follow-up to Part A. Building an interpreter really solidifies what we saw, a really nice exercise. I'll definitely move on to part C!

por Gabriel A S

17 de jul de 2020

I'll learn many things in this course with the enthusiasm and hard work of a very knowledgeable professor on the field. Great course 10/10 would do it again.

por Kevin X

17 de dez de 2016

This series is really the course you need to take if you feel not comfortable and want to know why(or describe the feelings) when you code in school or work.

por Paramjot S

18 de out de 2020

T

h

i

s

c

o

u

r

s

e

w

a

s

f

a

n

t

a

s

t

i

c

.

G

i

v

e

s a very good introduction to functional programming in dynamic language by focusing on the fundamentals. Highly recommended!!

por Yuchong P

1 de jun de 2017

The course is really fantastic! It leads me to the world of Racket programming and guides me to many concepts in programming language theory (PLT).

por Peter B

12 de mar de 2017

Suitable even for experienced programmers.

Excellent presentation of fundamental programming concepts.

Exercises are challenging but rewarding.

por Xiangyu G

27 de jul de 2017

The programming assignments are carefully designed such that without so much coding you can capture the essence of the idea. Highly recommend.

por Anran

7 de mar de 2020

It's challenging as much as it is rewarding, and the peer review is a very nice arrangement for people to see how others are doing things!

por Iris H

22 de nov de 2019

Great follow-up to Part A, really builds on the concepts introduced there and tackles some quite complex topics (writing an interpreter)!

por Yuxing C

10 de fev de 2021

Really good course, hope I can get content of this high quality in my own university. Programming language Theory is really beautiful.

por Orlando L

8 de out de 2021

This course presents a beautiful contrast between static and dynamic Type Systems. Week's 2 homework is challenging and rewarding.

por Maximilian P

10 de jan de 2021

If you really wanna get what programming languages are about, give this one a whirl! Great homework assignments and solid videos.