Chevron Left
Voltar para Princípios da Programação Funcional em Scala

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Princípios da Programação Funcional em Scala da instituição Escola Politécnica Federal de Lausana

4.8
estrelas
7,172 classificações
1,434 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Functional programming is becoming increasingly widespread in industry. This trend is driven by the adoption of Scala as the main programming language for many applications. Scala fuses functional and object-oriented programming in a practical package. It interoperates seamlessly with both Java and Javascript. Scala is the implementation language of many important frameworks, including Apache Spark, Kafka, and Akka. It provides the core infrastructure for sites such as Twitter, Tumblr and also Coursera. In this course you will discover the elements of the functional programming style and learn how to apply them usefully in your daily programming tasks. You will also develop a solid foundation for reasoning about functional programs, by touching upon proofs of invariants and the tracing of execution symbolically. The course is hands on; most units introduce short programs that serve as illustrations of important concepts and invite you to play with them, modifying and improving them. The course is complemented by a series programming projects as homework assignments. Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line....

Melhores avaliações

AJ

Sep 24, 2019

As expected Martin is awesome in explaining principle of functional programming. I have started reading the book as well to make sure I keep up with the knowledge which I have gained from this course.

VP

Sep 14, 2018

It took me much longer than expected to finish the course and sometimes it made me feel stupid and helpless. Diving into functional programming was a mind bending experience, totally worth time spent!

Filtrar por:

151 — 175 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Princípios da Programação Funcional em Scala

por futtetennista

Feb 13, 2017

I greatly enjoyed this course. I was already familiar with some FP principles but it was interesting to see scala's take on them. The weekly assignments were challenging and a lot of fun. I think I learned a great deal from this course and I'm looking forward to the specialisation courses.

por Pirooz C

Oct 10, 2016

The course provides a nice overview and introduction to functional programming and Scala. The weight of the material covered in this course is well defined for general programmers who want to learn functional programming and Scala. It will be a bit difficult with no programming background.

por Massimiliano D

Oct 31, 2018

High quality course. It accomplished to describe the basics as well as the most advanced features of the Scala languages, and how these features neatly and naturally mix together to allow the developer to write functional and elegant solutions to complicated tasks.

I highly recommend it.

por Mohan S

Mar 31, 2020

I had been knowing about functional programming since my college days. However, I had to unlearn them all and get the real feel of it in Martin's point of view. It is an excellent course !!

It is a great opportunity to learn the concepts from the professor Martin ! Thanks a lot :-)

por Jose A J C

Jan 05, 2020

This course is really good. The instructor explains very well all the concepts. This course has helped me not only to learn Scala but also to think in a different way of creating programs with the functional paradigm. I find some exercises difficult but they are useful for learning.

por Antonel P

May 08, 2017

I really liked this course, the way Mr. Martin Odersky structured and presented it. Some of the assignments were a bit difficult but in the end I am happy with the acquired level of scala and functional programming. Surely I will continue with the rest of the courses in this series.

por Miklós H

Mar 27, 2018

It was a bit difficult to switch from mutable data structures to immutable ones, and altogether I'm quite concerned with the performance tradeoff (which seems to be significant), but I like the brilliantly designed language syntax (even if it is extremely difficult to get used to).

por Jose M P R

Nov 14, 2019

This course is excellent. Martin Odersky is not only an expert in the matter (dah!, I know; he created the language!) but he is an outstanding teacher (that I didn't know until I started the course). He explains things so well, thoroughly but with simplicity. Extremely good stuff!

por Manoj S

Sep 21, 2016

Very good and interesting course certainly provides a good level of foundation for functional programming. The exercises are challenging and it did take me longer then 3 hour to complete the course work. Further I had to revisit the videos and get the additional reading materials.

por Michael N

Sep 08, 2016

Great Instructor and challenging problems. The exercises help to reinforce the ideas presented in the lessons and the weekly assignments force you to use the skills. I will say that the programming assignments seemed a bit harder than they needed to be to help reinforce the ideas.

por Michał O

Sep 11, 2016

Really well prepared material. If you think about starting development in Scala, I suggest to take a look at this one. Just make sure you have some basic knowledge related to Computer Science. Without any background in Computer Science it might be hard to follow all the lectures.

por Sandip G

Mar 26, 2019

Course is very helpful to get understand the Scala in functional programming way. I have seen the videos twice as well as read a lot about functional programming paradigm. Concepts are explained in detailed. Exercises are very well designed, are conceptual and challenging.

por Andrés G

May 06, 2018

It is very well organised and it goes pretty deep on such things that worth to understand well (how the collections work under the hood, for instance) and it also mentions covariance, which, for me, is very important and is also really helpful how it works compared to java.

por Saurav R

May 31, 2017

Assignments helped me understand the course topics well.

The description of problems in assignments are good.

Providing complete logs of the submitted assignments is helpful. Also, test cases suite for each assignment played an important role in solving/understanding problems

por Krishna A

Jun 12, 2017

A great introduction to functional programming fundamentals. The exercises are just at the right level to emphasize the course material and aid in assimilating the content. This course focuses on FP, and not on Scala, though it uses Scala for teaching the concepts of FP.

por Isaac S

Feb 13, 2017

This course is a great introduction to functional programming for beginners since it provides entertaining exercises where you can experiment many different approaches to the same problem. The explanations are easy to follow since they are shown using intuitive examples.

por Fredrik M

Mar 18, 2018

The lectures are good and it is easy to follow along. We learn exactly what is in title of the course: functional programming principles. I won't say I got very good at Scala with this course, but I certainly got more mindful about what functional programming is about.

por Eric P

Feb 27, 2017

This is a great course. I was new to Scala but had previous programming experience with functional programming but I could learn a lot. The lectures are very interesting, the examples are great and the assignments' level of difficulty are at an appropriate level.

por MAGDELENAT P

Jun 23, 2016

Excellent! Would just like to get Martin's solutions (not for the solution but for the explanations that lead to the solution) cause even though I passed it I am not sure that all my decisions were that good :-). Anyway a must have if you're into FP and/or Scala!

por Erick H

May 27, 2017

I really loved this course. It was very challenging but every assignment was rewarding. Assignments were set up well and easy to submit (right from the command line). Learning how to code the functional way has really changed my perspective on coding in general.

por Kristofor K D

Feb 19, 2017

Great course with a very in depth look at functional programming principles and specific Scala implementation details. It may have been a little maths heavy in the examples and assignments but the videos were interesting and concise and the instructions clear.

por Peppe G

Mar 25, 2018

Excellent course. Challenging and engaging. The course is a mix of programming, logic and maths. Professor Odersky is engaging while delivering very rigorous lectures. The programming assignments were challenging but very enjoyable.

Highly recommended.

por Dave C

Mar 11, 2017

There are other courses to help you learn Scala (LinkedIn is a great resource) as an enterprise language. I felt the real benefit here was on the focus on learning to approach problems with a functional programming mindset with scala just being a tool.

por Max S

Feb 03, 2020

While pretty specific to Scala it stays general enough to give valuable insights into functional programming in general. Additionally lots of specifics and reasoning about Scala and functional programming in particular is given that I found very good.

por Martin K

Feb 17, 2018

Very nice course to grasp the fundamental parts of functional programming. Also a very good introductory course for Scala that focuses on understanding the internal implementation of Scala's components such as Lists, etc. I definitely recommend it !