Chevron Left
Voltar para Princípios da Programação Funcional em Scala

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Princípios da Programação Funcional em Scala da instituição Escola Politécnica Federal de Lausana

4.8
estrelas
7,285 classificações
1,460 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Functional programming is becoming increasingly widespread in industry. This trend is driven by the adoption of Scala as the main programming language for many applications. Scala fuses functional and object-oriented programming in a practical package. It interoperates seamlessly with both Java and Javascript. Scala is the implementation language of many important frameworks, including Apache Spark, Kafka, and Akka. It provides the core infrastructure for sites such as Twitter, Tumblr and also Coursera. In this course you will discover the elements of the functional programming style and learn how to apply them usefully in your daily programming tasks. You will also develop a solid foundation for reasoning about functional programs, by touching upon proofs of invariants and the tracing of execution symbolically. The course is hands on; most units introduce short programs that serve as illustrations of important concepts and invite you to play with them, modifying and improving them. The course is complemented by a series programming projects as homework assignments. Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line....

Melhores avaliações

VP

Sep 14, 2018

It took me much longer than expected to finish the course and sometimes it made me feel stupid and helpless. Diving into functional programming was a mind bending experience, totally worth time spent!

RS

Oct 09, 2016

Really good explanation by the instructor. Good assignments. The assignments gave a good insights into functional programming. I loved the way the problems were decomposed into neat smaller functions.

Filtrar por:

1251 — 1275 de 1,398 Avaliações para o Princípios da Programação Funcional em Scala

por Kevin C

Jul 06, 2017

Good course but some exercises are not the best (especially week 4). Smaller exercises that directly test course material and having more frequent, spaced practice would have been better.

por Brad H

Oct 01, 2017

A very good introduction into FP, but there is much still to learn and explore. Same for Scala. The exercises were challenging but doable. Looking forward to doing more with Scala.

por Alessandro F

Nov 11, 2019

If the speaker was a bit more fluent in English, the course would be perfect. The transcritions should be reviewed too, but that's too much to ask for a course so complete!

por Patrick A C

Feb 12, 2018

The course was good generally, but the lectures didn't always cover material needed for homeworks. In particular, there wasn't enough lecture material about efficiency.

por Daniel F G O

Jul 08, 2019

It's a nice introductory course to functional programming. More than Scala is a functional programming course. It allows students to learn how to use immutable objects

por Mohamed A D

May 06, 2018

This course was a good introduction to functional programming. However, I am not giving all the stars because I think some of the assignments are slightly a bit hard.

por Jussi J

Nov 29, 2016

A good introduction by the creator of Scala himself. However I feel that this course is a condensed version of a longer course, so that is why I give 4/5 and not 5/5.

por Juan A A

Jan 02, 2018

The contents are great. Some assignments have the problem that all tests pass in the local machine that they don't work on the Coursera sever when they are submitted

por kieran s

Nov 14, 2017

Great course, but some exercises are very challenging for any beginners who wouldn't be motivated to push through. Still better than almost anything else out there!

por Nahum P

May 20, 2017

Gives you insight into different thinking in recursive way.

The major problem, that it doesn't allow people not used to recursive thinking to get into problems fast.

por Juha K

Nov 08, 2016

Great introduction to functional programming, and you'll get to learn the basics of Scala at the same time. Some of the assignments have a bit cryptic descriptions.

por felipe b h

Sep 03, 2019

Very good all in all. Seting up environment is a little bit difficult ans it makes beginning rather cumbersome, but then the clases and the material are excellent

por Jim

Jul 04, 2017

Last assignment is insanely hard! And I think one of the unit tests used during grading takes order into account where it shouldn't (subtract assessment - assess)

por aditya p

Jan 16, 2017

Good course for learning functional paradigm coupled with object oriented concept. Very well planned course. It is definitely a great learning opportunity.

Thanks

por Romain G

Jun 27, 2017

I learned a lot in this course. Lots of it I knew, but now I feel I understand the basics better. Very well worth the time and efforts to complete this course.

por Mauro K L

Oct 14, 2019

Excelente curso, aprendi muito sobre programação funcional. Quem não tem muito conhecimento sobre Java pode ter um pouco de dificuldades em algumas etapas.

por Juraj V

Sep 29, 2017

Good introduction to scala principles. However some assignements are little bit hard, more concentrated on algorithms than scala itself. But I recommend.

por Yacine G

Nov 08, 2018

Very interesting course, and a pretty challenging one. I particularly loved how the nitty-gritties of the Scala programming languge have been presented.

por Özgür A

Jun 24, 2017

Although the course lacks some details, I really appreciated it, especially the assignments emphasizing the coding format and testing. I learned a lot !

por Jessica C

May 07, 2017

I feel like I learned quite a bit about functional programming. I was always curious about Scala since my college days. I highly recommend this class.

por Juan J E

May 23, 2018

I would have liked to see examples applicable to situations closer to the business reality, despite that, I really liked it and I recommend the course.

por Aschwin W

Sep 20, 2016

High level course. Exercises are academic of nature. You might need more time to finish the exercises. I appreciate that this is a well formed course.

por Dani G

Oct 21, 2016

Great Course to be familiar with the functional programming principles. Missing a little bit more solved examples and some more fundamental materail

por Jose C C F

May 17, 2020

It could have some more tests for the code in the assignments, otherwise its kind of difficult to test your own code. At least one test per method

por Dung V

Oct 14, 2016

I like this course. It can help me about practise programing scala easily. In here, I can learn scala programming quickly with support everyone.