Chevron Left
Voltar para Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p?

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p? da instituição Universidade de Londres

4.6
estrelas
1,340 classificações
448 avaliações

Sobre o curso

We live in an uncertain and complex world, yet we continually have to make decisions in the present with uncertain future outcomes. Indeed, we should be on the look-out for "black swans" - low-probability high-impact events. To study, or not to study? To invest, or not to invest? To marry, or not to marry? While uncertainty makes decision-making difficult, it does at least make life exciting! If the entire future was known in advance, there would never be an element of surprise. Whether a good future or a bad future, it would be a known future. In this course we consider many useful tools to deal with uncertainty and help us to make informed (and hence better) decisions - essential skills for a lifetime of good decision-making. Key topics include quantifying uncertainty with probability, descriptive statistics, point and interval estimation of means and proportions, the basics of hypothesis testing, and a selection of multivariate applications of key terms and concepts seen throughout the course....

Melhores avaliações

TS

30 de abr de 2020

I would like to thank Dr. James Abdey for his wonderful explanation of probability and statistics in a short time. I definitely learnt many things which I can make use in my further courses. Thank you

NS

22 de abr de 2021

James Abdey is an excellent lecturer. He explains clearly while using a lot of examples from real life applications. I am considering to read his PhD thesis (even though I don't have insomnia :-))

Filtrar por:

426 — 447 de 447 Avaliações para o Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p?

por Sarah L

22 de mai de 2021

It was ok. It was an introductory statistics course. I thought it was going to be more probability-based. The formatting was all over the place in the quizzes and the lectures weren't very engaging - I know this is hard for a statistics class, but I've seen it done. I was kind of let down from this course to be honest, but it did give a nice overview for people unfamiliar with the topic.

por Aun A

22 de mai de 2020

In an introductory statistics course, there was no need of discussing the Monty Hall Problem, Decision Tree Analysis, Monte Carlo Simulation etc. Time saved by foregoing these could have been utilised for incorporating some mathematical rigour. Without math anyone's undertanding of statistics and its usability will always be restricted.

The PDF notes were a good thig to use in a MOOC.

por VIJAY N

27 de mar de 2020

The subject was interesting and he did brought new topics which i liked but it was a bit draggy at times which made me to loose attention. Overall i liked it - especially the Monty Hall problem formulation and Bayesian update. The topic on p-value is still muddy for me.

por Farhodbek S

3 de dez de 2021

I found this course a little bit boring. Sorry for such feedback. It took me a lot of time to complete. Maybe statistics is boring, maybe tutor, maybe I am dummy in probability and statistics. I do not know!

por yogita k

6 de jun de 2020

last week's content was too short. It will be great if one more week is added to the course where the students can learn more about decision trees, linear modeling, and regression.

por Irem K

23 de mai de 2020

The Professor can't get to the point easily and he's clicking his tongue all the time, it's unbearable for people with misophonia.

por Daniel D

9 de mai de 2019

Nice overall introduction to statistics, but suffers from bad grading mecanism when perofrming peer graded assignments.

por Rahul V S

7 de abr de 2022

Assignments are too simple and are not in the proper readable format. Videos lack animation and are mostly wordy.

por Yogendra C

19 de mai de 2020

the course is good but the first two week are boring and there I have lose my interest in this course

por Deepa N

28 de set de 2020

Not as much hands on as I hoped

por PARDESHI R H

11 de mai de 2020

Easy to teach Probability

por Naing​Lin​ H

2 de jun de 2020

I achieve new knowledge.

por Chryso H

7 de mai de 2020

It's good to have an intro to statistics course but the tutor makes the course difficult to stick to. I'm talking about his teaching style which is slow and painful. Following suggestions from other reviews increased the speed of the video so I can bear listen to him. He needs to drop the unnecessary jokes and focus on the teaching delivery. He also needs to include more visual aids as he talks. This is not abstract module about theorising. It is important to have the slides along what he's saying. Also, some of the material in his long lectures are not covered but then included in the reading. For an intro course this should be corrected. He needs to introduce all important concepts that will appear in the quiz. In his lectures he goes on and on and on and the substance of each lecture is like only 1/5 of the actual length of the lecture. Finally, there's a script issue with the formulae in the quizzes. You end up relying on other learners to find out what the problem is. The tutor needs to be responsible for this.

por Steven S

26 de abr de 2021

The lectures and lecture notes are pretty good, but they lack pretty much any derivations. The weekly homework is trivial - just look through your notes and find the correct definition which was asked for, it's multiple choice. You don't have to do any calculations. That last sentence is literally correct. There are two peer graded assignments where you have to do some simple calculations, but they are very simple. I can't overemphasize how simple they are.

If you haven't take a real class in stats then you will see a lot of cool things and learn next to nothing. If you have taken a class in stats then this is an easy trip down memory lane.

In order to learn math you have to do math. There are no good homework problems.

por Stacey J

25 de mai de 2020

This is my third Coursera course and the first which I did not enjoy. Many issues with being able to read the formulae in the quizzes and assignments. These were displayed bizarely and not the same as the video lectures nor the course notes. This is difficult information for many people to understand so consistency is key. In addition, I have not seen one response from a moderator (other courses had moderators responding to questions). In any type of math, stats courses it is imperative to have moderators helping students to ensure misinformation is not learned from student to student learning.

por Justin F

9 de abr de 2021

The selection of topics covered is great, the lectures pretty good and the difficulty level reasonable, but the execution is incredibly shoddy/sloppy. Typo-filled lecture transcripts, unreadable quiz questions (because mathematical symbols didn't render properly), and unclear assignment instructions. One gets the impression that they put the course up online a while back and then pretty much forgot about it

por Hatem E

23 de jul de 2022

The course covers a lot of topics in a superficial way.

I think the course should give more:

1- Practical examples.

2- Mathematical details

Even if for less topics.

por Ralph ( A

14 de jun de 2021

In week 3, the quiz is improperly formatted. A bunch of us students have commented on this in the discussion boards with no resolution.

por phantasma669

12 de mai de 2022

Very formalistic with not much explanations about the formulas. It get too complicated very fast.

por grace e o

30 de abr de 2020

much lower level than expected. nice course for people who've not done alevel stats.

por Espen S

20 de abr de 2021

unspecific and uninteresting