Chevron Left
Voltar para Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p?

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p? da instituição Universidade de Londres

4.4
125 classificações
34 avaliações

Sobre o curso

We live in an uncertain and complex world, yet we continually have to make decisions in the present with uncertain future outcomes. Indeed, we should be on the look-out for "black swans" - low-probability high-impact events. To study, or not to study? To invest, or not to invest? To marry, or not to marry? While uncertainty makes decision-making difficult, it does at least make life exciting! If the entire future was known in advance, there would never be an element of surprise. Whether a good future or a bad future, it would be a known future. In this course we consider many useful tools to deal with uncertainty and help us to make informed (and hence better) decisions - essential skills for a lifetime of good decision-making. Key topics include quantifying uncertainty with probability, descriptive statistics, point and interval estimation of means and proportions, the basics of hypothesis testing, and a selection of multivariate applications of key terms and concepts seen throughout the course....

Melhores avaliações

AS

Nov 28, 2018

Hi,\n\nThe course taught about the basics and that's exactly what I was looking for. I learnt a lot, and so many things which I hear and read, became clearer and more meaningful. Thanks you!

FT

Sep 16, 2018

Best course on the concepts of Probability and statistics , for the beginners. Dr.James Abdey provides lot of examples from the everyday life .

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p?

por Thomas J H

Nov 14, 2018

Yes, the scoring system for peer-reviewed work needs work -- poorly formatted and unnecessarily confusing. That said, I would welcome more courses by Dr James Abdey. As an introduction and overview/review, this particular course is excellent. NOT superficial, as one reviewer commented. If fact, if you download the PDFs which accompany each major video, you will that you can very quickly progress to the deeper end of the pool: much quality information. I would love to see an option for R, and not just Excel. But I can highly recommend this course (do suggest the assessment be tweaked), and hope again that Dr James Abdey will offer more.

por Brett C

Feb 14, 2019

The setup of peer reviewed assignments was a very poor experience due to lack of explanation and incorrect grading rubrics. Reviewers were presented with a single radio-button list, when they should have been presented with a series of check-boxes.

por Paolo T

Nov 14, 2018

The only reason to vote 4 instead 5 stars stay in the fact that there are not official moderator to fix the quiz bugs. For all the rest, 5 stars! At all! I loved it!

por Tanmoy C

Mar 04, 2019

This is a fantastic course to refresh probability and statistics. The only reason i have provided four star is due to a bug in the week 5 assignment where the grading does not provide multiple selections. Additionally there is no support for course stuff if you have question. You are really on your own. I would still encourage to take this one.

por Abhishek S

Nov 28, 2018

Hi,

The course taught about the basics and that's exactly what I was looking for. I learnt a lot, and so many things which I hear and read, became clearer and more meaningful. Thanks you!

por ruixi z

Dec 18, 2018

Great

por Chia K X

Mar 19, 2019

Lecturer is patient and always tries to explain difficult concepts clearly.

por yue

Dec 05, 2018

Very good introduction and overview, gives clear picture of probability and statistics.

por fozan t

Sep 16, 2018

Best course on the concepts of Probability and statistics , for the beginners. Dr.James Abdey provides lot of examples from the everyday life .

por Georgios P

Sep 03, 2018

Very good primer!

por Yves G

Sep 03, 2018

T

h

i

s

i

s

a

v

e

r

y

intersting

c

o

u

r

s

e

,

v

e

r

y

w

e

l

l

t

a

u

g

h

t

a

n

d

g

i

v

i

n

g

y

ou

t

he

w

i

l

l

t

o

study

f

u

t

h

e

r

i

n

that

f

i

e

l

d

.

por Ravikumar S

Nov 02, 2018

it was a nice learning experience, with a very step-by-step approach

por Leonardo B

Nov 21, 2018

It's a great course.

por Ivan

May 25, 2019

Really well done!

It starts slow, explaining everything clearly. If you want to add material to a specific lesson, you can easly do it following what the teacher already explained.

por José L

Jun 06, 2019

Easy to follow to your own time

por Geeti P M

Jul 19, 2019

It was a great experience learning from Sir Abdey!

por Guomin R

Jul 27, 2019

Dr James Abdey is a fantastic teacher. He delivered the knowledge with plain languages and vivid examples. Very helpful!

por Duvvuri Y S P

Aug 02, 2019

This course gives brief idea about different probabilistic methods used and their purpose in the real world. It's a very basic course where anyone can take and have a detailed knowledge on probability & Statistics.

por Jordi a

Nov 26, 2018

Basic introduction to the world of statistics, well structured and supplied with reading materials. Quite elementary, I'd say at most it's a HS/pre-college level overview of different fields and concepts. The lecturer conveys a strong appreciation for the subject. Recommended for those who want a first approximation to the subject.

por david w

Mar 19, 2019

The course material was top notch I learned a lot. It was an excellent crash course, and beautifully explained. I took off a star because the failure of the grading system in Assignment #2 / Week 5 cost me a lot of time, and likely affected many of my peers as well. That type of technical glitch is unacceptable in MOOC, particularly because there doesn't seem to be anyone around to support the students. Thanks for resolving it, though, whoever you are!

por Weichi C

Jan 31, 2019

The concept is well presented with the assumption that further research and dedication needed is required to get to next level.

por Mayur P K

Sep 10, 2018

Great Course.

por Guillermo K

Oct 18, 2018

Great overview, it could have used more practice problems and tougher questions

por Eyob

Nov 06, 2018

funny charming and full of numbers

por Grigory S

Nov 08, 2018

The first course I've paid for to get a certificate.

For me it's VERY hard to understand any theoretical math-related concept from video-lectures. I need to read paper for it and there are paper for every video in this course.

I am very thankful about it but the main purpose of video is missed: VISUALISATION very important in teaching math concepts especially such practival one as statistics. I wish there'd be more videos with lovely visialusation of sample data and it's statisitcs to get students a general feeling of what all this 'boring' calculations looks like.

I also understand that one course is not enough to have good knowlegde of statistics and read books while completing this.