Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Probability and Data

Introduction to Probability and Data, Universidade Duke

4.7
2,744 classificações
618 avaliações

Informações sobre o curso

This course introduces you to sampling and exploring data, as well as basic probability theory and Bayes' rule. You will examine various types of sampling methods, and discuss how such methods can impact the scope of inference. A variety of exploratory data analysis techniques will be covered, including numeric summary statistics and basic data visualization. You will be guided through installing and using R and RStudio (free statistical software), and will use this software for lab exercises and a final project. The concepts and techniques in this course will serve as building blocks for the inference and modeling courses in the Specialization....

Melhores avaliações

por AA

Jan 24, 2018

This course literally taught me a lot, the concepts were beautifully explained but the way it was delivered and overall exercises and the difficulty of problems made it more challenging and enjoying.

por HD

Mar 31, 2018

The tutor makes it really simple. The given examples really helped to understand the concepts and apply it to a wide range of problems. Thank you for this. Wish I could complete the assignments too.

Filtrar por:

596 avaliações

por Susan Mazzola

Feb 20, 2019

It's so so bad. Idk if this is old or what.

Unfortunately my answer here got deleted I took forever writing. So I will just be frank.

God it sucked so bad

Even my bf who is an economist who uses R regularly had to take a half hour of googling just to set up R for the quiz to be usable. Before he came over I was just having a horrible time full of crying and remembering the trauma of computers eating my homework as a kid. Worst class experience of my life. And you call it a beginner course? With that little guidance? Seriously there is so so little about setting up R. I still feel so angry my time and energy was wasted like that. And I was so excited for this course- I'd been gearing up for weeks and was very very committed to finishing.

Steer clear of this course. Btw my friends tell my that R is so old and rarely used anyway so it is dumb to prioritize it over Python or even modeling in Excel

Zero stars

por Felipe Galvão Puccioni

Feb 16, 2019

Até o momento o curso está muito bom!

por Cheryl Lee Xueling

Feb 15, 2019

Be sure you want to learn R before you embark on this course. As a beginner, it was a challenge, but after a few rounds of revisiting the content, it all started to make sense. I would recommend you do the exercises on R Studio. I did mine on Datacamp and had to refamiliarise myself with the RStudio platform for the final assignment, which was slightly painful as more things had to be set up (and time may not be on your side by then). You can use the commands learnt in the course for the final assessment but many classmates seemed to go above and beyond. Online resources are truly indispensable and I'm amazed that I can make decent educated guesses as to what certain lines of code do, in order to improve the chart!

por Mikkel Roald-Arbøl

Feb 13, 2019

Offers a good introduction to probability as promised. Great material, you can really tell that the teachers have made an effort making the content presentable.

The only thing I did miss however, was a lecture introducing coding in R especially since that is what makes up most of the time in doing the peer-reviewed assignment. Nothing fancy, just a single lecture introducing the logic behind the dplyr and ggplot2 packages would have been ever so helpful and could have been covered in less than 30 minutes.

Thanks for a good course!

por James Parkinson

Feb 12, 2019

really good course, learned a lot about statistics and the R coding part is really well done.

por Yaya BALLAYIRA

Feb 10, 2019

Good job

por VAIBHAV SURANA

Feb 10, 2019

Very well explained with great examples and so simple to understand

Thank You So much for putting this together !!

por Aleix Dorca

Feb 04, 2019

Great videos with lots of helpful and down to earth examples. Recommended!

por Alfredo José Neto

Jan 29, 2019

The course is excellent. The only drawback it is the peer review assignments. After you finish your assignment you need search for peers to review your and ask at least three people to do this for you.

por Andrea Pagani

Jan 28, 2019

Very nice and well explained material. Suggested!