Chevron Left
Voltar para Probabilistic Graphical Models 2: Inference

Probabilistic Graphical Models 2: Inference, Universidade de Stanford

4.6
329 classificações
52 avaliações

Informações sobre o curso

Probabilistic graphical models (PGMs) are a rich framework for encoding probability distributions over complex domains: joint (multivariate) distributions over large numbers of random variables that interact with each other. These representations sit at the intersection of statistics and computer science, relying on concepts from probability theory, graph algorithms, machine learning, and more. They are the basis for the state-of-the-art methods in a wide variety of applications, such as medical diagnosis, image understanding, speech recognition, natural language processing, and many, many more. They are also a foundational tool in formulating many machine learning problems. This course is the second in a sequence of three. Following the first course, which focused on representation, this course addresses the question of probabilistic inference: how a PGM can be used to answer questions. Even though a PGM generally describes a very high dimensional distribution, its structure is designed so as to allow questions to be answered efficiently. The course presents both exact and approximate algorithms for different types of inference tasks, and discusses where each could best be applied. The (highly recommended) honors track contains two hands-on programming assignments, in which key routines of the most commonly used exact and approximate algorithms are implemented and applied to a real-world problem....

Melhores avaliações

por LL

Mar 12, 2017

Thanks a lot for professor D.K.'s great course for PGM inference part. Really a very good starting point for PGM model and preparation for learning part.

por YP

May 29, 2017

I learned pretty much from this course. It answered my quandaries from the representation course, and as well deepened my understanding of PGM.

Filtrar por:

52 avaliações

por Akshaya Thippur

Mar 14, 2019

The material is quite good and a good depth for a first pass. I would definitely have liked that there be some structure slides at the start of the lecture set. Saying -- this is what we will learn in week 1 week 2.. so on, so I know what I am getting into. The way it is designed now, I am swimming in the water so deep that I can barely see 1 week away.

por Mahmoud Shepero

Feb 22, 2019

The honorary assignments contain code mistakes, and difficult to do! You are sifting through mistakes in the instructions along with the supplemented code!

por Lik Ming Cheong

Feb 03, 2019

Very great course! A lot of things have been learnt. The lectures, quiz and assignments clear up all key concepts. Especially, assignments are wonderful!

por Shi Yihui

Dec 16, 2018

It's absolutely very very hard but extremely interesting course! Although code assignments always have a lot of small bugs, and it cost me lots of time to find out, but, hey! Everything is the same in school(offline), nothing gonna be perfect. The sampling part is the most difficult stuff to learn so far, and after I tried to review it again and again, combined with other online material, I got those shit done! The only drawback of this course is that not many people active in the forum(Including those TA), maybe that just because only a small number of people enrolled in this course. In short, worth learning!

por Kaixuan Zhang

Dec 05, 2018

hope to get some feedbacks about hw or exam

por Deleted Account

Nov 18, 2018

This course seems to have been abandoned by Coursera. Mentors never reply to discussion forum posts (if there is any active mentor at all). Many assignments and tests are confusing and misleading. There are numerous materials you can find online to learn about Graphical Models than spending time & money on this.

por Kalyan Dharanipragada

Nov 05, 2018

Great introduction.

It would be great to have more examples included in the lectures and slides.

por Musalula Sinkala

Aug 02, 2018

This is a great course

por Luis

Aug 01, 2018

Very good course. Subject is quiet complex: lack of concrete examples to make sure concepts well understood. Had to review each the Course twice to understand concepts well

por Michel Speiser

Jul 14, 2018

Good course, but the material really needs a refresh!