Chevron Left
Voltar para Private equities e capital de risco

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Private equities e capital de risco da instituição Universidade Luigi Bocconi

4.8
estrelas
4,791 classificações
1,183 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The course deals with the analysis of the private equity and venture capital business. Over the course, students will be provided with a deep understanding of the mechanism underpinning the creation and/or development of a firm and the financial support it can get from the financial system through venture capital investment. The course tries to discover how special financial intermediaries (called private equity investors) finance through equity companies belonging to different stages of their life-cycle, starting from the very beginning (startup and early stage) to a more mature phase (i.e. expansion, mature age, etc.) or also staying into crises and decline. Private equity (named venture capital when the company is in the first phases of its life cycle) deals with very different activities, such as scouting, advisory, deal-making, valuation, and financing as financial intermediaries see it. COURSE SYLLABUS The course is made up of four different modules: WEEK 1 - Introduction to Private Equity and Venture Capital WEEK 2 - Discovering Private Equity Investors: Legal Issues and Taxation WEEK 3 - Management of Private Equity and Venture Capital Funds WEEK 4 - Company Valuation And Deal Making In Private Equity Settings WEEK 5 - Final Test Throughout the course, guest speakers and practitioners will be interviewed to provide some examples of concrete applications of the contents presented. RECOMMENDED BACKGROUND An understanding of the basic concepts of corporate financing accounting principles is required, while prior knowledge of private equity and venture capital is not required however it is recommended, as this is a course designed to introduce you to the fundamental concepts in private equity and venture capital....

Melhores avaliações

WO
14 de Jul de 2019

The content of the course is really helpful and touches on the very important subjects in Private Equity and Venture Capital. The delivery by the Professor Stefano Caseli is also fantastic. Thank you!

AM
3 de Dez de 2015

Amazing course! Thank you very much, Stefano Caselli, for a such wonderful content and perfect presenting. I took a lot of very useful and practical information from it.\n\nI do appreciate it. Thanks!

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 1,167 Avaliações para o Private equities e capital de risco

por Sushovan J

13 de Nov de 2018

One Request : Please show Calculation if Possible by Using a Class Room Type Board and Marker.;

por Charles Z

30 de Mai de 2016

Too simple to be realistic

por Felix T

12 de Mai de 2019

Very good introductory course to this complex subject. Videos are well explained and material is simple but sufficient. On the down side, I just felt that the lat module was a bit unstructured and that evaluations were not very numeric, even when a couple of modules do go into detail for numeric examples of exercises

por Gary G

5 de Out de 2016

Great overall material.

I think work needs to be done in order to improve the presentation of new concepts and vocabulary as well as the English of the speaker (and the corresponding caption).

por Seah Y N

23 de Out de 2018

Great course covering a good foundation of PEI & VC (from a legal and process standpoint) and commonly-used formulas. Lecturer provided much context of the real world through interview with practicing PEIs.

por Karol S

8 de Dez de 2018

Very good course. I would extend the calculation part and go slower and more specific. The exemplification is to general regarding the calculations complexity.

por Malte B

28 de Ago de 2018

Love the way you are even asked to write out answers and there is even someone answering on your feedback. Powerpoints to be prepared and then the Video Lectures make it perfectly easy to understand such a topic (just at week 2 atm so quiet amazed what`s still gonna come).

I really recommend first going through the Presentation slides and then take notes during his VIdeo Lectures to round it up. Thank you for this great Content, your the best :D

por Aram D B

4 de Jun de 2019

Stefano Caselli is a great professor. A friend of mine took a course with him during his masters program at SDA Bocconi and all I was told was just how good Mr. Caselli is as a professor. He teaching style is more practical than theoretical and is what most professors in this day and age lack. Would recommend this course to anyone with an interest in finance.

por Francesca P

3 de Mai de 2020

I strongly suggest this course to everyone (either students or potential entrepreneurs) because, even if you don't have a complete and deep knowledge in Economics, it is still possible to understand the concepts. Professor Caselli is extremely clear in his explanations and the course is well organised.

por Henrick F

8 de Jul de 2020

The teacher is phenomenal, and as someone who already had a notion on PE and VC, this course helped me to actually refresh and complement my previous knowledge. I believe maybe more math (financial) exercises might have been great but overall, I believe this course is fantastic.

por Benji C

11 de Jul de 2018

Great starting point to learn about Venture Capital. If you're more of a visual learner instead of auditory, I'd recommend taking more than 10 minutes to take notes on the slides, then listening to the videos at 1.25 speed.

por Wole O

15 de Jul de 2019

The content of the course is really helpful and touches on the very important subjects in Private Equity and Venture Capital. The delivery by the Professor Stefano Caseli is also fantastic. Thank you!

por Ankit S

4 de Jul de 2017

Very good course to understand the basics. I now have a solid platform to learn more advanced topics in this field. The best aspect of the course is its structured approach of slides and information.

por Max T

24 de Mar de 2020

Partly interesting insides and handy on examples. However, the questions are partly hard to understand. I personally, had a hard time understanding what the actual question was. The real life examples stayed above water level i.e. you only get to see the tip of the ice berg.

The course does give a good overview over a great array of topics.

por Parameswaran C

15 de Jun de 2020

I approached the course with a lot of trepidation and excitement since, its been long number of years from the time, I obtained my multiple professional qualifications. However, read about Bocconi University and its impeccable track record and the innovative work done in the area of online teaching and student outreach. These were the singular factors that weighed. The judgement was quite "spot on" since, I was very satisfied. Mr. Stefano Caselli, the Dean for International Affairs and Professor of Finance of Università Bocconi does a splendid job and the video, with subtitles and crisp presentation makes the whole exercise seamless and of course endearing. A big thanks to all concerned. Last but not the least, a special word of appreciation for COURSERA. I look forward to equipping myself more, in the coming period.

por Leonardo A H

15 de Abr de 2020

The course clearly explains and analyze how private equity and venture capital functions as a whole. Over the course, i was provided with a deep understanding of the mechanism underpinning the creation and development of a firm and the financial support it can get from the financial system through venture capital investment. In addition, i learned how the different vehicles behave in markets such as Europe, US and UK. Moreover, i had the chance to discover the legal issues and taxation, and what are the tasks that managers have in a whole cycle of the PE investment, from fundraising to exit. Finally, i learned about company valuation methods depending on the situation of the venture backed company.

por tanya z

1 de Jan de 2016

The course is interesting and definitely worth learning! Well structured material introducing the mechanism underpinning the creation and development of a firm and the financial support it can get from the financial system through venture capital investment. What's more insightful, Prof. Castlli invited different guest speakers from the PE industry to deliver a better understanding of European market outlook, aside from the "textbook". Looking forward to more intermediate or advanced courses from Università Bocconi, it is a great pleasure to take this course. Thank you, Prof.Castlli !!

por Shweta S

29 de Ago de 2020

Such a detailed and useful course on all aspects of Private Equity and Venture Capital! It was great to learn about types of financing throughout the life cycle of a startup, about the Close End Funds, and understanding the details of the DCF method and Multiples method. I also enjoyed the global perspective and the interviews by subject matter experts in M&A, IPO, Turnaround and Restructuring. Thank you Universita Bocconi, Professor Stefano Caselli and Coursera for designing this comprehensive course.

por Ziyan W

16 de Mar de 2018

This course is well-organized and you can learn a lot of times by watching videos and slides. It's a good way to self-study the sides to get a whole picture firstly then watch the videos, through which you can gain much knowledge and the professor will explain more. It's a good start for the PE&VC world and will inspire more. I really enjoy learning here and would like to know more about PE&VC in the future. Thanks for Professor Stefano Caselli! It's really a good experience to study together with you!

por Jieyu Z

22 de Mar de 2019

This course provides a holistic view of how a private equity is organized and works. Anyone who wants to work at, with or for a private equity should take a look at this course as it provides in a nutshell the fundamentals: the stages of the PE, the set-up (US vs EU format), the legal framework, the taxation, the fee structure as well as the valuations (DCF, Multiples and VCM). Not to mention the very interesting interviews with the leading experts in private equity, M&A, investment banking etc.

por Rishabh S

7 de Mai de 2020

This course was very helpful in making me understand the working and practical implications of the Private Equity world. I also got to know more about the basics of legal and taxation issues in different countries regarding the PE and startup sectors, thanks to Professor Stefano.

I would like to recommend this course to anyone interested in finance, especially those who don't have a lot of experience in this sector. I also recommend this course to those looking to start their own ventures.

por Rahmah R

3 de Mai de 2020

It was truly an amazing experience for me. Thanks to Professor Stefano Caselli and the whole Bocconi Team for conducting this exceptional course. I learnt a lot about Private Equity Market and how does it function with the help of this course. I am looking forward to apply the knowledge I gained practically in my future.

Last but not the least, I would also like to thank Mentor Guenter H. Leonhardt for showcasing exceptional mentoring skills throughout the journey. Thank You once again!

por Gonçalo M B

8 de Jun de 2019

Well structured course with clear and compelling material that is complemented with Excel spreadsheets mock practical examples, Q&As, interviews with experts. The approach is quite straight to the point, guided by prof. Caselli who does not waste unnecessary time with bland theories like other MOOCs and engages the students from the first video. Nonetheless, an intermediary knowledge of corporate is required to understand concepts, formulas and ratios. Great work, Università Bocconi!

por Jules S

23 de Fev de 2020

Very good course. I learned a lot. I loved the progressive approach, the visual animations, the exhaustive materials (videos+texts+slides+quizzes) to learn and the additional content (interviews to go further). The curse is well balanced between theory (the concepts and their examples) and mathematical application. Applause both to Coursera and to the Universita Bocconi ! Only the quite many spelling mistakes on the slides could be corrected. But this does not hamper comprehension.

por Ankit S

21 de Abr de 2020

A pretty interesting and enriching course for deep diving into the world of Private Equity and Venture Capital. Professor Stefano explains the concepts and illustrations in a simple, lucid way. The only limitation I found with the course was less examples and practice work given to learners. If that is added, the course would be one of the best courses in Private Equity and Venture Capital. Nonetheless, a must attend course for every aspirant of Private Equity and Venture Capital.