Chevron Left
Voltar para Privacy Law and Data Protection

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Privacy Law and Data Protection da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.8
estrelas
339 classificações
56 avaliações

Sobre o curso

What does it take to comply with privacy laws? In this course, we’ll look at the practical aspects of navigating the complex landscape of privacy requirements. Better understanding privacy laws and data protection will enable you to protect your organization and the constituents that depend on your organization to safeguard their personal information. First, we will examine the historical context that drove the creation of laws, best practices, and other standards for protecting personal information. We will also consider where in the U.S. privacy laws exist and which sectors remain unregulated. Next, we will focus on the federal health privacy law, the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA) – and what it takes to comply with it. How do you know the scope of the requirements? And once you know HIPAA applies, how do you actually put measures in place to ensure compliance? We’ll explore the notion that one cannot have privacy without strong security and examine various models that promote the security of personal information. We’ll look closely at breach notification laws – one of the most significant drivers of change in organizations – and discuss strategies for the improvement of data protection overall. Lastly, we will look at international law, state law, the unique and important role of the Federal Trade Commission in protecting privacy. Most importantly, we get practical – we will discuss real-world, practical approaches to how compliance professionals can navigate the complex landscape of privacy requirements to best protect their organizations....

Melhores avaliações

RC

Jan 03, 2020

I was particularly pleased to see the sections on GDPR and CCPA. They are relatively new laws and extremely important, so it was nice to see the content being so current.

FA

Nov 22, 2019

Thank you very much for this effort in the work of this training course, which is one of the most important courses in the field of data privacy protection

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 55 Avaliações para o Privacy Law and Data Protection

por ‘Toni N

Nov 14, 2019

I found this course to be very interesting. Lauren Steinfeld of the University of Pennsylvania was an amazing teacher and always found a way to summarise vital concepts and points in a succinct manner. The course was also exposed me to multi-jurisdictional aspects of privacy law in the US and Europe and this helped me to appreciate the way privacy and data protection are treated in different parts of the world.

por Mehmet B K

Jul 15, 2019

Its a great cours for those who does not have a clue about USA privacy law. If you want to make your first step, this is a great opportunity.

por Lena E

Nov 11, 2019

Good overview of general principles of privacy law and data protection.

por Alex H

Nov 04, 2019

Good overview of privacy law, both US FIP and EU GDPR. Would have preferred if the example privacy law explored in Week 2 were something finance-related like FDCPA or FACTA/FCRA, rather than HIPPA, but the discussions were good (including a quick dive into data security and cyber threat protection).

por Andres P d L

Oct 31, 2019

This course covering legal Issues, HIPPA and privacy topics proved to be the most challenging of the 4 courses. I need to go back and review this section and take it a bit slower next time. However everything in there was broken down nicely and supplied great supplemental examples.

por Sally V C

Aug 20, 2019

Professor Steinfeld is extremely knowledgeable, responsive and she provides an engaging learning experience. I really enjoyed learning through the useful combination of video and content. A tremendous help to anyone interested in learning more about the privacy landscape.

por Grace C

Mar 29, 2020

I thought this course was well organized and thought out. I appreciated that it included a brief segment on the CCPA. I actually would love if in the future they built out the CCPA section a bit more since that seems particularly relevant in today's landscape.

por Zhiyao L

Jul 15, 2019

This is a very good course. It gave me an overview knowledge of the data privacy protections both in the US (HIPAA, FERMA, COPPA) and Europe (GDPR). I would highly recommend for anyone trying to learn about the basic regimes of data privacy.

por Muzzil Q K

Apr 22, 2019

I am quite familiar with the privacy regime in the EU and other individual States such as Malaysia and Australia but this course gave me an important perspective on privacy and information security particularly from a US perspective.

por Amah A

Mar 27, 2020

This Course is very instructive and interactive. It helped me understand and do a comparative analysis between the US data protection regulatory framework and the Nigerian NDPR which is quite similar to the EU-GDPR framework.

por Kungwang H

May 05, 2020

A very good overview of privacy law and data protection. My only complaint is that it is a tad too easy and the final paper writing assignment, which is graded by peer, can have a higher grading standard.

por Sultan A

Jun 30, 2020

Great overview of privacy and data protection. Heavy emphasis on HIPAA given Lecturer background and expertise. Would recommend to any beginners or curious individuals.

por Fuad T A Q A

Nov 22, 2019

Thank you very much for this effort in the work of this training course, which is one of the most important courses in the field of data privacy protection

por Pauline

May 11, 2020

Good course that provides a very basic overview of privacy regulation and law in the USA. It is good for people that have never studied the system.

por Joel A C

Jan 20, 2020

A great review of the law, history and current standing for privacy & also (some) related national security law concepts. Highly enjoyable!

por Sergey S

Nov 05, 2019

This course allows you to structure information on the protection of personal data and learn how to use this information.

por Jose L L C

Mar 25, 2020

muy bueno, hace analizar el cumplimiento de todas las leyes que estan sujetas las empresas segun su giro de negocio.

por Pedro M G

Apr 14, 2020

Excellent introductory course to the US privacy law and data protection framework. I highly recommend it!

por Biswanath A

Aug 02, 2020

This course of all 4 was just amazing. Learnt a lot of knew things about Privacy and Data Protection.

por Shaquille N

Jul 01, 2020

This was a very informative course with practical examples from the instructor.

por Kayode D A

Jun 12, 2019

It's a very insightful and provocative look into the emerging privacy landscape

por Jobson B d S

Jul 25, 2019

This course is interesting as it introduces us to the US privacy regime.

por Parag S

May 02, 2020

One of the best courses I have attended. The lectures were excellent.

por Yana A

Oct 02, 2019

Great Course! Thank you PenState for creating this material!

por Radha S

May 06, 2020

Its structured very well and a great facilitator