Chevron Left
Voltar para Practical Time Series Analysis

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Practical Time Series Analysis da instituição Universidade Estadual de Nova York

4.6
estrelas
815 classificações
225 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to Practical Time Series Analysis! Many of us are "accidental" data analysts. We trained in the sciences, business, or engineering and then found ourselves confronted with data for which we have no formal analytic training. This course is designed for people with some technical competencies who would like more than a "cookbook" approach, but who still need to concentrate on the routine sorts of presentation and analysis that deepen the understanding of our professional topics. In practical Time Series Analysis we look at data sets that represent sequential information, such as stock prices, annual rainfall, sunspot activity, the price of agricultural products, and more. We look at several mathematical models that might be used to describe the processes which generate these types of data. We also look at graphical representations that provide insights into our data. Finally, we also learn how to make forecasts that say intelligent things about what we might expect in the future. Please take a few minutes to explore the course site. You will find video lectures with supporting written materials as well as quizzes to help emphasize important points. The language for the course is R, a free implementation of the S language. It is a professional environment and fairly easy to learn. You can discuss material from the course with your fellow learners. Please take a moment to introduce yourself! Time Series Analysis can take effort to learn- we have tried to present those ideas that are "mission critical" in a way where you understand enough of the math to fell satisfied while also being immediately productive. We hope you enjoy the class!...

Melhores avaliações

SA

Jan 24, 2020

Excelente, uno de los mejores cursos que he tomado. Lo más importante es que se practica muy seguido y hay examenes durante los vídeos. Si hay un nivel más avanzado de este tema, seguro que lo tomo.

JM

Mar 21, 2019

This was a very good and detailed course. I liked this course for two reasons mainly:\n\nIt started from the basics of timeseries analysis, covering theory and secondly it took me gradually to r.

Filtrar por:

151 — 175 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Practical Time Series Analysis

por Carlos R P G

Jan 08, 2020

A very solid introduction to time series analysis, recommended if you have understanding of probability and statistics concepts.

I have seen some complains about the course not being practical enough. The practice comes at the last third of it, and this is as it should be. The SARIMA model is composed of 4 different models (S + AR + I + MA), if you don't understand them independently your chances of doing anything useful with it are slim.

I would have liked it to be more language agnostic since I use Python. The statsmodels module has all the time series analysis tools that you need, and allows to load R datasets, albeit not all of them. The rest you can find fairly easily googling.

por Stefnir H K

Dec 30, 2019

This course will teach you many of the concepts of time series analysis. It's a good course that is clearly taught by experts in the field and it is no lesser than any course I have taken at a university level.

The problem with him is that the lectures are dry and feel outdated, they are not bad in any way just two professors with a webcam and slides. The second problem is that the tests are a bit easy and you can pass them without understanding by just trial and error.

Overall I recommend this course for those that have little or no background in time series but would really like to dive into this topic. I also recommend at least 1-2 years of Bs in Eng or Sci.

por River B

Nov 25, 2019

An excellent introductory course on time series analysis. It has an excellent blend of theory and practice and everything else became intuitive once you studied and gained intuition for the math. Some of the lower rated reviews mention too much theory, but I feel it was imperative to fully understanding the course and am glad they included it. Completing the entire course felt rewarding.

I docked one star because of the sloppiness of some of the slides and equations. Some of the examples don't work either. I enjoy William's videos as his pacing is good, but a lot of times Sadigov tries to rush through the slides as fast as possible.

por Marc-Andre C

Apr 21, 2018

Well built class. I especially enjoyed the inclusion of written material, which I find easier, faster and more enjoyable than videos usually. The material itself is well constructed and the professors are clear. The low point for me comes with the intended audience of the class. At first glance, it is directed toward professionals that have already some familiarity with time series. While I could follow the course independently, I had to rely on other resources to gain intuitions on the concepts. I still don't consider that I could explain the material that I learned as well as I wish I would.

por Derek H

Jan 05, 2020

Good introduction to time series analysis, covering the standard curricula of discrete-time stochastic processes, useful statistics, with some additional work with R and some introductory-level theory. The course is not especially rigorous and the quizzes are not hard, but as an introductory course for a person new to time series but with at least partial undergraduate mathematical background, this is a good start. I mostly read the slides to learn the material, as I prefer to read material on my own, and the slides were informative and easy to follow.

por Jerry H

Jan 11, 2019

The course met my expectations, which was to develop basic skills and tools to better understand time series as a jumping off point for some of the work I am doing. I found the practical examples (e.g. coding of the solutions) to be most helpful for my learning style. Also appreciate concept development thrust, to help better understand the applicability and pitfalls of the tools. That being said, I didn't particularly find some of the mathematical derivations helpful, given my bent toward the practical application of the tools and concepts.

por Christian B

Dec 29, 2019

I think the course is very helpful and you learn how to perform time series analysis. In the last chapter I was missing the motivation for using tripple exponential smoothing vs. the former SARIMA model. When would I use what? I give only 4 starts due to week 3, where many complained about, and I would agree, that the motivation for the mathematical construction of the Yuri Walker equations is unclear and the lesson itself is a bit confusing. However, week 4 is then way better, when using the matrix notation and concrete examples.

por Anisha S

May 06, 2019

After coming towards the end of the course, I have changes my perception about the course. It is a great course to learn Time Series Analysis. Though it has some advanced theory and derivations in certain lectures, it has lots of practical exercises as well to perform hands-on. It gives good understanding of time series concepts and different models associated with it. I would recommend this course. I would recommend the instructors to add ARIMAX and multivariate time series analysis in the course as well.

por Joel A

Mar 25, 2020

There are some inconsistencies with notation. The quizzes are much too easy and the code/problems are basically given to you. I would say this is a good introductory course to see if you have any interest in the subject. There is some good theory development in the weeks covering autoregressive and moving average models. I did learn some of the terminology and methods for time series analysis that will allow me to go into more developed sources with a basic intuition of some simple processes.

por Igor U

Dec 07, 2019

I liked the emphasis on implementing the theory on data within R as this knowledge is directly transferable to real life application. A good way to go from 0 time series analysis knowledge to a base that can be the starting point for further learning. I noticed occasional errors in the material (EG. one quiz question asking for lambda() whereas it meant gamma()), but nothing that significantly takes away from the learning experience. Thank you for providing this quality course for free.

por Lance D

Oct 20, 2019

Course provided solid understand of Time Series Analysis. I wasn't expecting to see so much math, but glad they included it. Recommend you study up on Time Series math before taking course. All of the math was converted into R algorithms for you and/or R function calls to packages that supported the concepts. I was immediately able to start applying my knowledge to my day job as a Software Engineer / Data Analyst.

por Siddharth M

May 28, 2019

A very thorough course covering almost all the topics related to time series along with the math involved. However, the explanation for the math involved was not very elaborate and easy to understand. A lot of parts were skipped in the explanation. Moreover, the examples taken to explain were simpler, rather than taking a tough example and covering all the corners. Overall, a great course but not for a layman.

por Lijie T

Apr 01, 2018

The instructors adopted a very practical approach to teaching the core concepts in Times Series. They did a great job using examples to analyze the data and explain the concepts. However, I do think the lectures are somewhat disorganized in some chapters so that some concepts are used before they are mentioned. Overall speaking, this is a great class.

por Arthur B

Sep 29, 2019

A very good course that covers both the theoretical Mathematics and the practical implementation in R.

I feel more confident now on time series analysis. I learned how to do forecasts, to interpret PACF and ACF and understand ARIMA and SARIMA.

A few small sections in the video went too quickly, but the material overall is excellent.

por Paulo H S V

Nov 10, 2019

It's a great course and it will give a great overview of the main forecasting techniques. However, the course is not THAT practical, since there were a lot of lessons talking about the theoretical concepts instead of coding. If don't have a good understanding of Algebra, you might get lost throughout this course

por Amir P

Nov 05, 2018

Great course for info about time series.

Some parts (especially week 3 and 4) could be less mathematical.

Should emphaise more on identifying the ranks of the models, for example - keep those questions in the quizes.

Some quiz questions felt too easy :)

por Danny V

Sep 03, 2018

It was a really good course, very informative and well explained. Only I could find minor mistakes especially during the test where it was difficult to observe the figures or the code did run smoothly. I highly recommend it.

por Pranoy M

Jul 29, 2018

The course is really nice and delves deep into the underlying math behind the forecasting technique. The course would have been even better if they would have talked about time series forecasting with predictor variables.

por Jesús C

Feb 03, 2019

Good course to learn the basic concepts about time series. In my opinion there should be more practical exercises. They force you to better understand the theory and are always a good idea to really master any subject.

por Hany N

Apr 11, 2019

Great course, good balance between theory & practical applications.

For some lectures, the slides are not provided (pdf notes are provided instead). I would preferred to have the PDF sliders of the Power Point as well.

por Manjeet K

Nov 16, 2019

If you have the patience to learn time series with little knowledge of statistics, then this course is for you. Believe me, the course is really a "Practical" time series. Good course for beginners, I am satisfied.

por David S

Jul 01, 2019

Little fast and some place in the middle when they started talking about inside the unit circle. May need a little refresher on that. Otherwise I really appreciate this type of material being available.

por Bhasutkar V B P

Jun 20, 2018

Very Good Course, Thanks for clear explanation.Comparison & Selecting the best model for a given dataset with train, test split would have given practical approach and implementation in real time project.

por Diego A V G

Jul 21, 2018

It's a course with a very well load of math content. In my opinion, it should include more practical cases focus on give to students a hands on feel of what happens by under all the math explained here.