Chevron Left
Voltar para Positive Psychology: Resilience Skills

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Positive Psychology: Resilience Skills da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.9
1,039 classificações
319 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Learn how to incorporate resilience interventions into your personal and professional life with Dr. Karen Reivich. In this course, you are exposed to the foundational research in resilience, including protective factors such as mental agility and optimism. Several types of resilience interventions are explored including cognitive strategies; strategies to manage anxiety and increase positive emotions such as gratitude; and a critical relationship enhancement skill. Throughout the course, you will hear examples of individuals using resilience skills in their personal and professional lives. Suggested prerequisites: Positive Psychology: Martin E. P. Seligman’s Visionary Science, Positive Psychology: Applications and Interventions and Positive Psychology: Character, Grit & Research Methods....

Melhores avaliações

ZM

Sep 24, 2018

Excellent! There was some common sense here, but plenty of new data and tools anyone can use in both their personal and professional life. A must for every human who wants to get the most out of life.

NJ

Nov 03, 2018

Very useful course in building up resilience. Will take time to work on these skills but this course gives a good grounding by providing lots of helpful guidance and tips. So glad I did this course.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Positive Psychology: Resilience Skills

por Jaymes P R

Sep 05, 2018

Took the course since it was part of the Positive Psychology Specialization. I highly enjoyed the real-time resilience and different skills. The only reason why it isn't 5/5 is because I wish that the readings on Resilience, Character, Positive Psychology, etc. were not just links to Amazon to buy the books or journal purchases. I wish we could just receive free excerpts or summaries of what the readings were because I would have loved to read the "optional" readings without having to pay.

por Serge G

Mar 16, 2019

This is a really excellent cours. I have learned a lot and feel strengthened after these weeks.

The following areas were particularly valuable to me:

The influence of optimism on one's resilience.

The mindful handling of one's own thought traps.

Experiencing and further developing one's own character strengths.

Dealing with Anxiety.

The technique and the internalization of active and constructive communication.

Recognizing and appreciating circumstances when a person is doing well.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

por Nicola J

Nov 03, 2018

Very useful course in building up resilience. Will take time to work on these skills but this course gives a good grounding by providing lots of helpful guidance and tips. So glad I did this course.

por Eleanor D A

Aug 14, 2019

This is another great course by the Penn State team - I loved Karen's presentation style, she gets you thinking and analysing rather than simply passively absorbing. It was a very practical course, relevant and interesting. The *only* down side for me is that the reading material was not provided in direct links, making it more time consuming and complex to seek out the relevant references. Otherwise, another fantastic course. Thank you!

por Jamie L K

Aug 18, 2019

Pros:

1) Specific, actionable strategies to increase resilience.

2) It's an introduction to resilience.

Cons:

1) There is a blatant lack of diversity in the examples and scenarios where we applied resilience skills. This is especially important since my particular interest was how people from severely disadvantaged backgrounds use resilience to mitigate the socioeconomic effects of their background.

2) The optional readings on content not covered in this course require some kind of purchase.

3) This course is not rigorous (quizzes had questions with obvious answers), and lacks breath/scope (only goes in-depth with some, not all variables that affect resilience)

por Zoe M

Sep 24, 2018

Excellent! There was some common sense here, but plenty of new data and tools anyone can use in both their personal and professional life. A must for every human who wants to get the most out of life.

por Julie C

Sep 19, 2017

Dr. Reivich is a terrific presenter. She provides frequent and useful summaries, is clearly passionate about the subject, and has organized the content in a very logical, easy-to-follow manner.

por Natalie O

Jan 27, 2019

This was my favourite course of the specialization so far! It was so practical and the facilitator was great. There was fun in the MOOC, different activities made it more interactive. For a first MOOC, just wonderful. Thank you.

por Jeannine L

Apr 23, 2018

This course material is easily applicable to my life. I found the content to be very useful and the instructor was easy to follow. I enjoyed this a great deal.

por Orlando C

Apr 13, 2018

Great course that is more heavily biased towards application(s) than research and findings which will likely serve most well. Specific techniques are laid-out in plain English.

This course is not as polished as some others. The instructor at times seems to simply be reading from her teleprompter. Other times she seems more engaging. I would have preferred a more consistent feeling of connection to Dr. Reivich. This can be challenging in this format but having seen it successfully done by other instructors it is unquestionably possible.

For some, the material will be powerful enough to overlook "roughness around the edges". It certainly was for me. Of the courses offered in this series, this one deeply resonates.

por Marco G

Feb 20, 2018

Maybe because I studied psychology I was expecting a little bit more detailed information for the topic. But the course overall was well structured, the videos had very good quality and the amount of scientific papers and the possibility to take surveys and tests are a nice variety. Go on with more courses, thanks alot!

por Kirsten S

Mar 28, 2019

A little less academic than I was expecting and much more about practical application in your own life. Overall, very useful, though and interesting. Thank you!

por Karolina K

Feb 27, 2019

This is a lovely course and it teaches valuable skills. The one point for improvement is that there maybe could be more visual aids. All lectures are just a 'talking head'.

por Bob R

Aug 06, 2017

I took this course because of Dr Reivetch (and her expertise was clear throughout), but overall I was disappointed in the course because

(a) There was ZERO use of media other than talking heads by Dr Reivetch..... not even one bullet-pointed slide, much less any illustration or animation of her points. She simply stood in one place, looked into the camera, and spoke for the entire duration of the course.

(b) As a practitioner, I was hoping for more help in teaching / training / supporting the development of Resilience skills in others. This couse was almost entirely Self-Helpy.

por June O

Feb 22, 2019

It was quite useful in the beginning, but towards week 4 or week 5, my interest drifted because there was not much solid content being shared.

por RASULOVA R I

Jan 28, 2019

SUPER

por Molly K R

Jan 15, 2019

Love the application focus of everything we did. Examples were clear and easy to understand, and Karen's style of presenting is approachable. Also good use of guest speakers/instructors to show application in different contexts.

por Felipe F H

Jan 30, 2019

So many ways about leading with setbacks, mind traps, and character Strengths ... This knowledge is essential for education, psychology, personal and professional development, coaching, wellbeing. This courses must be in every school on planet Earth!

por Summer W

Feb 01, 2019

I really enjoyed it!

por Marina E H A G

Jan 22, 2019

Lifelong tools!

por Sylvia R D

Jan 01, 2019

This course was fantastic! Dr. Reivich is a wonderful, fun and inspiring instructor, who presents the information in engaging, creative and moving ways that are very user-friendly. The exercises were not only very educational but easy to understand, so I could spend more energy exploring the concepts rather than trying to figure out what I was supposed to do. I learned how to not only apply resilience skills to many areas of my life, but also simple techniques to curb my stress and anxiety. Thank you so much, Dr. Reivich! I highly recommend this course.

por Allison R

Dec 18, 2018

Phenomenal - Great insight on how to tackle problems when they arise. Really applicable stuff.

por Magnus K

Dec 18, 2018

A science on how to Learn how to enjoy life an also make progress, I found it at a late stage in life but have been brought up in this spirit.

por Roberta C

Jan 05, 2019

very practical and good tips, play roles to make it a bit more real

por Smruti M

Jan 07, 2019

I have studied resilience via other online courses and other means as well. However, this course outlines and elaborates on all different points of views related to resilience. Moreover, I found that the course not only delves into research-based arguments to prove a point, but also suggests actionable points for various set-ups like home, relationships, work-place, schools and others.