Chevron Left
Voltar para Pointers, Arrays, and Recursion

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Pointers, Arrays, and Recursion da instituição Universidade Duke

4.5
estrelas
182 classificações
48 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The third course in the specialization Introduction to Programming in C introduces the programming constructs pointers, arrays, and recursion. Pointers provide control and flexibility when programming in C by giving you a way to refer to the location of other data. Arrays provide a way to bundle data by guaranteeing sequences of data are grouped together. Finally, recursive functions—functions that call themselves—provide an alternative to iteration that are very useful for implementing certain algorithms....

Melhores avaliações

DH

Aug 13, 2018

End of course project was challenging and fun. Lots of opportunity to learn how to debug memory issues with valgrind.

CF

Dec 21, 2019

Teaches you how to use GDB and debug code effectively. Challenging and engaging homework.

Filtrar por:

26 — 48 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Pointers, Arrays, and Recursion

por Thang D D

Feb 06, 2020

Great

por HITESH G

Jun 16, 2019

great

por leekibeom

Jan 17, 2019

good

por Alan-Frank V

Jan 03, 2019

.

por J K

Jul 13, 2019

I think this is one of the best courses I've taken (and that's including the famous deeplearning.ai trajectory), because it is finally quite difficult, and covers even more advanced topics like function pointers. The best part is the fact that there is also some explanation on the hardware and memory, which make understanding the "why" of choices made more intuitive.

The order in which new information is added is spot on, and the assignment are relatively difficult and you really have to focus; tinkering your way through doesn't work (I was reminded of the saying: "Reading for half an hour, will save you two weeks of trying"

As a downside: I HATE emacs in this PPE environment; I'm used to sublime text, and all short-cuts/hotkeys are different. In addition, the ctrl-w, which is for copying (I think) closes the PPE tab, have resulted in lost code, and some cursing from my side.

However, all in all: great and I would recommend it to anyone interested in C programming (... or learning Emacs ;))

por Dehming T

Nov 04, 2019

Learned a lot about pointers and arrays which I admittedly spaced out on in college. There was an assignment of recursion and how to efficiently use it, however it's use seemed somewhat limited in the final project. This would have been a five star, however the discussion forum response from the instructor team needs to be faster, especially since I'm 99% sure I'm reporting an error and the only staff response was not helpful (and no follow up!, bad business there, especially since the courses are paid, not expensive for American standards, but not all countries make American wages).

por Jake S

Dec 30, 2019

I really enjoyed the instructors, I just think the course is not structured well for Coursera's weekly cadence. Learners who expect the time investment to stay the same week-to-week are in for a big surprise when the challenges come at the end of each course. It is as if you are asked to stack two bricks upon each other, then construct the empire state building. Hence the panicked learners in the forums. Thank goodness it is a flexible deadline course.

por Damien E B

Mar 14, 2019

Very tricky. Much trickier than the earlier courses in the specialization. This is to be expected because pointers are slippery. My only complaint would be that the course needs more basic instruction in Git. I ran into some major issues with github and lost hours trying to fix them. Git is a great skills and should be included in the course, but I think we need a little more guidance.

por Fabrício B

Feb 02, 2019

The course itself is great. The grading system is a bit frustrating because you don't know what the actual tests are. Some idea of what they are actually testing would be a great learning experience.

por Vishal C

Apr 14, 2020

Only thing keeping this from 5 stars is the testing assignments

por Ujjwal a

Mar 04, 2020

upload more video so that it will easy to understand

por Leonid P

Oct 26, 2018

Good course, but some homeworks too hard.

por RHEA D

May 30, 2020

tough course but well taught

por SAPTARSHI D

Jul 25, 2019

nice course

por Deleted A

Feb 05, 2019

good one

por Martin H

Mar 19, 2019

A very good course if you just look at the programming part. But most of the time you try to find testcases what the programmer could have done wrong ( without knowing the course). That's pure luck and does not help to improve my C skills....

por Levin M J S

Aug 21, 2019

Not making enough effort to help students make sense of the convoluted implementations that they had used.

por Xirong T

Mar 08, 2020

Good course, but the final project and test cases are slightly challenging

por Sayan C

Apr 07, 2020

Very tough

por Christopher N

Aug 25, 2019

The quality of assignments slipped rather abruptly in this course. The assignments were rather unclear, ambiguous and often required reading through forum posts and learning through other people's frustrated comments. This specialization started strong but the course really slipped in quality. The means of education was inefficient, the presentation of assignments was sloppy and under-specified and the final project was unnecessarily tedious and time-consuming and could have easily been replaced by something else (a different card game such as BlackJack vs Texas Hold 'Em Poker) delivering the same practice without a lot of the tedious rule generation.

por Megha F

May 15, 2020

No support for taking up the programming assignments. The PPE for programming assignment is down most of the time.

por Quang P B

Mar 12, 2019

Very bad tool use for uploading assignment

por Donglai R

Feb 09, 2019

Very bad assignment instructions