Chevron Left
Voltar para Razão e persuasão: o pensamento através de três diálogos de Platão

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Razão e persuasão: o pensamento através de três diálogos de Platão da instituição Universidade Nacional de Cingapura

4.6
190 classificações
52 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this course we study the ancient, Socratic art of blowing up your beliefs as you go, to make sure they're built to last. We spend six weeks studying three Platonic dialogues - "Euthyphro", "Meno", "Republic" Book I - then two weeks pondering a pair of footnotes to Plato: contemporary moral theory and moral psychology. Platonic? Socratic? Socrates was the teacher, but he said he never did. Plato was the student who put words in his teacher's mouth. You'll get a feel for it. We have a book: the new 4th edition of "Reason and Persuasion", by the instructor (and his wife, Belle Waring, the translator.) It contains the Plato you need, plus introductory material and in-depth, chapter-length commentaries. (Don't worry! John Holbo knows better than to read his book to the camera. The videos cover the same material, but the presentation is different.) The book is offered free in PDF form - the whole thing, and individual chapter slices. It is also available in print and other e-editions. See the course content for links and information. The course is suitable for beginning students of Plato and philosophy, but is intended to offer something to more advanced students as well. We seek new, odd angles on old, basic angles. Tricky! The strategy is to make a wide-ranging, interdisciplinary approach. Lots of contemporary connections, to make the weird bits intuitive; plus plenty of ancient color, still bright after all these years. So: arguments and ideas, new possibilities, old stories, fun facts. Plus cartoons. The results can get elaborate (some book chapters and some lesson videos run long.) But each video comes with a brief summary of its contents. The lessons progress. I put them in this order for reasons. But there's no reason you can't skip over and around to find whatever seems most interesting. There are any number of self-contained mini-courses contained in this 8-week course. You are welcome to them. Plato has meant different things to different people. He's got his own ideas, no doubt. (Also, his own Ideas.) But these have, over the centuries, been worn into crossing paths for other feet; been built up into new platforms for projecting other voices. (Plato did it to Socrates, so fair is fair.) So your learning outcome should be: arrival somewhere interesting, in your head, where you haven't been before. I wouldn't presume to dictate more exactly....

Melhores avaliações

SS

Feb 03, 2017

Very interesting. The questions were rather challenging. The book clarifies a lot, and porf. Holbroke has a nice way of teaching. The videos were rather enticing and very informative.

TW

Dec 17, 2017

Very interesting, diversity of material (drawings used) and of texts used makes every chapter seem fresh. Professor is funny and random jokes kept me involved whilst staying relaxed.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Razão e persuasão: o pensamento através de três diálogos de Platão

por Nicholas H

Nov 30, 2018

thoroughly enjoyable and enlightening

por Dimitris S

Mar 26, 2019

That was quite a task...although prof. Holbo shooted like a machine gun his theatrical performance was astonishing. I enjoyed so much this course. I am so thankful that i participated to a course so skillfully crafted by a brilliant professor.

por Joerg P

Mar 13, 2019

Cool lecture, I thorough enjoyed it and recommend it

por Nicholas K

Mar 20, 2016

Was a little uncertain at first but after completing week 1 I have become comfortable with the quirky style of the course. I wasn't game to try the quizzes until I had downloaded the book on my iPad and read chapter six, glad I did and will use this as my weekly process.

Enjoying this course very much. Week 2 quizzes were more testing, took three attempts at both quiz 3 and quiz 4 even though I passed on first attempt: 4 out of 6 / 4 out of 6; 4 out of 6 / 4 out of 6; 5 out of 6 / 6 out of 6. I like the dialogue format and that the language style is in modern conversational English. Socrates guy is hard to please, but he still forces us to think after 2,000 years. Pity the Greeks don't have him around today, their economy might be in better shape. The dentist at our local shopping centre is called Socrates but I don't believe they are related.

por Tracy P

Jun 02, 2016

I never would have thought Plato would be captivating, but this course brings the Dialogues to life!

por Clive D

Aug 16, 2017

Very good and interesting course.

por Adam M

Aug 31, 2016

Professor Holbo is simply a fantastic lecturer. I hope he produces more courses for Coursera.

por erik h

Feb 27, 2017

I enjoyed the course and learned from it. It opened a window to logic and living. It was an exercise in critical thinking which one needs at any age. Also, I now realize that I need to improve my reading skills and plan to do so.

I recommend that the course have a sequel. Why not do all of the Republic? Also, it would be helpful if the professor explained not only which quizz answers were wrong but why. We are trying to learn, not only pass the course. This is philosophy, after all. Finally, why do the students in Singapur get two additional weeks? How about us?

I am a Colombian. Although I speak and write (sort of) English, it would be great to have Spanish subtitles for the lectures. Unfortunately, the Spanish translations of the dialogues may be a problem. I haven´t found any in Cartagena (my home) or on the internet. I do have La República in Spanish with a translation by José Manuel Pabón and Manuel Fernández-Galiano. However, it's very Spanish (from Spain) and for us it seems stilted. Maybe its like the English translations by Benjamin Jowett. Perhaps the answer is to study ancient Greek. Please let Coursera know.

In any case, thanks to Professor Holbo for an outstanding and challenging course.

Erik Hoffman

ehoffman1@une.net.co

Cartagena, Colombia

por Florian L B

Dec 06, 2016

Amazing class. Professor Holbo is a wonderful lecturer and makes the material really interesting. He's the perfect guide for navigating this ancient philosophy, so much that he makes it come out modern! Although the class can be challenging at times (quizzes are especially hard), it's fun and full of interesting historic references to Greece that show our own world in a different light.

por Bob B

Apr 22, 2018

Very well explained how Socrates use dialectic inquiry and reasoning with the virtual topic, which the concepts are hard to be well defined and commonly people have very intuitive understanding about them.

por Kasem C

Mar 31, 2018

If you want to brush up or go deeper into Plato's dialogues, then you will gain much from this course.

por Tahir S

Jun 29, 2017

A, rather, novel and energetic approach to ancient philosophy. The assessment method was challenging but though-provoking! The last two weeks on moral psychology are gems even for those who have read Plato's three dialogues on their own.

por Matthew K

May 14, 2017

Excellent course, entertaining and informative teacher, no previous Plato experience required!

por Subrahmanyan M

Feb 24, 2018

Well designed

simplified course

por Paulius J

Oct 22, 2016

Thank you for opening my eyes on Plato.

I always thought that he was an old demagogue. (I was obliged to read Republic during my University

thrice)

I still think so, but finally I understood finally his greatness. Thank you, professor Holbo!

Any next course by you, I am in.

por Tarek H

May 17, 2016

Exceptionally interesting. Love professor Holbo! Thank you.

por Lucy

Feb 13, 2016

Extremely funny and witty.

por Nhat L

Sep 26, 2017

Highly recommend to study. Very informative course

por Daniel S

Jan 31, 2018

Outstanding professor, brings Philosophy to life ... really enjoyed it

por Jacob R

Oct 28, 2016

I wish the course was longer! The Professor did a fantastic job of making the content fascinating and engaging. Please please please make another MOOC!

por Roberto R

Aug 16, 2017

wonderfuff, thanks

por Tony W

Dec 17, 2017

Very interesting, diversity of material (drawings used) and of texts used makes every chapter seem fresh. Professor is funny and random jokes kept me involved whilst staying relaxed.

por Se b T

Jun 21, 2016

R&P is a great course for anyone with a slight interest in the basic questions about life. If ever I found myself begging for answers on this questions or trying to understand myself in a wider perspective, or simply bored out of my mind, finding this course has meant finding my life, or at least finding a better way to live my life.

por Maria

Aug 17, 2017

I highly recommend this course. I have learned a lot and really enjoyed Profesor Holbo sessions and cartoons.

por Michael E

Jun 11, 2016

Lecturer is actually socrates