Chevron Left
Voltar para Razão e persuasão: o pensamento através de três diálogos de Platão

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Razão e persuasão: o pensamento através de três diálogos de Platão da instituição Universidade Nacional de Cingapura

4.5
183 classificações
51 revisões

Sobre o curso

In this course we study the ancient, Socratic art of blowing up your beliefs as you go, to make sure they're built to last. We spend six weeks studying three Platonic dialogues - "Euthyphro", "Meno", "Republic" Book I - then two weeks pondering a pair of footnotes to Plato: contemporary moral theory and moral psychology. Platonic? Socratic? Socrates was the teacher, but he said he never did. Plato was the student who put words in his teacher's mouth. You'll get a feel for it. We have a book: the new 4th edition of "Reason and Persuasion", by the instructor (and his wife, Belle Waring, the translator.) It contains the Plato you need, plus introductory material and in-depth, chapter-length commentaries. (Don't worry! John Holbo knows better than to read his book to the camera. The videos cover the same material, but the presentation is different.) The book is offered free in PDF form - the whole thing, and individual chapter slices. It is also available in print and other e-editions. See the course content for links and information. The course is suitable for beginning students of Plato and philosophy, but is intended to offer something to more advanced students as well. We seek new, odd angles on old, basic angles. Tricky! The strategy is to make a wide-ranging, interdisciplinary approach. Lots of contemporary connections, to make the weird bits intuitive; plus plenty of ancient color, still bright after all these years. So: arguments and ideas, new possibilities, old stories, fun facts. Plus cartoons. The results can get elaborate (some book chapters and some lesson videos run long.) But each video comes with a brief summary of its contents. The lessons progress. I put them in this order for reasons. But there's no reason you can't skip over and around to find whatever seems most interesting. There are any number of self-contained mini-courses contained in this 8-week course. You are welcome to them. Plato has meant different things to different people. He's got his own ideas, no doubt. (Also, his own Ideas.) But these have, over the centuries, been worn into crossing paths for other feet; been built up into new platforms for projecting other voices. (Plato did it to Socrates, so fair is fair.) So your learning outcome should be: arrival somewhere interesting, in your head, where you haven't been before. I wouldn't presume to dictate more exactly....

Melhores avaliações

SS

Feb 03, 2017

Very interesting. The questions were rather challenging. The book clarifies a lot, and porf. Holbroke has a nice way of teaching. The videos were rather enticing and very informative.

TW

Dec 17, 2017

Very interesting, diversity of material (drawings used) and of texts used makes every chapter seem fresh. Professor is funny and random jokes kept me involved whilst staying relaxed.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Razão e persuasão: o pensamento através de três diálogos de Platão

By Wilfredo E

Apr 21, 2019

Great course but I didn't have time to complete.

By Dimitris S

Mar 26, 2019

That was quite a task...although prof. Holbo shooted like a machine gun his theatrical performance was astonishing. I enjoyed so much this course. I am so thankful that i participated to a course so skillfully crafted by a brilliant professor.

By Joerg P

Mar 13, 2019

Cool lecture, I thorough enjoyed it and recommend it

By Nicholas H

Nov 30, 2018

thoroughly enjoyable and enlightening

By Paula H

Oct 03, 2018

I learned that you don't want to have a discussion with Socrates. He will talk you in circles and give you a headache. Good class. Breaks down fairly dense reading into manageable chunks.

By Roman K

Aug 16, 2018

great

By Dharshan

Jun 28, 2018

Jon Holbo was an amazing lecturer. He kept me engaged and curious throughout each week!

By Amanpreet S

Jun 13, 2018

My introduction to plato. Good course would have not read or gone through plato on my own. Now this course gives me confidence to further explore dialogues of Socrates and Plato.Course is overall good, not too concentrated and lightweight. Professor adds quite a lot of humor and tries to make subject more clear by explaining in multiple ways. Personally it was a little diluted for my taste hence felt that videos as well as book commentary could have been more concentrated.But surely recommend trying out this course to see if this something for you. Certainly course adds value and clears your understanding of these dialogues.

By Carla L R

May 22, 2018

John Holbo is an outstanding Professor who has successfully managed to explain such a complex reading that is Republic using down-to-earth language and making you feel comfortable while reading it. I highly recommend it!

By Sunita d

May 20, 2018

its good to join course and vedios are all helping but less is ellevorated about the flow means story. There are good reason and justified persuasion but without the base of complete stody its hard to understand them.

By Bob B

Apr 22, 2018

Very well explained how Socrates use dialectic inquiry and reasoning with the virtual topic, which the concepts are hard to be well defined and commonly people have very intuitive understanding about them.

By Kasem C

Mar 31, 2018

If you want to brush up or go deeper into Plato's dialogues, then you will gain much from this course.

By Subrahmanyan M

Feb 24, 2018

Well designed

simplified course

By ANDRES R P D

Feb 08, 2018

Original technique for teaching and deep capacity to search, find and expose essence of such complex matter as are this Dialogues By Plato. Funny lecture stile without loosing academy rigor.

By Daniel S

Jan 31, 2018

Outstanding professor, brings Philosophy to life ... really enjoyed it

By Tony W

Dec 17, 2017

Very interesting, diversity of material (drawings used) and of texts used makes every chapter seem fresh. Professor is funny and random jokes kept me involved whilst staying relaxed.

By Benjamin A O

Dec 01, 2017

c'était cool

By marco g

Oct 31, 2017

boring

By Nhat L

Sep 26, 2017

Highly recommend to study. Very informative course

By Maria

Aug 17, 2017

I highly recommend this course. I have learned a lot and really enjoyed Profesor Holbo sessions and cartoons.

By Roberto R

Aug 16, 2017

wonderfuff, thanks

By Clive D

Aug 16, 2017

Very good and interesting course.

By Tahir S

Jun 29, 2017

A, rather, novel and energetic approach to ancient philosophy. The assessment method was challenging but though-provoking! The last two weeks on moral psychology are gems even for those who have read Plato's three dialogues on their own.

By jose g v w

Jun 20, 2017

Good course, but the quizzes don't follow the logic of the exposition. Think they should explore the insights of the teacher.

By Yael H

Jun 14, 2017

Wonderful, funny, thought provoking, rich, and very clear