Chevron Left
Voltar para Pixel Art for Video Games

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Pixel Art for Video Games da instituição Universidade Estadual de Michigan

4.6
estrelas
181 classificações
60 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course is aimed to give you the tools and knowledge you need to start creating simple art for video games made in the Unity game engine. Through the aesthetic of pixel art we will explore artistic principals like shape language, color theory, and composition as well as show you a step by step workflow for creating assets that you can use to make your own games. The course is broken into 4 main modules, props, environments, characters, and animation. Each of these courses will have a series of video lessons alternating between artistic and technical skills culminating in a peer-reviewed project based assignment. The last module will challenge you to take the knowledge learned in the previous 4 and use it to create your own pixel art asset pack. This course is aimed at art novices who are interested in creating art for their own games or contributing to game projects. If you are a game designer or programmer, you will find this course helps give you a glimpse into the world of game art. You will be able to better work with artists, or create your own prototype or final artwork. If you are an artist or visual designer who is interested in bringing your style to the world of video game development, this course will give you the workflow to properly interface with a game engine and help contextualize how your artistic sensibilities can enable gameplay. If you have ever wanted to start making art for video games but have no idea how to start, this course is the perfect for giving you a solid foundation while teaching you usable practical skills. Our goal is to give you a sense of the whole pipeline from creation to setting up in a game engine....

Melhores avaliações

IG
5 de Nov de 2020

I really loved this course, I learned how to create pixel art (assets = characters, tiles and backgrounds), how to sketch a character before working on it and create animation.

NM
15 de Out de 2020

If you're a beginner trying out pixel art for games for the first time, this would be a great place to start. It will help you get started and would help you in the long run.

Filtrar por:

51 — 61 de 61 Avaliações para o Pixel Art for Video Games

por A. L F

29 de Abr de 2020

I did learn a lot from this course after practicing and applying myself. It's clear a lot of practice is going to be required though. Thank you.

por hemanthsatyendra v

5 de Ago de 2020

The Course was excellent. It can place you from a zero level to an Intermediate Level. It would be awesome if more content is there.

por TheoOg!

22 de Jun de 2020

Awesome course. The learning curve is steep if you have never used unity or photoshop though - It slows down progress.

por San M G

15 de Jul de 2019

It was really fun to make it. The last work was a little bit too much, but overall nice.

por J-Man

21 de Abr de 2020

A solid course for learning pixel art with a heavy basis on use within Unity.

por JHONATAN D M B

4 de Jul de 2020

this course is perfect for the beginning of the desigment of a video game

por Arunabha T

30 de Mar de 2020

great and fun course to do

por Hunter F

3 de Dez de 2021

A​s a complete novice with regards to pixel art (aside from an abundant fascination with the craft and, of course, games that employ the art style) I can't thank MSU and Professors Dennis and Guimaraes enough for allowing me to tap into my potential and finally take the first step towards achieving what may as well be a lifelong dream of mine; creating art for (and eventually developing) video games. H​earing references to things like the Super Nintendo or Game Boy (the original monochrome sprite of Pikachu was an unexpected surprise!) just made me all giddy, knowing that video games were finally, finally, a part of my work and not just a means of "goofing off" anymore.

T​he course is adequately detailed, enjoyable to watch/listen along with, and really well-rounded in the techniques it sets out to teach in such a relatively short amount of time; however, nothing is perfect, and I do feel like PAVG has room to improve despite its smaller-than-average timeframe. The main problem is, without a doubt, the content of the video "lectures." Don't get me wrong, the videos were the de-facto tool I had opened next to my Photoshop window whenever I worked, but they either were way too long (for the more traditional art techniques taught by Prof. Guimaraes) or absolutely too short (as was the case with Prof. Dennis's actual Pixel Art tutorials) with no real in-between. I understand that as an art course at its core, traditional art concepts such as color theory and character design are not just useful, but essential; that said, the fact that the videos focused on them -- with no application directly applied to Pixel Art aside from a passing mention by Prof. Dennis later on -- took up more than half of the amount of time spent watching the instructory videos felt bizarre. By comparison, Prof. Dennis's tutorials, if I'm not mistaken, rarely surpassed a solid five minutes, if ever. As such, Prof. Dennis's videos felt rushed and shallow in their execution, and the constant use of fast-forward combined with somewhat awkward pauses got frustrating at many points. Having us see the process without straight-out telling us the step-by-step points of it would be fine, but way more often than not, Prof. Dennis would have already drawn something richly detailed out in the span of (literally, in the character tutorial's case) five seconds, leaving me frankly stunned and repeatedly rewinding the last few seconds just to see/ensure if I was doing things correctly. As something that regards itself as a beginner-friendly and "no-prior-experience-needed" introductory course, (there's even an Introduction to Photoshop video in Week 1) the actual getting down to work each week just served as massive difficulty spikes. Compounding all of this was the lack of actual grading by the Professors themselves; every assignment submission from start to finish is only reviewed and graded by your peers. I have no doubt that we all have a clear understanding of the requirements of the assignments, but considering pursuing this course as a means of a first-step towards entry into such a sprawling industry, not having any feedback from the professionals made some of my work (despite getting perfect scores most times!) feel lesser and almost cheap. I'm by no means pefect -- again, I may as well be a complete amateur -- but I still feel like something being graded as an 8/8 should be at least verified by the people who are actually teaching us this content.

I​ take all of this into consideration to say, to anyone considering taking this course, you should still come on in and go for it. I stress the fact that prior to these past five weeks, I didn't know anything about designing pixel art besides zooming all the way into a Photoshop drawing and going pixel-by-pixel, and now I type this with an entire platformer's scene animated in Unity. This course can and will teach you amazing things that are equally as amazing to see coming to life by your own hand, but that's the caveat as well as the strength of this course; you need to be confident in your own capabilities, because you're ultimately on your own aside from a few minutes of video tutorials that speed by.

por Janet M

3 de Ago de 2020

Very challenging for a Beginner's class at times. Peer grading isn't the best and there could be more input from the Instructors. The arts foundation classes were very well taught and had great content, however the Unity part could use more content with clearer instructions.I learned many new skills in this class and I am inspired to continue creating pixel art

por Iman A

13 de Ago de 2020

The training was very good and useful, but it was very fast and superficial to go through the tips and tools and needed more guidance.

por Isabel J L

31 de Mai de 2021

​es demasiado tecnico