Chevron Left
Voltar para Seeing Through Photographs

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Seeing Through Photographs da instituição Museu de Arte ModernaMuseu de Arte Moderna

4.8
estrelas
3,303 classificações
893 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Although taking, sharing, and viewing photographs has become second nature for many of us, our regular engagement with images does not necessarily make us visually literate. This course aims to address the gap between seeing and truly understanding photographs by introducing a diversity of ideas, approaches, and technologies that inform their making. In this course you will look closely at photographs from the collection of The Museum of Modern Art and hear a variety of perspectives on what a photograph is and the ways that photography has been used throughout its nearly 180 year history: as a means of artistic expression, as a tool for science and exploration; as an instrument of documentation; to tell stories and record histories; and as a mode of communication and critique in our ever increasingly visual culture. Learning Objectives • Develop skills to better examine and understand the differences between photographs and photographic images. • Discover how context influences the production, circulation, and reception of photographic images. • Learn about different modes of artistic and technological experimentation and innovation in photography. • Investigate photography’s role in our increasingly visual culture....

Melhores avaliações

AQ

Mar 09, 2016

Seeing Through Photographs has given me a whole new way of looking at my own and other peoples' work. So many aspects, details and points of view, the world of photography now seems even more amazing.

EE

Jun 03, 2019

It was very insightful, and a good thing is they offered quizzes and other full content, which some other free courses do not, which really helps learning. Hope to go for other courses under them. :)

Filtrar por:

151 — 175 de 883 Avaliações para o Seeing Through Photographs

por Jaime A A V

May 06, 2020

It is an amazing course. it gives you great tools to make judgments and to appraise photographic material from different kind of artists. I enjoyed all the lessons and read every text consciously as it brings you closer to the compositions.

por Míriam Á D

May 05, 2019

I highly recommend this course as it's so stimulating and you can learn a lot about the history of photography and how to understand it. It's very proffessional and the contents are of very good quality. Thanks a lot to all the course team.

por Sofía C

Jan 03, 2019

This course really helped me to appreciate the history of photography and to learn and see it from another perspective, I also got to know a lot of new really important photographers, I would totally recommend this to colleagues or friends.

por Steve O

May 25, 2020

If you love photography and the history behind it, this is the course for you. Different ideas, techniques, and an overall appreciation for the creative arts is what this class is all about! Worth the time and money for that certificate :)

por Renata A C

May 31, 2020

The Seeing Trough Photographs course was splendid opportunity to improve my point of view, learn more about the Photography's 180 years of history and understand how to use such a valuable past to improve my work. I surely recommend it.

por mouna s

Aug 11, 2016

I'm impressed by the way different photos were included in each module. It shows that the curator does have inspiring advanced skills of observation. And she also prompt us to implement ours throughout the course and on every aspect.

por Massimo C

May 22, 2020

I really appreciate the approach of the course, with deep insight in different aspects about the lecture of the photography grammar and it gives me a new, wider, capacity to interpretate and consider the.... oceans of images around us!

por Bhavya

Oct 15, 2017

This course has allowed me to truly appreciate photographs and also in accordance understand the artist intention in dealing with the photograph he or she has made. I m also thankful for many other new insights that I have found .

por Ricardo C L

Apr 07, 2016

Fabuloso, se aprende mucho de la visión de los artistas y de que es lo que quieren transmitir con esas imágenes. Un curso muy interesante y con una información muy detallada de cada artista o serie fotográfica.

Muy recomendable!

por Mary M T C

Apr 14, 2020

Definitely an eye-opener! An eye-opener not only to the intentions and personal meanings brought by photographers on the images they created but to the ability of one's self to understand the history of images presented to us.

por Tarina L R

Jul 03, 2020

It was a beautiful tour of the past and present in the history of photography, this course has sparked even more my interest in continuing to study this medium and it has forever changed the way I will take a photo next time.

por Adnan H

Apr 08, 2020

Its a wonderful journey of understanding images and there impact on our lives. Equally recommended for general family curator to a professional photographer. and yes art lovers it a gift! Thank you MoMA, thank you coursera!

por Doris A V N

Aug 23, 2017

Grandioso curso! Muy completo, fácil de entender y nos brinda lecturas, vídeos, ejercicios para comprensión de cada tema. Es una excelente herramienta para adentrarnos al conocimiento básico de la historia de la fotografía!

por Simone M

Apr 26, 2017

I Really loved this course,

It introduced me new keywords,language,different way to analysed a

piece of art and specially New Photographers that

actually i've been at the exhibit while i was Studying it.

Highly recommended

por Ludovica D B

Jun 22, 2020

excellent for whom wants a deep insight of photography.

Very interesting topics and each week they present a variety of artists and photographs. Loved learning more with all the different techniques that the course present

por Cecilia P

Jun 08, 2020

Thank you for this beautiful media opportunity known by the observation of photography that I ignored and for guiding and accompanying me in this well-structured study path both on the content and technical level. Thanks

por MONTALAND

Oct 31, 2016

Excellente pédagogie, avec une rigueur historique et des intervenants de qualité.

Une façon artistique et historique de découvrir les enjeux liés à la pratique de la photo.

Merci

Gilles MONTALAND

gilles.montaland@gmail.com

por Olga G

Jun 28, 2016

This is the first online course I have ever done, and I guess I couldn't have chosen better. It's gripping, thoroughly prepared, there is a grand variety of materials that accompany every lesson. I highly recommend it!

por Nuno B

Feb 08, 2017

I really enjoyed the Course. It's very well organized and it has a very interesting syllabus. The videos and talks in each module are really interesting and informative. And all the recommended readings wvery helpful.

por Rohit V

Jun 09, 2020

This has been monumental learning, well structured and thought-provoking.

Well supported by incredible course material, support from the instructors and really a paradigm shift in your view of Photography as a whole.

por Nidibou P | N B

Apr 12, 2020

The course will probably help you learn something new about photography. In my case, it was even more interesting, since I was looking for new ways of getting inspired, during the covid-19 isolation and I found many.

por Jennifer D

Dec 12, 2016

I loved this course! So inspiring and wonderful. Makes you want to pick up your camera and apply what you have learned. I know the photography class I teach will love looking at the work of the artists featured here.

por Oscar A D P

May 31, 2020

Totally worth it! I strongly recommend this course to all aspiring photographer who wants to delve more into this art and its history, and the way it has been involved in the wolrd and our undertanding of images :')

por Yi H

May 27, 2020

I have learned a lot from this course. The new perspectives and focus on different aspect of image that I never thought about and that helps me to look photography in more sensitive way. Thank you MoMA and Coursera!