Chevron Left
Voltar para Philosophy, Science and Religion: Philosophy and Religion

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Philosophy, Science and Religion: Philosophy and Religion da instituição Universidade de EdimburgoUniversidade de Edimburgo

4.6
estrelas
234 classificações
56 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Philosophy, Science and Religion mark three of the most fundamental modes of thinking about the world and our place in it. Are these modes incompatible? Put another way: is the intellectually responsible thing to do to ‘pick sides’ and identify with one of these approaches at the exclusion of others? Or, are they complementary or mutually supportive? As is typical of questions of such magnitude, the devil is in the details. For example, it is important to work out what is really distinctive about each of these ways of inquiring about the world. In order to gain some clarity here, we’ll be investigating what some of the current leading thinkers in philosophy, science and religion are actually doing. This course, entitled ‘Philosophy and Religion’, is the second of three related courses in our Philosophy, Science and Religion Online series, and in this course we will ask important questions about the age-old debate between science and religion, such as: • What kind of conflicts are there between religion and science? • Does current cognitive science of religion effectively explain away God? • If there is a God who has made us so that we can know him, why do some people not believe? • Is belief in science also a kind of fundamentalism? • What makes us good at getting, giving, or sharing, knowledge? Is this different when it is religious knowledge? The first course in the Philosophy, Science and Religion series, 'Science and Philosophy' was launched early in 2017 and you can sign up to it at any time. The third course —‘Religion and Science’—will be launched early in 2018. Completing all three courses will give you a broader understanding of this fascinating topic. Look for: • Philosophy, Science and Religion I: Science and Philosophy https://www.coursera.org/learn/philosophy-science-religion-1/ • Philosophy, Science and Religion III: Religion and Science Upon successful completion of all three courses, students will: (1) Understand the main parameters at stake in the current debate between science and religion. (2) Have some familiarity with the relevant areas of science that feature in the debate—including cosmology, evolution, and the neurosciences—and will have begun to engage with them conceptually. (3) Have encountered key philosophical approaches to the interface between science and religion, and will have had the opportunity to engage them in practice. (4) Have embarked constructively in cross-disciplinary conversations. (5) Have demonstrated an openness to personal growth through a commitment to dialogue across intellectual and spiritual boundaries. You can also follow us on Twitter at https://twitter.com/EdiPhilOnline and you can follow the hashtag #psrmooc...

Melhores avaliações

B

May 30, 2020

The course was really beneficial especially for people who want to know deeper information about the truth of the begging, the main argue and how people are different in thinking.

MH

Apr 29, 2020

It is a good course that provide a basic understanding for inter-relation between religion and philosophy as both of the believe systems have existed since hundred years ago

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Philosophy, Science and Religion: Philosophy and Religion

por Aman S

Nov 15, 2017

Very informative and Well designed course to dive into the field of Philosophy, Science and Religion.

por Derrick J R

Sep 25, 2017

I love this subject matter, I just wish the tests where a wee bit tougher. I think these courses should be mandatory at least in high school and especially college. Thank you to the staff for putting together a fun class. Maybe next time make the course 18 weeks similar to a real university course, I would love that.

por Jared E

Jun 02, 2018

Honestly, it was pretty lackluster. An entire module (the one on the hiddenness argument) was absolutely irrelevant, but pretended to be otherwise. This course is mostly philosophers who lack experience with religion discussing religion. The focus on Scientism would also be better placed in the Science and Religion course.

por A K

Dec 26, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed the three part course on "Philosophy, Science and Religion" by the University of Edinburgh. A BIG THANK YOU to those who put these courses together.

Philosophy is the ultimate mother of all knowledge, and irrespective of one's specific subject interest and expertise, makes one even more interested and deeper, by making the thinking and ideas fundamentally clearer. In this series, the designers wonderfully weaved the relationship between the three apparently diverse disciplines in a cohesive narrative, making ones understanding richer! THANK YOU!

I Look forward to other courses from you all!

por Christopher W

Jun 10, 2018

This was a first class course in all respects. The calibre of the lecturers was very high indeed and they all made the material very accessible.

por Fogan A

Mar 09, 2019

I like the course. it helps me understand many things! thanks

por Nicholas P

Feb 19, 2019

Really interesting and well put together course.

por René D N A

Feb 12, 2019

buenísimo

por BILAL S

Feb 10, 2019

awasome

por John L M

May 03, 2020

This was by far the most difficult of the three-course series for me, and it may be that philosophy for me is the most challenging of the three fields. I liked Prof Ritchie's approach--the brain sciences were made accessible. However, whomever wrote one of the quizzes after Prof Greco's lecture needs to go back to school. I parsed one of the questions repeatedly, went back over and over to the lecture transcript, and I could make neither heads nor tails of what it was getting at regarding the correct response. Still, it made me more cognizant, despite the subtitle, of how science enriches the pursuit of wisdom in the other two realms. The variety of speakers and topics weekly keeps one enlivened and the supplemental readings and videos are welcome as resources for further discovery and learning.

por Pablo G A

Jun 21, 2018

I find this course very interesting and well structured. I reckon that these three courses about Philosophy, Science and Religion conform a very complete approach to the topic. I would recommend these three courses to anyone interested in our role as human-beings in the existence. I feel very grateful to the instructors of the courses and Coursera's platform.

por Sidney C

Sep 13, 2017

As a Theist I think that the class was very evenly presented with methods of being a skeptic and asking relevant questions of our own thinking as well as the thinking of others. I suggested in the forum to be an open minded skeptic and not a closed minded skeptic, that applies to both the

por Rhiannon P

Apr 01, 2020

Really useful extension ideas to elevate my A Level essays (I study Philosophy Ethics& Religion.) Having a MOOC has made me consider Edinburgh as clearly they are working to level the playing field for state school kids to get into Philosophy too. I will definitely apply next year.

por Joy S

Feb 22, 2018

kind of liked the format. Only a few questions at a time: not too much gets thrown at a person on a quiz. The instructors seemed also to impart info so that I could understand, as demonstrated by an immediate short quiz. It's interesting stuff.

por Dana S

Aug 05, 2019

The course I loved it so much. Easy to acces, to understand and to follow what teachers says. I am so happy that I improved my knowledges through Coursera course. Thank you very much for your effort to help us.

por Eugen M

Jan 26, 2018

As a sort of Coursera veteran, I have to say that this is the course to attend if you want to master, or, at least, understand more, complex and complicated issues of philosophy, science, and religion.

por Batool M

May 30, 2020

The course was really beneficial especially for people who want to know deeper information about the truth of the begging, the main argue and how people are different in thinking.

por MUHAMMAD I B A H

Apr 29, 2020

It is a good course that provide a basic understanding for inter-relation between religion and philosophy as both of the believe systems have existed since hundred years ago

por Sophie T

May 22, 2020

really interesting and accessible with different topics and different angles. Makes you think in a whole new way!

por Kiranmai J

May 11, 2020

The inter relationship between all the three concept has to be understood for having through knowledge creation

por Edmund M

Dec 08, 2017

Refreshing to be updated with the latest developments in epistemology and philosophy of religion among others.

por Andrii K

May 24, 2020

This course is very interesting. I recomend it. I am going to use some information for my articals.

por Saúl A

Oct 26, 2017

The content and the explanations given in this course are really clear, interesting and fruitful

por Gurucharan R

Aug 18, 2018

Very intuitive to get to know the fundamentals of the Religions, Science and Philosophy.

por Daniel T

May 06, 2018

great topic, great professors, had a great time and have accrued further understanding