Chevron Left
Voltar para Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences da instituição Universidade de EdimburgoUniversidade de Edimburgo

4.6
estrelas
1,223 classificações
274 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Course Description What is our role in the universe as human agents capable of knowledge? What makes us intelligent cognitive agents seemingly endowed with consciousness? This is the second part of the course 'Philosophy and the Sciences', dedicated to Philosophy of the Cognitive Sciences. Scientific research across the cognitive sciences has raised pressing questions for philosophers. The goal of this course is to introduce you to some of the main areas and topics at the key juncture between philosophy and the cognitive sciences. Each week we will introduce you to some of these important questions at the forefront of scientific research. We will explain the science behind each topic in a simple, non-technical way, while also addressing the philosophical and conceptual questions arising from it. Areas you’ll learn about will include: Philosophy of psychology, among whose issues we will cover the evolution of the human mind and the nature of consciousness. Philosophy of neurosciences, where we’ll consider the nature of human cognition and the relation between mind, machines, and the environment. Learning objectives Gain a fairly well-rounded view on selected areas and topics at the intersection of philosophy and the sciences Understand some key questions, and conceptual problems arising in the cognitive sciences. Develop critical skills to evaluate and assess these problems. Suggested Readings To accompany 'Philosophy and the Sciences', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Philosophy and the Sciences' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy and the Sciences team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please note, this companion book is optional - all the resources needed to complete the course are available freely and listed on the course site....

Melhores avaliações

CG
10 de Fev de 2020

this course was very broad and incredibly interesting. I highly recommend it as introduction to the philosophy of science, but I have to warn you: Once you have started, your journey won't stop here!

AS
24 de Jun de 2020

this is the great course for the people who are pursuing their carer in philosophy, philosophy of mind to be more precise and also for the people who are thinking of doing psychology later anytime.

Filtrar por:

226 — 250 de 273 Avaliações para o Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences

por Mohamed A

4 de Abr de 2017

This is a complete introduction the cognitive sciences. A great course to start with, but is still for the beginners

por Jay K

13 de Mai de 2020

Exceptional and accessible introductory course into the cognitive science and evolutionary and adaptive principles.

por Robert L

8 de Set de 2017

A good overview though it does mix and match definition from Edinburgh research rather than research in general.

por Magdalena M

30 de Mai de 2020

The slides for the last weeks lectures were a bit unstructured, would love if that was a bit more organized.

por Manolis P

28 de Nov de 2016

Approachable, easy to follow, interesting examples, rich additional readings, good lecturers, easy exams

por Karin F

22 de Mar de 2017

Great course! Could've been longer. Looking forward to more online courses from the U of Edinburgh.

por Israel Á P J

13 de Ago de 2020

Thanks for the course, I enjoy more than the first part! I loved the funny options in the quizzes.

por Helene L E

6 de Jan de 2021

Great course, scratching the surface of many important concepts and explaining them well.

por Yan L

6 de Mai de 2019

I enjoyed the course, but felt like something was missing from the course.

por Ignacio J B P

12 de Ago de 2019

It lacks a certain unity, maybe because it has many different teachers.

por Marie F

20 de Ago de 2018

Really Interesting, gives a first idea of what cognitive sciences are !

por Troy

1 de Mai de 2019

A pretty course to have a brief understanding of cognitive science.

por Srikanth G

14 de Fev de 2019

One of the most thought provoking courses. Lot to think and learn.

por Jonathan G

13 de Fev de 2018

fascinating course. I had no idea this was connected to robotics!

por Sidney C

21 de Jun de 2017

This is a well done overview of Cognitive Sciences. Thank you.

por Daniel G

15 de Jan de 2021

I was expecting a bit more of Philosophy of research methods

por Carola S

25 de Jul de 2020

Very interesting course and could have been longer.

por scalesr4

5 de Ago de 2017

I love these topics and all of the implications.

por Madhura A

4 de Jul de 2020

A very interesting and well structured course.

por JEEVA T

19 de Jul de 2020

I'm really happy doing this course

por 梅思远

4 de Mai de 2020

a brief introduction to the topic.

por Sherry P

19 de Ago de 2020

Challenging, but fun.

por Dr C J W

25 de Jan de 2019

I came to update my existing knowledge of Cognitive Science (which dates from the 1990s), and this short course worked well enough for that.

However, it was a bit variable in quality for me. Andy Clark was okay, I got annoyed with the Philosophy of Consciousness lecture (probably not the lecturer's fault, more the terms of the debate), but I really loved Series's lecture on the Bayesian Brain.

The quizzes will not leave you feeling you have achieved great things, however - too easy. I won't be purchasing a certificate for my wall.

por Marcel D S

16 de Jun de 2017

Nice introduction to the philosophy of cognitive sciences. As a psychology undergraduate, I have seen some of the material before but still, I've learned a thing or two. My biggest problem with the course is that it's very short and the quizzes are no real challenge. It took me three days to finish this course with 100% accuracy which diminishes the value of the certificate. However, the course recommends some interesting readings with which I'll spend a bit more time with.

por Anjali N

4 de Nov de 2020

I found it okay-ish. Some of the abstract concepts explained by the lecturers can be taught in simpler easier to understand ways. I thought it was my problem at first, not being a native English speaker, but I was able to find a lot of resources online explaining the same concepts in easier ways. So I'd definitely recommend the staff to re-work the lecture material keeping in mind the diverse audience on the internet!