Chevron Left
Voltar para Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences da instituição Universidade de EdimburgoUniversidade de Edimburgo

4.6
estrelas
1,261 classificações
285 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Course Description What is our role in the universe as human agents capable of knowledge? What makes us intelligent cognitive agents seemingly endowed with consciousness? This is the second part of the course 'Philosophy and the Sciences', dedicated to Philosophy of the Cognitive Sciences. Scientific research across the cognitive sciences has raised pressing questions for philosophers. The goal of this course is to introduce you to some of the main areas and topics at the key juncture between philosophy and the cognitive sciences. Each week we will introduce you to some of these important questions at the forefront of scientific research. We will explain the science behind each topic in a simple, non-technical way, while also addressing the philosophical and conceptual questions arising from it. Areas you’ll learn about will include: Philosophy of psychology, among whose issues we will cover the evolution of the human mind and the nature of consciousness. Philosophy of neurosciences, where we’ll consider the nature of human cognition and the relation between mind, machines, and the environment. Learning objectives Gain a fairly well-rounded view on selected areas and topics at the intersection of philosophy and the sciences Understand some key questions, and conceptual problems arising in the cognitive sciences. Develop critical skills to evaluate and assess these problems. Suggested Readings To accompany 'Philosophy and the Sciences', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Philosophy and the Sciences' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy and the Sciences team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please note, this companion book is optional - all the resources needed to complete the course are available freely and listed on the course site....

Melhores avaliações

CG

10 de fev de 2020

this course was very broad and incredibly interesting. I highly recommend it as introduction to the philosophy of science, but I have to warn you: Once you have started, your journey won't stop here!

AS

24 de jun de 2020

this is the great course for the people who are pursuing their carer in philosophy, philosophy of mind to be more precise and also for the people who are thinking of doing psychology later anytime.

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de 284 Avaliações para o Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences

por Blair K W D

29 de abr de 2020

Really enjoyed the course. I enjoyed learning about how the brain works. And how Cognitive Science works.

por Peter

30 de ago de 2018

Very good overview into an interesting topic. Takes into account different views off the topic. Liked it!

por Seraphina T

1 de mar de 2021

A wide ranging subject, taught clearly, with a reasonable level of challenging material. Very enjoyable!

por Wanda V

27 de dez de 2020

Très enrichissant, et très bien expliqué. Les traductions (Français) sont également de bonnes qualités.

por Valentine N

6 de fev de 2019

A great subject it is thanks for enabling me go through it. I have gained some insight into cognition!

por Gaelle R

2 de fev de 2021

Absolutely fantastic. Would love similar classes that build on this please, especially re: evolution!

por Vincent W

10 de set de 2018

I learned some really interesting things from this course that I will be using in an upcoming project

por jorge e r g

2 de mai de 2018

This course I help myself to updating concepts and to be to the forefront in the area of philosophy.

por Abdulkader K

29 de mar de 2020

It is a great course which introduces great facts and theories given by a great team of professors.

por Basset B

19 de abr de 2020

great cours and good teachers with aewsome plan and universitys, but ist verry small and beginner!

por Fuyad b h

25 de set de 2020

I want to thanks all of you who have involved with this course directly or indirectly to succeed.

por Walter C L J

18 de mar de 2022

Curso excelente. Grande aprendizado sobre o processo cognitivo e sua relação com a computação.

por Natascha I

20 de out de 2017

Muy bueno. Claro. Conciso. Al alcance de quien desee aprender sobre esta interesante temática!

por Jimena P L

2 de out de 2020

Super interesting! It is simple but not to a level that becomes boring to hear the lectures.

por Prerana H

20 de mar de 2019

Excellent introduction to important concepts, with clear lectures and good reading materials

por J Y T

16 de dez de 2017

Short and informative, full of food for thought for behavioural and social science students.

por ramlal s

31 de dez de 2020

Excellent, this is my third course on Philosophy from UoE - super helpful. Thanks a lot !

por Clare H

12 de jan de 2018

I thought this was a great overview: well-produced, engaging, and thought-provoking.

por Lucas B P

1 de jul de 2020

Course that offers highly specialized knowledge in a very simple and concise way.

por Proinsias R

4 de fev de 2020

Very enjoyable journey of insightful philosophical and scientific exploration.

por Samson T

9 de jan de 2018

I am a full-time postgraduate student and have found this course very useful!

por Alexander S

13 de fev de 2017

Very interesting material with really demonstrative examples and experiments.

por Liliana

13 de mai de 2019

I loved! Too bad there were only 2-3 videos per week - could have been more!

por Vikash M

8 de jul de 2020

A great overview of the twinning between cognitive sciences and philosophy.

por Josip C

4 de set de 2017

Excellent course, concentrated presentations, easy to follow, fun learning.