Chevron Left
Voltar para Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences da instituição Universidade de EdimburgoUniversidade de Edimburgo

4.6
estrelas
1,248 classificações
281 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Course Description What is our role in the universe as human agents capable of knowledge? What makes us intelligent cognitive agents seemingly endowed with consciousness? This is the second part of the course 'Philosophy and the Sciences', dedicated to Philosophy of the Cognitive Sciences. Scientific research across the cognitive sciences has raised pressing questions for philosophers. The goal of this course is to introduce you to some of the main areas and topics at the key juncture between philosophy and the cognitive sciences. Each week we will introduce you to some of these important questions at the forefront of scientific research. We will explain the science behind each topic in a simple, non-technical way, while also addressing the philosophical and conceptual questions arising from it. Areas you’ll learn about will include: Philosophy of psychology, among whose issues we will cover the evolution of the human mind and the nature of consciousness. Philosophy of neurosciences, where we’ll consider the nature of human cognition and the relation between mind, machines, and the environment. Learning objectives Gain a fairly well-rounded view on selected areas and topics at the intersection of philosophy and the sciences Understand some key questions, and conceptual problems arising in the cognitive sciences. Develop critical skills to evaluate and assess these problems. Suggested Readings To accompany 'Philosophy and the Sciences', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Philosophy and the Sciences' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy and the Sciences team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please note, this companion book is optional - all the resources needed to complete the course are available freely and listed on the course site....

Melhores avaliações

CG

10 de fev de 2020

this course was very broad and incredibly interesting. I highly recommend it as introduction to the philosophy of science, but I have to warn you: Once you have started, your journey won't stop here!

AS

24 de jun de 2020

this is the great course for the people who are pursuing their carer in philosophy, philosophy of mind to be more precise and also for the people who are thinking of doing psychology later anytime.

Filtrar por:

226 — 250 de 280 Avaliações para o Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences

por A K

13 de dez de 2016

I enjoyed this course very much! Provided a very fundamental framework for understanding what cognition is, and the associated problems, such as mind-body

por Daniela C L K M

24 de jul de 2020

Maybe I was hoping for more philosophy and a little less science. But it was great to learn and think about applied sciences using cognitive sciences too.

por Anastasia B

10 de ago de 2020

A good course. Very interesting but it is rather on the surface and doesn't really go in depth explaining the evolution of cognitive sciences

por James D R

18 de mar de 2019

I found the first three weeks to be great. The final week felt rushed and underwhelming. It was a shame to end on a whimper.

por Jesse

6 de jul de 2020

This is a relatively basic introductory program. Some interesting ideas had been introduced yet not been developed deeply.

por THOMAS W F

11 de abr de 2022

This was an excellent introduction to cognition, how we perceive it, seek to understand it, and strive to replicate it.

por Mohamed A

4 de abr de 2017

This is a complete introduction the cognitive sciences. A great course to start with, but is still for the beginners

por Jay K

13 de mai de 2020

Exceptional and accessible introductory course into the cognitive science and evolutionary and adaptive principles.

por Robert L

8 de set de 2017

A good overview though it does mix and match definition from Edinburgh research rather than research in general.

por Magdalena M

30 de mai de 2020

The slides for the last weeks lectures were a bit unstructured, would love if that was a bit more organized.

por Manolis P

28 de nov de 2016

Approachable, easy to follow, interesting examples, rich additional readings, good lecturers, easy exams

por Karin F

22 de mar de 2017

Great course! Could've been longer. Looking forward to more online courses from the U of Edinburgh.

por Israel Á P J

13 de ago de 2020

Thanks for the course, I enjoy more than the first part! I loved the funny options in the quizzes.

por Helene L E

6 de jan de 2021

Great course, scratching the surface of many important concepts and explaining them well.

por Amita F

14 de mai de 2022

T​hat is a great class that talks about the basic of philosophy of cognitive sciences.

por Yan L

6 de mai de 2019

I enjoyed the course, but felt like something was missing from the course.

por Ignacio J B P

12 de ago de 2019

It lacks a certain unity, maybe because it has many different teachers.

por Marie F

20 de ago de 2018

Really Interesting, gives a first idea of what cognitive sciences are !

por Troy

1 de mai de 2019

A pretty course to have a brief understanding of cognitive science.

por Srikanth G

14 de fev de 2019

One of the most thought provoking courses. Lot to think and learn.

por Jonathan G

13 de fev de 2018

fascinating course. I had no idea this was connected to robotics!

por Sidney C

21 de jun de 2017

This is a well done overview of Cognitive Sciences. Thank you.

por Daniel G

15 de jan de 2021

I was expecting a bit more of Philosophy of research methods

por Carola S

25 de jul de 2020

Very interesting course and could have been longer.

por scalesr4

5 de ago de 2017

I love these topics and all of the implications.