Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Personal Branding

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Personal Branding da instituição Universidade da Virgínia

4.4
estrelas
7,856 classificações
2,450 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Though the concept of personal branding isn't new, questions remain about how to create one and, more importantly, what it means to maintain and inhabit that brand. Learners will: o Understand both what personal branding means and what it means to inhabit their brand o Establish themselves on at least three social media platforms o Create a mission statement for their personal brand o Build a board of directors for their brand o Become familiar with the basics of digital security and reputation management o Create a system for on-going brand maintenance Join instructor Kimberley R. Barker as she provides a warm, supportive atmosphere in which learners are encouraged to intensively explore themselves in order to create a personal brand that authentically and effectively communicates their values and professional gifts. Together we will build a strong community in which to provide encouragement and feedback, and support each other as learners pursue their goal of successful brand creation....

Melhores avaliações

OS
22 de Jun de 2021

This course helps to identify the best way for you to create your own branding, from understand your personality to creating your own mission statement and how to engage your audience on social media.

SI
29 de Ago de 2020

Understanding and application of Personal Branding with the fundamental skills to build leadership skills in the personal branding success in business is very important in today's E-network business.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 2,439 Avaliações para o Introduction to Personal Branding

por Robert G S P

5 de Jan de 2019

It was an introduction. But I expected a bit more: For example using brand management from the corporate side and applying it to personal branding. I would have liked to see more examples of best practices. The privacy part was nice and alert settings on social media. This was practical. The content seemed a bit dated based on the articles presented during the lecture. I rated it low because compared to other MOOCs I have taken it just is of lower quality based on 1) substance 2) presentation and 3) fun of learning

por Md I I C

13 de Jun de 2020

70% of video lecture materials in this course was useless. It’s not a well organized Course. The title name could be “ personal branding on social networking sites “.

I think Mentor Kimberley Barker need to work on public speaking and presentation, work on her gesture especially on your facial expression.

Overall it’s killed my valuable time, you need to rethink and reorganized this course materials.

I wonder how University of Virginia offer this unorganized course!

Ultimately this course has defamed the reputation of University of Virginia as well as Coursera.

por Cristina B

27 de Ago de 2018

Lo encontre muy básico, poca utilidad practica, es más bien una clase de carácter de auto conocimiento sencillo. Esperaba mas. Me parece que con el prestigio que tiene coursera, los videos del curso, donde el público son adultos con educación, son mediocres, de vocabulario simple y reiterativos.

por Carlos R C G

15 de Abr de 2016

Poor quality videos make the course less appealing and make it seems to be unprofessional

por Laima R

2 de Mai de 2019

I loved the class although as I am working with Social Media myself for businesses it is a bit similar as brand management. You have to keep in mind that it is an introduction and it is a GREAT intro.

por Samke

3 de Abr de 2020

Perhaps this course who have been more relevant several years ago. Most of what is teaches is practically common sense to people 30 and under. Otherwise, I'd recommend it for the older generation who have no experience with having a digital presence

por Anke K

2 de Mai de 2020

I thought it was very, very, very basic. From former courses I was used to more deep information for optional reading. An update for this course would be appropriate. Especially as so much has happened according to personal branding

por Divya V

27 de Mar de 2020

This is more like watching someones vlog & not a Course of any professional capacity.

por Julia I R B

31 de Ago de 2016

Poco profesional (las grabaciones, los artículos), el contenido no es bueno

por Victoria S

6 de Mar de 2017

Not even sure it worth one star, all due respect.

por Hamza F

15 de Mai de 2020

too old and needs a lot of updates!!

por Shik L P I

30 de Ago de 2020

Understanding and application of Personal Branding with the fundamental skills to build leadership skills in the personal branding success in business is very important in today's E-network business.

por Романычева С А

30 de Abr de 2019

Хороший курс

por Jenish

15 de Jun de 2020

As a free course it was okay(IF YOU JUST WANT CERTIFICATE), but if it was paid i would have asked for refund. Lecturer speaks about tree that is behind her for 30 second in 5 minute video. I think she just made this course to add a point in CV that she has made a MOOC. She has made Quiz as Joke, it has 3 to 6 questions and anybody can pass the quiz even without watching or reading any content of this course.

por Aamir M

7 de Abr de 2020

The course is very basic and I think it is pretty unstructured compared to other courses offered on this platform. I was expecting more concrete knowledge or tools and techniques that would be shared. The quizzes are the least challenging part of the course.

por Chris L

9 de Jun de 2017

Some good info but overall a very basic course on branding if you're come from marketing/communication background.

por Anudari Y

17 de Nov de 2020

This would maybe be an ok introduction for someone is perhaps completely unfamiliar with the internet or social media and would prefer a casual discussion about it.

If you have any experience already, most of this is a very broad reminder of things you probably already know, and most of it is just the professor's personal stories/self promo and random Forbes article links you can find yourself. You can find free vlogs/other content online about this topic that would be way more useful, especially in 2020.

por Maximilian P

1 de Jun de 2020

Terrible! It's basically a self promotion and verbal masturbation by the professor with no content.. Quiz questions are ridiculous and absolute no brainers. They basically say: "Should you go to school or should you smoke weed with the cool kids? Whats your answer?" Additionally, professor has a nervous tick fixing her hair every minute and the material are selfie videos filmed with her iPhone..

I hope Coursera will act and take this course offline since it provides NO academic value whatsoever!

por Saddam A A

3 de Jun de 2020

I think its too old .. it should be renew cuz lot of applications on soial media start after 2015

por Christy B

18 de Mai de 2020

This course was extremely helpful. Kimberley R. Barker is knowledgeable and personable. It's very easy to pay attention to her lecture videos and the content was useful from the get-go. I loved being introduced to her favorite things on one of the oldest and most beautiful college campuses in the country. Thank you for that!

Every exercise for me came with at least an extra four days' of research. I feel like I've been introduced to some important connections, even though I will probably never meet any of these people in person. The most important connection I made was with myself. I now have words to connect me to my own heart. Words that connect me with every person I come into contact with. And Words to describe my life's work in a way that my grandmother would be proud of, since she's the one who apprenticed me in her industry when I was just a small child.

I would love to learn more from Ms. Barker about reputation management, as having someone say something negative about my work is the one fear that keeps me from following every dream I've ever had. It's not the need to be liked, personally...I don't know, maybe that is a part of it...but when I dedicate part of my life to making someone else's life better in some way, it is just too hard to find out that they didn't appreciate my efforts. Plus, I've had to deal with a jealous friend who viciously smeared me because her bestie invited me to lunch. That was a temporary nightmare but apparently scarred me for life. Taking this class has shown me some ways to deal with bad-mouthers, but also, especially because I live in Arizona, has scared me to death because that ripoff report guy lives here, too. I do wonderful work in three fields of study. I just don't ever want to be attacked because of it. I'd really like to learn more about this.

por Chelsea B

20 de Jan de 2017

This was a very well thought out and well put together course. The instructor was excellent, and I learned new things. I recommend this course even if you have knowledge in the branding industry. You will learn something new or improve in some area. Thank you, instructor Kimberley!

por Jacquet C

2 de Mai de 2020

Excellent course that covers the subject in depth. Would benefit from updated examples and readings. Because they are already dated mid 2010's years. Otherwise very good job Mrs Barker ! Continue !

por Olivia S

23 de Jun de 2021

This course helps to identify the best way for you to create your own branding, from understand your personality to creating your own mission statement and how to engage your audience on social media.

por Swapnil S

10 de Mai de 2020

Hi Coursera team, Thank you for offering such a unique topic. Thanks a lot to Kimberly R. She is just amazing person with lots of information and her course delivery is fantastic. God bless you.

por farzin r

30 de Abr de 2019

good person and good teacher and good course

tnx