Chevron Left
Voltar para Mathematics for Machine Learning: PCA

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Mathematics for Machine Learning: PCA da instituição Imperial College London

4.0
estrelas
2,155 classificações
532 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This intermediate-level course introduces the mathematical foundations to derive Principal Component Analysis (PCA), a fundamental dimensionality reduction technique. We'll cover some basic statistics of data sets, such as mean values and variances, we'll compute distances and angles between vectors using inner products and derive orthogonal projections of data onto lower-dimensional subspaces. Using all these tools, we'll then derive PCA as a method that minimizes the average squared reconstruction error between data points and their reconstruction. At the end of this course, you'll be familiar with important mathematical concepts and you can implement PCA all by yourself. If you’re struggling, you'll find a set of jupyter notebooks that will allow you to explore properties of the techniques and walk you through what you need to do to get on track. If you are already an expert, this course may refresh some of your knowledge. The lectures, examples and exercises require: 1. Some ability of abstract thinking 2. Good background in linear algebra (e.g., matrix and vector algebra, linear independence, basis) 3. Basic background in multivariate calculus (e.g., partial derivatives, basic optimization) 4. Basic knowledge in python programming and numpy Disclaimer: This course is substantially more abstract and requires more programming than the other two courses of the specialization. However, this type of abstract thinking, algebraic manipulation and programming is necessary if you want to understand and develop machine learning algorithms....

Melhores avaliações

JS

Jul 17, 2018

This is one hell of an inspiring course that demystified the difficult concepts and math behind PCA. Excellent instructors in imparting the these knowledge with easy-to-understand illustrations.

NS

Jun 19, 2020

Relatively tougher than previous two courses in the specialization. I'd suggest giving more time and being patient in pursuit of completing this course and understanding the concepts involved.

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de 528 Avaliações para o Mathematics for Machine Learning: PCA

por Prime S

Jun 24, 2018

Nicely explained. Could be further improved by adding some noted or sources of derivation of some expressions, like references to matrix calculus

por J A M

Mar 21, 2019

Solid conceptual explanations of PCA make this course stand out. The thorough review of this content is a must for any serious data researcher.

por Sateesh K

Sep 24, 2020

This course should be part of "gems of coursera". Excellent specialization, thoroughly enjoyed it. For me the 3rd course on PCA was the best.

por Moez B

Nov 25, 2019

Excellent course. The fourth week material is the hardest for folks not comfortable with linear algebra and vectorization in numpy and scipy.

por Hasan A

Dec 31, 2018

What a great opportunity this course offers to learn from the best in this simplified manner. Thank you Coursera and Imperial College London!

por Duy P

Sep 24, 2020

Excellent explanation from the professor!! Besides he is the author of the book Mathematics for Machine Learning. You should check it out.

por Alexander H

Jul 31, 2018

Highly informative course! Loved the depth of the material. Found this course content highly useful in my current project based on PCA.

por Jason N

Feb 20, 2020

A lot of reading beyond the video lectures was required for me and some explanations could be more clear. Overall, a great course.

por Rishabh P

Jun 17, 2020

Well-detailed course and straight to the point. I enjoyed the course even though the programming assignments can be challenging

por UMAR T

Mar 10, 2020

Excellent course it helps you understanding about linear algebra programming into real world examples by programming in python.

por Josef N

May 14, 2020

It would be great if the course is extended to 8 weeks, with the current week 4 spanning at least 3 weeks. Otherwise great.

por Dora J

Feb 04, 2019

Great course including many useful refreshers on foundational concepts like inner products, projections, Lagrangian etc.

por Trung T V

Sep 19, 2019

This course is very helpful for me to understand Math for ML. Thank you Professors at Imperial College London so much!

por Mukund M

May 24, 2020

Professor Deisenroth is amazing. Very tough course but appreciated all the derivations and explanations of concepts.

por David H

Mar 21, 2019

It was challenging but worth it to enhance the mathematic skills for machine learning. Thanks for the awesome course.

por Lee F

Sep 28, 2018

This was the toughest of the three modules. It gave me a strong foundation to continue pusrsuing machine learning.

por Nileshkumar R P

May 06, 2020

This course was tough but awesome. Lots of things i learnt from this course. Great course indeed and worth doing.

por Nishek S

Jul 30, 2020

The PCA part Was a bit tricky barely handle the concepts.

thank you imperial team for such interactive course

por Krzysztof

Aug 21, 2019

One of the most challenging course in my life - almost impossible without python and mathematics background.

por Pratama A A

Aug 26, 2020

Need more Effort to grasp the materials explained_-" you need to be patience,the lecturer is really on top

por Nelson S S

Jul 29, 2020

Excellent course ... Quite challenging, a little difficult but I have learned a lot ... Thank you ...

por sameen n

Sep 06, 2019

Amazing course and provides basic introduction for the PCA. Need for programming help in this course.

por Brian H

Feb 25, 2020

Great course. I appreciate the rigor and clear mathematical explanations provided by Dr. Deisenroth.

por Natalya T

Feb 25, 2019

exellent course! nice python wokring enviroment and very good explanation at each topic. thank you!

por Aishik R

Jan 18, 2020

Excellent and to-the-point explanations, useful assignments to make the concepts etched in memory