Chevron Left
Voltar para Mathematics for Machine Learning: PCA

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Mathematics for Machine Learning: PCA da instituição Imperial College London

4.0
estrelas
2,157 classificações
533 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This intermediate-level course introduces the mathematical foundations to derive Principal Component Analysis (PCA), a fundamental dimensionality reduction technique. We'll cover some basic statistics of data sets, such as mean values and variances, we'll compute distances and angles between vectors using inner products and derive orthogonal projections of data onto lower-dimensional subspaces. Using all these tools, we'll then derive PCA as a method that minimizes the average squared reconstruction error between data points and their reconstruction. At the end of this course, you'll be familiar with important mathematical concepts and you can implement PCA all by yourself. If you’re struggling, you'll find a set of jupyter notebooks that will allow you to explore properties of the techniques and walk you through what you need to do to get on track. If you are already an expert, this course may refresh some of your knowledge. The lectures, examples and exercises require: 1. Some ability of abstract thinking 2. Good background in linear algebra (e.g., matrix and vector algebra, linear independence, basis) 3. Basic background in multivariate calculus (e.g., partial derivatives, basic optimization) 4. Basic knowledge in python programming and numpy Disclaimer: This course is substantially more abstract and requires more programming than the other two courses of the specialization. However, this type of abstract thinking, algebraic manipulation and programming is necessary if you want to understand and develop machine learning algorithms....

Melhores avaliações

JS

Jul 17, 2018

This is one hell of an inspiring course that demystified the difficult concepts and math behind PCA. Excellent instructors in imparting the these knowledge with easy-to-understand illustrations.

NS

Jun 19, 2020

Relatively tougher than previous two courses in the specialization. I'd suggest giving more time and being patient in pursuit of completing this course and understanding the concepts involved.

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de 529 Avaliações para o Mathematics for Machine Learning: PCA

por anurag

Apr 18, 2020

Its a very informational and interesting course. I understood a lot about PCA in this amazing course.

It was a good addition to the previous two courses of the certification. I would like to get similar courses in statistics and probability useful in Machine learning.

por Maksym B

Oct 18, 2020

Great course! It is a bit more challenging than the other courses in the specialization. It is great that this course is built based on two other previous courses. The lectures are great, the quizzes and programming assignments are complex enough to be interesting.

por Anna U

Jan 14, 2020

An excellently simple explanation of concepts of linear algebra and PCA. Applause for lector. I really liked this course and found it very useful for those newbies in machine learning like myself. I recommend this course to all my friends and others interested in.

por Ramon M T

Oct 23, 2019

I liked the course quite a bit. I found it quite challenging (I had never seen any PCA) but it always kept me very interested. I had to use several sources to read a little more about PCA and to complete the last exercises, the forum is very helpful.

por Bingfeng H

Aug 26, 2020

Very good course, although the programming assignments are challenging and some background knowlege in linear algebra and vector calculus required. You will need to do some independent research at times. But the instructions are clear and concise.

por Xavier B S

Apr 05, 2018

Excellent course - challenging yet rewarding with good feedback from the teaching staff.

The video and the transparent white board are also great - look forward to seeing more MOOCs from Imperial as well as the release of the upcoming book

por Jafed E G

Jul 06, 2019

I enjoy the lectures. The professor has a good speaking and teaching style which keeps me interested. Lots of concrete math examples which make it easier to understand. Very good slides which are well formulated and easy to understand

por chaomenghsuan

Jul 18, 2018

This one is harder, I took longer time to figure out the assignments. Some of the concept that appeared in the assignments were not included in the lectures. I do hope that the assignments could have clearer instructions.

por Abhishek M

Jun 22, 2019

Very nice course. It will be great to have a course on Statistics for Machine learning covering advanced concepts in probability theory. Thank you for offering such a great course. I have learnt a lot and enjoyed fully.

por María J S G

Aug 29, 2019

Very good 3 courses for those of us who are beginners in Machine Learning and IA! However I miss a whole course, perhaps the first one of then four, teaching us what we need to know about python, numpy and plotting.

por Arnab M

Jun 03, 2019

A great course. Learnt a lot, a lot of Linear Algebra, Projections/ Geometry/ all of these Mathematical ideas would help greatly in understanding of Machine Learning concepts and applying them to real world data!!..

por Dr. N D

Aug 12, 2020

It was a very nice experience with this course. I learnt a lot of Python Coding. The coding exercise was really good. It was tough for me to code in Python. But I took time for it. thanks to the faculty members.

por AKSHAT M

Aug 14, 2020

Really nice course and kudos to the instructor. Week 4 was a bit challenging, but still he made it quite easy for us to understand. Very happy to have gone through this course and completed the specialisation.

por Krishna K M

Jun 24, 2019

I am not sure why the rating is so low for this course.

Personally, I found this course really insightful as the instructor explains what the different statistical measurements mean, and why are they useful.

por Akshat S

Jul 24, 2019

I will present my self with some amazing songs!!

Excellent staircase to the heaven for learning PCA.

Breaking the habit of struggling with hardcore bookish mathematics.

Loose yourself in this adventure!!

por Jose A

Jul 18, 2020

Well explained, some issues with assignments but some of them are to not just type and think a little.

May be one is a real mistake... hard time with it, but lot of learning too.

por Aleksey A

Feb 15, 2020

Challenging, but doable. Has some bugs in coding assignments, but clearing them out makes you understand things better. Get ready to spend extra time understanding the concepts.

por Christian H

Dec 28, 2019

This course is well worth the time. I have a better understanding of one of the most foundational and biologically plausible machine learning algorithms used today! Love it.

por Tse-Yu L

Mar 14, 2018

Practices and quiz are designed well while I will suggest to put more hints on programming parts, e.g., PCA. Overall, this series of course are pretty useful for beginner.

por Miguel A Q H

Feb 21, 2020

This is the best course of the specialization, its very hard but it lets you to understand very important concepts of what means dimensionality reduccion.

Great Job!!!!

por Aymeric N

Nov 25, 2018

This course demystifies the Principal Components Analysis through practical implementation. It gives me solid foundations for learning further data science techniques.

por XL T

Apr 04, 2020

It is a bit difficult and jumpy. You will need some hard work to fill in the missing links of knowledge which not explicite on the lectrue. Overall, great experience.

por S J

May 03, 2020

Your Teaching and Video quality is par excellence.....Thanks a lot for such amazing stuff...I am looking forward to joining more courses in the same line

por Christine D

Apr 14, 2018

I found this course really excellent. Very clear explanations with very hepful illustrations.

I was looking for course on PCA, thank you for this one

por Ananta M

Apr 20, 2020

Although the course was little out there and the instructor was trying his best to articulate a difficult topic, the overall experience is great.