Chevron Left
Voltar para Particle Physics: an Introduction

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Particle Physics: an Introduction da instituição Universidade de GenebraUniversidade de Genebra

4.4
estrelas
707 classificações
215 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course introduces you to subatomic physics, i.e. the physics of nuclei and particles. More specifically, the following questions are addressed: - What are the concepts of particle physics and how are they implemented? - What are the properties of atomic nuclei and how can one use them? - How does one accelerate and detect particles and measure their properties? - What does one learn from particle reactions at high energies and particle decays? - How do electromagnetic interactions work and how can one use them? - How do strong interactions work and why are they difficult to understand? - How do weak interactions work and why are they so special? - What is the mass of objects at the subatomic level and how does the Higgs boson intervene? - How does one search for new phenomena beyond the known ones? - What can one learn from particle physics concerning astrophysics and the Universe as a whole? The course is structured in eight modules. Following the first one which introduces our subject, the modules 2 (nuclear physics) and 3 (accelerators and detectors) are rather self contained and can be studied separately. The modules 4 to 6 go into more depth about matter and forces as described by the standard model of particle physics. Module 7 deals with our ways to search for new phenomena. And the last module introduces you to two mysterious components of the Universe, namely Dark Matter and Dark Energy....

Melhores avaliações

VL
26 de Mar de 2021

Way hard if you are not a science major! But the challenge is interesting. A quick advice : Refer to the slides if you find the accents too hard to understand.\n\nThank you for the great course!

MH
4 de Ago de 2017

Challenging at first for someone with a non-traditional academic background, but thoroughly enjoyable and worth completing, if nothing but for the personal satisfaction of getting through it!

Filtrar por:

201 — 214 de 214 Avaliações para o Particle Physics: an Introduction

por Ali R S

12 de Jul de 2020

English hard to understand, and content impossible to follow. Even though, I am quite proficient in Quantum Mechanics, this course introduced variables in equations, without defining them. It takes thrice the time of the video to fully understand the content of the video.

por Marko S

23 de Nov de 2020

Language barriers, and a system of just throwing information out.

There is no any real teaching done in this lectures there is just new information that could be read by anyone on script or in a book.

por Michael V

1 de Dez de 2019

The topic is highly interesting but unfortunately, I have to agree with the negative assessments:

he presentation style is inadequate for learning

por Maaz K

7 de Jul de 2018

bORING

por Rod B

4 de Abr de 2017

Very poorly presented course. Despite having completed quite a number of coursera courses before, and even being already familiar with a good deal of the preliminary material in this one, i soon abandoned it due to the inadequate and scrappily prepared presentation of material. Mercedes Paniccia in particular speaks in a virtually unintelligible expressionless monotone with no explanation or elaboration to relieve what amounts to little more than a list of definitions and bald statements such as can be found in the glossary section of many textbooks. I would strongly recommend finding an alternative course devoted to the subject or maybe seeking out a readable textbook.

por ian m

9 de Fev de 2021

Great subject with a lot of information unfortunately not very easily accessible because of the way it is taught here. The video lectures are lack lustre with tutors reading text unenthusistically from the slides. Some resource links do not work and seemingly have not done so for years. One tutor's English accent is hard to understand unless you run the video playback at 0.75 and have a copy of the transcript to follow. All of this makes learning tedious. I gave up at week 4. Singularly the worst course I have taken on Cousera.

por Bran R

13 de Fev de 2020

Selected portions were good; other sections were plain horrible; difficult to understand the lecturer (not the topic; rather the english). For an english speaking course, videos in another language were not useful. Lectures provided no insight, pure reading from a lifeless script. Wording of problems had lots of typos, and questions were ill formed... I would not recommend this course unless it was cleaned up.

por Pralekh D

10 de Mar de 2017

It must be taught by someone who can speak english clearly. Sorry but I couldn't understand what Mercedes Paniccia spoke, which made the course even more difficult to understand. There are subtitles but it's not possible for everyone to put that much effort. This issue must be taken seriously to make this MOOC much better.

por Nikhil D

29 de Jul de 2020

this course is not at all suitable for someone who is here to learn particle physics. the teachers assume that we already know what all the symbols mean and its like they are not teaching but reading.

por Jeffrey Z

7 de Dez de 2020

Difficult to learn. Can't understand the lecturers because of their accents. Seems like they are just quoting a number of non-empirical facts.

por Efosa I

19 de Mai de 2020

Very poor language. Poor explanations and poor teaching overall. There can be lots of improvement.

por Ganesh S

18 de Ago de 2017

Lacks the flow. Emphases on information than knowledge.

por Ganesh A A

30 de Out de 2020

There is no way to unenroll to this course

por RAJ R

19 de Mai de 2020

Didn't enjoyed the lectures.