Chevron Left
Voltar para Particle Physics: an Introduction

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Particle Physics: an Introduction da instituição Universidade de GenebraUniversidade de Genebra

4.4
estrelas
771 classificações
229 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course introduces you to subatomic physics, i.e. the physics of nuclei and particles. More specifically, the following questions are addressed: - What are the concepts of particle physics and how are they implemented? - What are the properties of atomic nuclei and how can one use them? - How does one accelerate and detect particles and measure their properties? - What does one learn from particle reactions at high energies and particle decays? - How do electromagnetic interactions work and how can one use them? - How do strong interactions work and why are they difficult to understand? - How do weak interactions work and why are they so special? - What is the mass of objects at the subatomic level and how does the Higgs boson intervene? - How does one search for new phenomena beyond the known ones? - What can one learn from particle physics concerning astrophysics and the Universe as a whole? The course is structured in eight modules. Following the first one which introduces our subject, the modules 2 (nuclear physics) and 3 (accelerators and detectors) are rather self contained and can be studied separately. The modules 4 to 6 go into more depth about matter and forces as described by the standard model of particle physics. Module 7 deals with our ways to search for new phenomena. And the last module introduces you to two mysterious components of the Universe, namely Dark Matter and Dark Energy....

Melhores avaliações

VL
26 de Mar de 2021

Way hard if you are not a science major! But the challenge is interesting. A quick advice : Refer to the slides if you find the accents too hard to understand.\n\nThank you for the great course!

MH
4 de Ago de 2017

Challenging at first for someone with a non-traditional academic background, but thoroughly enjoyable and worth completing, if nothing but for the personal satisfaction of getting through it!

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 230 Avaliações para o Particle Physics: an Introduction

por Kevin D N

9 de Mar de 2019

I thank you, for helping me and teaching me to recognize, define, correctly, solve concepts such as dark energy, dark matter, understand the principle of the universe and matter, as well as identify the different fundamental parts of matter and the forces and interactions between them.

por Mark T

1 de Mai de 2021

This is a really good way to brush up on cutting-edge physics today, or even learn something new. This is not a difficult and at the same time very informative course, which will be a good start for many. Especially for those who want to start learning with not too hard mathematics.

por Dr. T V R

7 de Mai de 2017

This course was one of the most difficult and information laden MOOC I have taken and I've taken many. The three professors do a great job of explaining difficult topic even if English is not their native language. I hope they make a next course (intermediate particle physics).

por Thomas B

11 de Ago de 2020

Answered many of my questions in great detail. The math was at the right level - difficult but within my reach. I am satisfied that I know much more than when I started the class. Thank you to all the presenters, it was a delight to learn so much in so little time.

por Srishti N

8 de Mar de 2018

The course has a very good content covering almost entire particle physics syllabus. The teachers also teach well but at some places i couldn't understand the pronunciation. Rest all the assignments, graded quizzes are an excellent way to test yourself.

por Santiago G y G

25 de Abr de 2020

I loved this course. It was interesting, fascinating, fun and sometimes puzzling. I really want to gather more information about particle physics, and my favorite topic was electroweak interactions and neutrinos. Thank you so much for this course.

por Tales A O G

7 de Set de 2020

This course has opened my mind to the study of particle physics. I have learned a lot about particle interactions and the constituency of our universe. And also It motivates me to study more about this area to search for answers to open problems

por Reymundo F F

8 de Dez de 2019

the prfessors were so nice and the method for teach is very well. in general this course is great but in humble opinion i think you need to teach more show with examples how do those equations and no only show those equations on the blackboard.

por Leandro S A

17 de Set de 2021

Absolutely fantastic. This is the most fascinating course in the field of particle physics for beginners. The material has an excellent quality, and teachers know what they´re talking about. Interviews with specialist... Outstanding.

por Muhammad N M

9 de Mai de 2020

I really enjoyed every video along the way, and really thankful for all who contributed to create this magnificent course, which is obvious the amount of effort, time and dedication to make it wonderful like that.

Thank you all

por p v k

3 de Abr de 2019

extremely difficult subject to explain and put across, but the professors have done remarkably well in making the course concise, effective and interesting.

Heartfelt thanks to the team at University of Geneva.

por Cristian S

14 de Out de 2019

Muy buen material, se ha de reforzar las presentaciones con material externo ya que algunas preguntas de los quizzes son bastante puntuales o especificas.

No estaría mal incluir mayor cantidad de ejercicios.

por Shibaji M

27 de Out de 2017

Excellent course for an advanced undergraduate level introduction to particle physics phenomenology. This course can be supplemented with a standard text to get a good understanding of particle physics.

por João M C d A

29 de Ago de 2020

Great course overall. The professors give very precious insight into the world of particle physics. The level of mathematics involved is quite high, but also managable with some effort.

por Michael C

12 de Abr de 2020

It is an extremely informative and enjoyable way to pass my time during the quarantine. I highly recommend it, even to those, who had a similar course in the university like me.

por Rachid M

24 de Jun de 2020

Great course to understand how subatomic particles works. There is a bit of maths, but you do not need to understand every equation to grasp the key message. Thanks a lot !

por radha k m v

26 de Mai de 2020

I have learned a lot of knowledge about elementary particles. Thank you very much to team of professors, university of Geneva and Coursera.

VELURI NV RADHA KRISHNA MURTY

por Alex G

30 de Mai de 2019

This was a very fun and interesting course. This course can be very confusing at times but the instructors do explain things very well and in an easy to understand way.

por 李宁

22 de Out de 2017

这是一个非常好的课程,使我对于粒子物理有了更加深刻的认识,Thank you, greeting from China, I very want to visit CERN, but I do not have enough money and time, I can not reach but I wish,虽不能至,心向往之

por Daniel N G

26 de Mai de 2019

I loved it. High level and very well explained.

Nevertheless, two weeks are hihgly charged compared with others, I think spreading some of the content would be great.

por Vishesh V

16 de Jun de 2020

Being my first course on the domain of prime interest to me, I enjoyed each module as they were both diverse and still play a unique part of the subject as a whole.

por James H

8 de Mai de 2020

Extremely interesting course, but you will need to be ready to persevere with the mathematics if you do not at least have an A level understanding of physics/maths

por Mohamed S A

14 de Jul de 2020

This course, in general, it might be considered as a very useful preliminary step to know the basic notions of both theoretical and experimental particle physics.

por Carlos I S

21 de Jan de 2020

Is an absolute great course if you love physics and want to know more about relativity, some quantum basic and advanced stuff, also the teachers are very nice.

por SAI P

28 de Mai de 2020

The course provided me a great oppurtunity to learn many aspects about Physics laws. Thanks for the instructors for providing me this valuable oppurtunity.