Chevron Left
Voltar para Parallel Programming in Java

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Parallel Programming in Java da instituição Universidade Rice

4.6
estrelas
987 classificações
208 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course teaches learners (industry professionals and students) the fundamental concepts of parallel programming in the context of Java 8. Parallel programming enables developers to use multicore computers to make their applications run faster by using multiple processors at the same time. By the end of this course, you will learn how to use popular parallel Java frameworks (such as ForkJoin, Stream, and Phaser) to write parallel programs for a wide range of multicore platforms including servers, desktops, or mobile devices, while also learning about their theoretical foundations including computation graphs, ideal parallelism, parallel speedup, Amdahl's Law, data races, and determinism. Why take this course? • All computers are multicore computers, so it is important for you to learn how to extend your knowledge of sequential Java programming to multicore parallelism. • Java 7 and Java 8 have introduced new frameworks for parallelism (ForkJoin, Stream) that have significantly changed the paradigms for parallel programming since the early days of Java. • Each of the four modules in the course includes an assigned mini-project that will provide you with the necessary hands-on experience to use the concepts learned in the course on your own, after the course ends. • During the course, you will have online access to the instructor and the mentors to get individualized answers to your questions posted on forums. The desired learning outcomes of this course are as follows: • Theory of parallelism: computation graphs, work, span, ideal parallelism, parallel speedup, Amdahl's Law, data races, and determinism • Task parallelism using Java’s ForkJoin framework • Functional parallelism using Java’s Future and Stream frameworks • Loop-level parallelism with extensions for barriers and iteration grouping (chunking) • Dataflow parallelism using the Phaser framework and data-driven tasks Mastery of these concepts will enable you to immediately apply them in the context of multicore Java programs, and will also provide the foundation for mastering other parallel programming systems that you may encounter in the future (e.g., C++11, OpenMP, .Net Task Parallel Library)....

Melhores avaliações

LG
12 de Dez de 2017

This is a great course in parallel programming. The videos were very clear, summaries reinforced the video material and the programming projects and quizzes were challenging but not overwhelming.

SV
27 de Ago de 2017

Great course. Introduces Parallel Programming in Java in a gentle way.\n\nKudos to Professor Vivek Sarkar for simplifying complex concepts and presenting them in an elegant manner.

Filtrar por:

176 — 200 de 207 Avaliações para o Parallel Programming in Java

por Vishal V

10 de Mar de 2018

Great Learning and understanding the parallelism concepts in java

por satwik b

1 de Mai de 2020

please be more elaborate regarding programming assignments

por Prasanth R

10 de Fev de 2018

The homework was too simple, could use better examples.

por Cong X

16 de Out de 2017

Overall informative but way too easy on the projects...

por Xiao L

30 de Mai de 2020

Programming assignments are a bit too easy

por vini g

6 de Abr de 2019

Would like more assignments and examples.

por Alexander S

12 de Nov de 2017

Good course but very easy assignments

por Ping G

21 de Set de 2019

great course, learn a lot!

por Jairo A O C

24 de Set de 2020

Muy buen curso

por TAHA K

18 de Ago de 2020

Good course !

por Moturu N

9 de Dez de 2019

Nice course

por Divam K

12 de Out de 2019

Ok

por Anton M

18 de Abr de 2020

While i've definitely learned something new, there are some frustration points:

> Material presentation and abuse of pseudo code. Some concepts presented at very high abstraction level without going into details of implementation. Part of course relay heavily on custom parallel programming library, writing in java while other parts are given in built-in Java framework. In lecture summary code is presented as pseudo code, so there are not way to run and see that it does.

> Length of the course. Most of weeks has about 30 minutes of videos in total.

> Issues with grader. Grader is not reliable, you can find that same code sent twice will result in fail and pass. Also, when running test locally, it may fail, while passing when send for real (in my case it was because test code from assignment incorrectly gave number of processes when hyper-threading is enabled)

> Easy exercises. Apart from grader issues, assignment itself do not gave any challenge. Assignment of one week can be passed by just changing signature of method to right one (literally just few characters change)

por Marcos N A

13 de Jun de 2020

Too much abstract pseudocode for a Java course. In the third test, I had implemented my own solution because no documentation given for that "pcdp framework", also, my implementation run faster, so I have some doubts about that "framework".

The grader is not accurate, I spent some hours trying to find the way to improve the code in the last miniproject because the one I uploaded failed the 4 cores test, but I uploaded the same again and passed the test...

I suggest to improve examples about Phasers, maybe it would be better to introduce low complexity problems in the examples and a step by step explanation on how it works and... where did the threads came from? They never explain threads in this course.

Definitively, this course can't be called a "specialization" but it is a good course for starters.

por Samuele M

12 de Abr de 2018

Course is interesting, but lacks in contents: just few patterns are explained, and few concepts about parallelism, and there are very little details about further algorithms. Assignments, projects in particular, are quite useless or incredibly easy, or need usage or knowledge of libraries not explained/used in course, and included in "optional readings". Lessons are really clear (bravo! to the Professor), but quite short, since whole course doesn't reach 2 hours of lesson. I definitively think that course can be improved with more contents.

por Helge S

5 de Fev de 2020

Interesting, but the presentations, support materials and programming exercises have some issues.

I'm not fond of the usage of pseudo code, when this is a Java course. I want the example to use existing Java libraries, preferably from the standard Java JDK.

For the exercises, in addition to unit tests that test the performance of the code, it would be valuable to have tests that run quickly, and test that the code computes correctly. For the Week 4, the only provided test took some 9 minutes to run. A unit test should take a second at most.

por Dhiresh A J

30 de Dez de 2017

Lectures were adequate to understand the basic concepts/syntax and where and how to use them, but did not go deep into the underlying working.

The mini projects weren't that helpful since the assignments were the same examples as shown in the lecture, and the TODOs were generally just a couple of lines, leaving us with with little to do.

By the end of the course, I got to know the different Java util classes to use to for parallelism.

por Ramin I

25 de Nov de 2020

During the course, in order to understand the material in a satisfactory way, I often had to go and search for other materials. The material is presented in a very superficial way. I consider this a weakness. On the other hand, in terms of breadth, it covers a lot of useful topics, which broadened my perspective about what is out there in the parallel programming world.

por Daniel B

16 de Abr de 2020

Helpful course but could be much improved by a bit longer lectures and programming exercises covering more Java material, avoiding mixing in so much on proprietary library concepts and focusing on standard Java parallel programming concepts instead as well as making source code demonstrations in a bit larger font to be able to view on a phone

por Vincent M

10 de Mar de 2018

Subject is very interesting. However course is sometimes unclear, and assignments sometimes are related with the specific library developed by the professor, not with the generic Java implementations. However I'm happy to have completed this course, i've learned a lot.

por Gary S

30 de Mai de 2018

Although much of the content was informative and well taught, half of the programming assignments were either rudimentary or completely unnecessary since the answer was given in the provided file. On the whole, this course was just too short and too easy.

por Kaj S

6 de Set de 2017

The videos were very well done. The exercises were a bit too easy in my opinion. But the exercises did focus on the issue at hand, unlike some other courses that get you stuck on complicated but unrelated issues used only as an example problem.

por Atsuya K

5 de Fev de 2018

Provides background material for the course on concurrency in the same specialization. Assignments are trivial.

por Francisco R R

6 de Set de 2017

I would prefer see examples based on standard Java code, not in a library developed for some small group.

por Phindulo O M

6 de Mai de 2020

A very good introductory course only rating 3 star because the projects did not feel greatly involving.