Chevron Left
Voltar para Classical papers in molecular genetics

Classical papers in molecular genetics, University of Geneva

4.7
94 classificações
22 avaliações

Informações sobre o curso

You have all heard about the DNA double helix and genes. Many of you know that mutations occur randomly, that the DNA sequence is read by successive groups of three bases (the codons), that many genes encode enzymes, and that gene expression can be regulated. These concepts were proposed on the basis of astute genetic experiments, as well as often on biochemical results. The original articles were these concepts appeared are however not frequently part of the normal curriculum of biologists, biochemists and medical students. This course proposes to read study and discuss a small selection of these classical papers, and to put these landmarks in their historical context. Most of the authors displayed interesting personal histories and many of their contributions go beyond not only the papers we will read but probably all their scientific papers. Our understanding of the scientific process, of the philosophy underlying the process of scientific discovery, and on the integration of new concepts is not only important for the history of science but also for the mental development of creative science....

Melhores avaliações

por BS

Mar 25, 2016

Outstanding: the classic papers are always the best primary source of information!

por SW

Jun 01, 2016

Very cool. Love to hear about these scientists and their lives and efforts

Filtrar por:

22 avaliações

por Paul Clifford Hough

Jul 23, 2018

Interesting course which gives an appreciation of the huge achievements made by the pioneers in molecular genetics. It took me a long time to complete this, but it was worth persevering with. The quizzes are challenging. Some of the papers were behind paywalls or the links were no longer valid which was a bit frustrating.

por Marta Silva Muniz

Jun 01, 2018

Amazing course! Very well designed and delivered. It was specially delightful to have some historical context to the papers, as well as insight into the biography of the scientists themselves.

por Mark Hilton

Nov 07, 2017

it is a very good course, well led and directed by Professor Belin. The issues relate to the lack of activity in the forums and the assessment tasks which deviate from the material covered.

por Megan Carve

Oct 24, 2017

The presentation of this course was great. The content was well designed. The video lectures were interesting. The quizzes were challenging and at an appropriate level. Overall, a very rewarding experience.

por Megha Kalra

Oct 19, 2017

Excellent course content and delivery.

por Arturo Manzo-Fontes

Sep 28, 2017

An amazing journey throughout the recent science in biochemistry and molecular biology fields. This course shows us how close is the normal life os a scientist with his mind, work and discoveries that change our point of view that many times we consider that science is just for "selected" people, but is quite the opposite, science is for people with the determination to understand vital concepts of our surroundings and try to explain nature phenomena.

por JOHN QUINCY

Aug 12, 2017

FUN AND INTERESTING COURSE. THANKS SO MUCH1

por Alejandra Ortega

Jul 05, 2017

Through this course you will be able to understand (and appreciate) better many things of the day-to-day work as a molecular biologist. This course offers you a very detailed description of scientific and social aspects behind key discoveries in the field. Professor Belin classes remind me of SJ Gould readings. So far, the best class in coursera.

por Glynis Robert C. Aguilar

Jun 19, 2017

Very interesting topics! Gave me a new perspective on things. It's easy to take for granted the amount of knowledge we have know. This course puts things into perspective. I have also learned values which could help me in my career as a scientist.

por Carlos Ciudad

Jun 11, 2017

A historical vision on molecular genetics taken from the original papers. Two important facts of this excellent course are: 1) the description of all the stories surrounding the lives of the researchers at the time of performing the experiments; and 2: the detailed analyses of the papers commented by Professor Dominique Belin pointing out the crucial point to be taken into account. I consider that Professor Belin is a great teacher.