Chevron Left
Voltar para The Changing Landscape of Ancient Rome. Archaeology and History of the Palatine Hill

Comentários e feedback de alunos de The Changing Landscape of Ancient Rome. Archaeology and History of the Palatine Hill da instituição Sapienza — Universidade de RomaUniversidade de Roma "La Sapienza"

4.3
estrelas
278 classificações
111 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Studying ancient - as well as medieval or modern - cities basically means telling local urban stories based on the reconstruction of changing landscapes through the centuries. Given the fragmentary nature of archaeological evidence, it is necessary to create new images that would give back the physical aspect of the urban landscape and that would bring it to life again. We are not just content with analyzing the many elements still visible of the ancient city. The connections between objects and architectures, visible and non visible buildings, which have been broken through time have to be rejoined, to acknowledge the elements that compose the urban landscape. Landscape and its content are a very relevant and still vital part of any national cultural heritage. The course will introduce students to the way we have been reflecting on over the last twenty years and still are engaged with the study of the past of our cities, beginning from the most complex case in the ancient Mediterranean World: the core of Italy and of Roman Empire. On the other hand, knowledge means also preservation and defense of material remains and cultural memory. “The Changing Landscape of Ancient Rome. Archeology and History of the Palatine Hill” presents to a large public the topographical lay-out of the most relevant part of the city (according the Greek and Roman Historians Rome was founded on the Palatine). Research developed on the Palatine since the end of last century by the team of Sapienza Classical Archaeologists opened a new phase in the urban archaeological investigation and in the scientific debate about the relation between archaeological features and literary tradition as well as the “correct use“ of both kind of evidence, key issues of wide archaeological and historical significance....

Melhores avaliações

CS

21 de mar de 2018

I’m now living in Siena so visiting Roma and it’s wonderful ancient architecture especially the Roman forum and the palatine hill has new excitement and knowledge for me.

JC

1 de mai de 2018

I appreciate the opportunity to learn the history of Rome and how it became the marvel city it is today . I will enjoy a lot more my next trip to Rome. Thank you .

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de 111 Avaliações para o The Changing Landscape of Ancient Rome. Archaeology and History of the Palatine Hill

por Amy Q

29 de mai de 2019

Having a document with names, terms, etc. would have been helpful, as well as clickable documents of the many maps and diagrams that were used. So many terms were found on them, and it made it difficult to keep track of everything. Very much enjoyed the course otherwise, thank you!

por Dominic B

11 de nov de 2021

A​mple in-depth description of the many eras of construction on and around the Palatine, that most important of Roman hills. The course provides a broader historical perspective for why each era produced the structures it did, and how the use of the area changed over centuries.

por Patricia C

16 de out de 2017

It is an excellent course, but it doesn’t have subtitles. When you are not an expertise, and the language used is not your own, the understanding of certain terms it is sometimes difficult.

Anyways, a good experience. The professor is an expertise on the subject.

Great job!

por Elena

23 de mar de 2022

Very interesting material. In the end, it became a little monotone, but the course is worthwhile. You will like it if you are really keen on archaeology and roman history. The course is plenty of maps and the explanations are fine too. You will learn a lot, for sure.

por Raymond S

11 de out de 2021

I​ got the feeling that the quiz questions were translated directly from the Italian originals. But the English version of the lectures could not have been as succinct as the original Italian. This made the completion of the quizes a real puzzle.

por Carlos E R C

9 de set de 2020

Curso de fácil assimilação, tive um grande aprendizado em pouco tempo, com folga do prozo estimado pelo curso, grato pela disposição deste conteúdo que me proporcionou uma grande soma nos meus conhecimentos.

por Jordan F

15 de mai de 2020

A well-researched course that delves deep into the history of Rome and the Palatine. Answers to the quizzes should be more evident and not require studying the background images that appear, though.

por Anna E S G

3 de jun de 2021

Interesting topic but can benefit from having clearer and dynamic visuals. The questions on the quizzes seem not taken from the instruction. You cannot find them even from the transcripts.

por Joseph I

16 de nov de 2020

It would be better if the quiz had no latin terms, for the directions in the lecture aren't always clear and the quiz is absolutely mystifying in places.

por Reggie W

19 de out de 2020

It was challenging because it required a lot of research because the questions on the quizzes seemed to be quite obscure

Thank you Prof. Paolo Corafa

por Dorothea M F

24 de mai de 2018

The teacher is great! He shows us the actual ruins whenever possible, it is the next best thing to being there and seeing it ourselves.

por Alessandro C

7 de jun de 2020

Very good course, even though some of the quizzes seem to be not completely aligned with the information provided during the lessons

por Kate T

6 de dez de 2020

Amazing detail and very interesting. Would have scored 5 stars if maps were included, cannot read them on screen.

por Alexander R

19 de mai de 2018

Great Course to understand the founding and aspects of the roman empire. Pretty good.

por sadek M

27 de set de 2019

Interesting course with profound knowledge about Roman archaeology

por Eliano F

15 de jun de 2018

Very, very interesting. I wish to have more handouts

por Rebeca P M

17 de ago de 2017

It is a great course to know ancient Rome

por Magda B

30 de nov de 2017

Very interesting and detailed class.

por Carmen

1 de abr de 2019

L

por Andrés C B

13 de jul de 2017

.

por Guey-Mei

21 de mar de 2021

The content is great, but the teaching (language, material, quizzes) are CHAOTIC. Maps are important for this course, but they are NOWHERE to be found. Quizzes are problematic, often pointing to either wrong answers (contradicting to the videos) or minute details that weren't mentioned at all. The language is confusing as well, as the lecturer did not provide description of the slides and maps, therefore the transcripts are no help at all.

por John B

15 de ago de 2017

Graphics were interesting but did not focus on what the professor was saying. The professor was sincere and seemed knowledgeable though his speech impediment became distracting very quickly. Overall, having visited the Palatine several times over the years, I found the course very helpful in giving me a feel for physical aspects of so much of what I have read about ancient Rome in history and literature. Thank you for the opportunity.

por San

13 de out de 2020

I was excited to take this course, eager to hear Prof. Carafa. However all of his knowledge, all of the work that went into creating this valuable course, was degraded by the very bad English text and subtitles. So many mistakes! 100+. Some are significant, some are comical, none are excusable. So five stars for the professor, no star for the transcriber.

por Judith h

4 de ago de 2020

I've taken several course dealing with this subject and definitely found this class informative, but the professor was difficult for me to understand and particularly towards the end I questioned whether the quizzes had any relationship to the lectures. Perhaps I didn't hear correctly. Speaking of hearing, the translations were not the best either.

por Andrew O M

29 de jul de 2019

Great content, especially for serious archaeologists. While understandable for the most part, the presentations in second-language English at times lagged.