Chevron Left
Voltar para Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way da instituição Universidade Ludwig-Maximilians de Munique (LMU)

4.8
154 classificações
50 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Discover the mighty kingdom of Assyria, which came to be the world’s first great empire three thousand years ago. From the 9th to the 7th centuries BC, during the imperial phase of Assyria’s long history, modern day northern Iraq was the central region of a state reaching from the Mediterranean Sea to the Persian Gulf, and incorporating what is now Iraq, Syria, and Lebanon, as well as half of Israel, and wide parts of south-eastern Turkey, and Western Iran. In its geographical extent, this state was unprecedentedly large, and the distinct geography of the Middle East, with deserts and high mountain ranges, posed challenges to communication and cohesion. What were the mechanisms that kept the Empire running? This course explores the methods the Assyrian government employed to ensure unity and maintain loyalty across vast distances, using traditional as well as innovative strategies. Some of these imperial techniques have marked parallels in the ways modern multi-national corporations are operating, others will strike you as profoundly alien. This course focusses on how the Assyrians organised their empire by analysing key aspects, namely: · The CEO – the king, a religious, political and military leader, who is charged to govern by his master, the god Assur; · Home Office – the royal palace in the central region and the royal court that form the administrative centre of the state; · The Regional Managers – the governors and client-rulers to whom local power is delegated; · Human Resources – the Empire’s people are its most precious assets, its consumers and its key product, as the goal of the imperial project was to create “Assyrians”; an approach with lasting repercussions that still reverberate in the Middle East today; and finally · The Fruits of Empire – it takes a lot of effort, so what are the rewards? When we explore these topics we will contextualise them with information about the lives led by ordinary Assyrian families. Taking this course will provide you with an overview of the political, social, religious, and military history of the world’s first superpower. It will give you insight into the geography and climatic conditions of the Middle East and contribute to your understanding of the opportunities and challenges of that region. It will present you with a vision of the Middle East at a time when its political and religious structures were very different from today....

Melhores avaliações

NW

Nov 26, 2018

So Far I am Loving this Course, So much Info,\n\nI have always wanted to do a course on the Assyrian Empire.\n\nFab way of learning too, with tests at each stage rather than a mighty one at the end.

IX

May 15, 2018

This is such an amazing course! Prof.Radner has done an excellent job at presenting topics and organizing materials. Highly recommend this course to anyone who's interested in ancient civilizations.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way

por David H

Mar 23, 2018

Comprehensive, coherent and very well paced.

por Fred I

Apr 16, 2018

Excellent course. Well organized and well presented. Good pace -

por Rob M

May 14, 2018

An excellent course. If you have an interest in the Ancient World, politics or sociology, then this is a definite course for you.

por John D

Jul 08, 2018

Professor Radner, her staff, and the expert faculty that she had speak provided an amazing journey into a long gone government, society, and culture and made it seem alive.

por Henrique P

Mar 12, 2018

I think people will be enchanted in many ways with this course: the knowledge of Ms. Radner, the organizition of the videos, the varied approaches in lessons, the integration with a lot of experts all around the world been asked about "daily" subjects (if they were an Assyrian haha), the company of Ms. Bolton, but mainly the excitement of Ms. Radner with everything on those topics! That makes you feel glad about accompaining this course studying this interesting People and sad about leaving it.

por Frank J

Mar 29, 2018

An excellent, well presented and researched course which only makes us anticipate keenly further related courses on Babylonia and Mesopotamia. Something on Ancient Hittite and Persian civiisations would also be very welcome.

por JOHN Q

Jan 15, 2018

Fascinating course. Thanks so much for all the folks who worked to organize and present this material! Dr Quincy

por Ines G

Mar 01, 2018

Would love to hear more like this. :-)

por Ilanka

Jan 18, 2018

Excellent course

por Montserrat A V

Oct 23, 2018

i wish to thank to Prof. Dir. Karen Radner all the work and knowledge shared through the course. Has been original, funny and so interesting. i probably i will see again many videos to memorize some things.

Thank you!

por Jorge A d S C

Jul 11, 2018

Exelente

por Julie B

Apr 13, 2019

T

por Blanca A

Apr 08, 2019

EXCELENTE CURSO

por Virginia M

May 15, 2019

An excellent course. Congratulations to Professor Radner and her excellent staff. They all made our learning both profitable and thoroughly enjoyable. That you all!

por Malcolm F

Jul 23, 2019

A great range of information, fascinatingly organised and interestingly presented. Just a couple of suggestions: the interviews would be better as true dialogues - at times it sounds like a question is just dropped in to allow the ongoing talk to continue. Also, it would be nice to see a real artefact or two, and to explore a small detail in greater depth - perhaps a line from the Babylonian chronicles and so on. Really pleased to have done it though.

por bill w

Aug 25, 2019

I loved this course. I found Professor Dr. Karen Radner extremely knowledgeable, and easy to listen to and follow. My only regret was that the course was so short. I would like (and willingly pay for) a full semester course that covered the Kings, their palaces and their campaigns in more detail.

Bill Whelan

por Ava

Oct 01, 2019

Professor Radner is fueled by passion and it truly shows in every single lecture. Her energy alone excited me for each new lesson! I took the class due to history being one of my weaker subject areas, and upon completing this course I have found a new interest and appreciation for it!

por Claudette D

Oct 08, 2019

Our Professor Karen Radner is so very

por Stephen B

Oct 10, 2019

A nicely presented course. It has a strong focus on the culture and life in the Neo-Assyrian empire, interweaving that with the history of the empire and the kings. A student completing the course should take away a sense of what that empire was, how it fits in to the larger history, and the important ideas and systems that it contributed to our own world today..

por Syed H A

Dec 19, 2018

I think this course is very well designed for the beginners in assyriology. Karen Radner & others have been excellent in their delivery of all important aspects of the Assyrian empire - from religion to culture, family to army and from internal & external influencers of this empire!

por Herud

Feb 05, 2019

Not enough material about the military history of the empire.

por Hamdanil R

Apr 22, 2018

Very enjoyable course and I learned a lot. When people talk about an ancient empire that runs efficiently many would think about Rome, but it's cool to know that there's an earlier empire in a different part of the world that's no less awesome. Professor Radner is very knowledgeable and the scope of the materials are very intersting.

por ajay s

Apr 26, 2018

I have absolutely enjoyed this course on Ancient Assyrian Empire. The lessons were rich in content, its' presentation of a very high order. Professor Karen Radner is objective, scholarly, and cheerfully unbiased in evaluating one of the most influential civilisations in Human History. The supplementary material to the lectures and question-answer videos, had the learner wishing for more. But to anyone interested in Ancient world and its most dramatic age, I enthusiastically recommend it as a 'Must Do' course.

Ajay Sinha.

por Joy S

Apr 11, 2018

super interesting. I would give it a 5 stars except it has peer review in the final week

por fernando g u

Jun 30, 2018

Interesante curso.