Chevron Left
Voltar para Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way da instituição Universidade Ludwig-Maximilians de Munique (LMU)

4.8
130 classificações
44 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Discover the mighty kingdom of Assyria, which came to be the world’s first great empire three thousand years ago. From the 9th to the 7th centuries BC, during the imperial phase of Assyria’s long history, modern day northern Iraq was the central region of a state reaching from the Mediterranean Sea to the Persian Gulf, and incorporating what is now Iraq, Syria, and Lebanon, as well as half of Israel, and wide parts of south-eastern Turkey, and Western Iran. In its geographical extent, this state was unprecedentedly large, and the distinct geography of the Middle East, with deserts and high mountain ranges, posed challenges to communication and cohesion. What were the mechanisms that kept the Empire running? This course explores the methods the Assyrian government employed to ensure unity and maintain loyalty across vast distances, using traditional as well as innovative strategies. Some of these imperial techniques have marked parallels in the ways modern multi-national corporations are operating, others will strike you as profoundly alien. This course focusses on how the Assyrians organised their empire by analysing key aspects, namely: · The CEO – the king, a religious, political and military leader, who is charged to govern by his master, the god Assur; · Home Office – the royal palace in the central region and the royal court that form the administrative centre of the state; · The Regional Managers – the governors and client-rulers to whom local power is delegated; · Human Resources – the Empire’s people are its most precious assets, its consumers and its key product, as the goal of the imperial project was to create “Assyrians”; an approach with lasting repercussions that still reverberate in the Middle East today; and finally · The Fruits of Empire – it takes a lot of effort, so what are the rewards? When we explore these topics we will contextualise them with information about the lives led by ordinary Assyrian families. Taking this course will provide you with an overview of the political, social, religious, and military history of the world’s first superpower. It will give you insight into the geography and climatic conditions of the Middle East and contribute to your understanding of the opportunities and challenges of that region. It will present you with a vision of the Middle East at a time when its political and religious structures were very different from today....

Melhores avaliações

IX

May 15, 2018

This is such an amazing course! Prof.Radner has done an excellent job at presenting topics and organizing materials. Highly recommend this course to anyone who's interested in ancient civilizations.

NW

Nov 26, 2018

So Far I am Loving this Course, So much Info,\n\nI have always wanted to do a course on the Assyrian Empire.\n\nFab way of learning too, with tests at each stage rather than a mighty one at the end.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way

por Virginia M

May 15, 2019

An excellent course. Congratulations to Professor Radner and her excellent staff. They all made our learning both profitable and thoroughly enjoyable. That you all!

por Julie B

Apr 13, 2019

T

por Blanca A

Apr 08, 2019

EXCELENTE CURSO

por ELLEN C

Mar 12, 2019

I throughly enjoyed this class. Ms. Radner was interesting, funny, informative and down to earth. Loved the artistic presentations she did. I would definitely take another of her classes. She made the class!

por Miloš B

Mar 11, 2019

This course was so much fun. Thanks to all the good people that made it possible for us to not only attend but also enjoy it. Prof. Karen is a real treasure.

por Rafael M

Mar 02, 2019

The course is great. The readings are enriching and the instructor is very knowleadgleable.

por Maksim M

Feb 28, 2019

Very interesting and comprehensive

por Eduardo T

Feb 27, 2019

Interesting and well presented course. Very recommended for who is interested in the subject

por Herud

Feb 05, 2019

Not enough material about the military history of the empire.

por

Jan 25, 2019

Very interesting course

por ellie r e

Jan 24, 2019

Many thanks to Professor Dr. Karen Radner whose dedication, commitment and understanding of her subject shows in every video, and in all the study material she has so carefully prepared for us. Thanks also to all those other archaeologists who kindly gave their time and shared their ideas and experiences with us. It was more like being at a summer school, really it was. And particular thanks to Denise Bolton, whose conversations with Dr Radner added another, very valuable dimension to the study program. I've enjoyed every moment. Thank you all so very much!

por Marion K

Jan 24, 2019

Very interesting course, complete new material for me, I really enjoyed the script and art and will visit the British Museum as soon as possible to see the sculptures by myself. My dream: join an excavation in that area. Thank you so much.

por Katharina H

Jan 05, 2019

I really enjoyed this course. It provided a great overview of the Assyrian Empire. The various modules were interesting and engaging. Karen Radner enthusiasm about the topic really kept me captivated and I always enjoyed the expert opinions. The only thing that I think would have been good to go in to in more detail would have been warfare. There wasn't a lot of information on how the Assyrians actually expanded their empire. It is briefly mentioned in one of the modules how they perfected siege warfare, but then it is never further explored. I found this a bit disappointing and wished that there was one more module that would have looked at the military aspect in more detail. Apart from that I really recommend the course.

por Jeffrey Z

Dec 21, 2018

Excellent course, well-designed, and easy to be understood.

por mansi g

Dec 20, 2018

its easy

por Syed H A

Dec 19, 2018

I think this course is very well designed for the beginners in assyriology. Karen Radner & others have been excellent in their delivery of all important aspects of the Assyrian empire - from religion to culture, family to army and from internal & external influencers of this empire!

por Fan C

Dec 05, 2018

I have watched the module 1, and I have gotten an impressive view to the Assyrian Empire through Professor Karan and her wonderful lectures

por Naomi W

Nov 26, 2018

So Far I am Loving this Course, So much Info,

I have always wanted to do a course on the Assyrian Empire.

Fab way of learning too, with tests at each stage rather than a mighty one at the end.

por Montserrat A V

Oct 23, 2018

i wish to thank to Prof. Dir. Karen Radner all the work and knowledge shared through the course. Has been original, funny and so interesting. i probably i will see again many videos to memorize some things.

Thank you!

por Alison G

Oct 11, 2018

amazing course!

por Hardeman B

Oct 09, 2018

A great course that I enjoyed ! It expanded my knowledge of Assyrian history and allowed me to develop a interest for ancient Assyrian history. I highly recommend it!

por Roger M

Sep 13, 2018

Very enjoyable course. It was put together well and I learned a lot.

por Jorge A d S C

Jul 11, 2018

Exelente

por John D

Jul 08, 2018

Professor Radner, her staff, and the expert faculty that she had speak provided an amazing journey into a long gone government, society, and culture and made it seem alive.

por fernando g u

Jun 30, 2018

Interesante curso.