Chevron Left
Voltar para Tools for Data Science

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Tools for Data Science da instituição IBM Skills Network

4.5
estrelas
24,388 classificações

Sobre o curso

What are some of the most popular data science tools, how do you use them, and what are their features? In this course, you'll learn about Jupyter Notebooks, JupyterLab, RStudio IDE, Git, GitHub, and Watson Studio. You will learn about what each tool is used for, what programming languages they can execute, their features and limitations. With the tools hosted in the cloud on Skills Network Labs, you will be able to test each tool and follow instructions to run simple code in Python, R or Scala. To end the course, you will create a final project with a Jupyter Notebook on IBM Watson Studio and demonstrate your proficiency preparing a notebook, writing Markdown, and sharing your work with your peers....

Melhores avaliações

GC

12 de abr de 2020

It serves perfecty its aim that is giving a first glance of the open course tools for data science. Of course each tool is briefly touched and it hands over the student the duty to deepen each tool.

AJ

15 de set de 2020

Absolutely Loved this course!! Challenging at times to keep up with all the terms and processes. The course provided great insight into Data Science. Would highly recommend it as your first course.

Filtrar por:

3651 — 3675 de 3,915 Avaliações para o Tools for Data Science

por Anastasia S

10 de abr de 2020

Materials are not up to date

por pranav g

2 de jul de 2020

boring and not very helpful

por Sruthi M S

12 de abr de 2020

Poorly taught. Worst course

por Daniel y g

28 de mar de 2020

update the videos please...

por Camilo A

7 de abr de 2020

Outdated and disorganised.

por Ibukunoluwa B

17 de out de 2020

Not so beginner friendly.

por Lau K K

16 de nov de 2020

the guidance is unclear

por Liu Y

8 de set de 2020

not that clear for new.

por dan

18 de mar de 2020

only basic information

por Mite W

6 de fev de 2022

Too many IBM tools...

por Maximilian S

2 de mai de 2019

Mainly self-promotion

por sahiti R

5 de set de 2020

too high syllabus

por Asfandyar M

25 de fev de 2019

Outdated slides.

por zakariyya z

25 de jul de 2022

Outdated

por Matias C

20 de jan de 2020

Outdated

por Harshil S

17 de jan de 2019

Too easy

por Cortney H

9 de jul de 2021

It was a lot of overview. I honestly felt like I only learned definitions and what IBM tools look like and didn't get to dive into any real projects or examples. I was very disappointed in the limited opportunities to do anything real with the hands-on projects. They were too simple, like how to create a Jupyter Notebook, or play around with nodes. When I tried to code alongside some of the instructors on the optional GitHub sections, I didn't have access to their repositories or data, so I couldn't really do anything. In other videos the programmer completely skipped over important steps as if we had used the product before, or failed to provide any context so we didn't know what the goal was - so it was just some random exercise that barely made sense and wasn't much help to me for applying it to other real world situations. I don't feel anymore prepared to use these tools, and I got a 100% on every project and exam. I was expecting a whole lot more. I hope the next courses are better and I actually get to learn how to do something worthwhile.

por Elizabeth F

31 de out de 2021

This course is not practical at all--it's a detailed overview of concepts that, for beginners, are meaningless until you begin working within those constructs. Furthermore, the online IDE is not functional--it will not load and indicates it is under maintenance or gives an error code. So, in order to complete the practicals of this course, you have to set up your own environment, for which there are no instructions. Fortunately, my husband is a sr. software developer and was able to help me troubleshoot setting up Rstudio, wherein the links, libraries, and other resources are all out of date.

Furthermore, I'm now 5 weeks into this program and have not learned anything. Fortunately, I know I am interested in programming and data science already after working in other resources (e.g. Data Quest) that provide actual hands on education, rather than a computerized voice reading script that contains erroneous details with no immediate practical application.

Such a disappointment. I expect more from IBM.

por Zoe B

14 de jun de 2021

There are issues with the final exam preventing people (including myself) from passing. These issues have been raised going as far back as a month without any moderator intervention (from what can be seen on the forum). Despite there being 20 moderators to this course, there appears to be just 1 active moderator and they havent responded to this issue. There is no way of contacting staff to raise this as an issue to be fixed except to raise it on the forum. In doing so, you break the Coursera Honour Code (as Ive just discovered). Im currently unable to complete this course due to this issue and Im hoping this one star review brings the matter to the attention of the staff responsible for the course.

por Jiakun P

12 de ago de 2021

T​his course should be combined to the previous course. Totally unnecessary and fruitless. Being able to distinguish "open source" and "free access" is hardly anything useful for a data scientist, while important things like "WHAT'S THE BENEFIT OF LEARNING MORE THAN ONE LANGUAGES" are never picked up to motivate the learners. Before the course, I had no idea about Julia, Rubic, or C++, and after the course, I still don't.

O​n the other hand, this has nothing to do with the instructors. I believe they are just following some designer or superviser's order to read the script. I appreciate your work and effort, despite I don't like this course. I also thank Coursera for their financial aids.

por Paulina B

24 de mar de 2022

Very poorly designed. The course, from week 1, video 1 uses terminomogy and talks about things that are only introduced in the later parts of the course so for someone with no prior experience it's really hard to understand and follow. Also, the videos are based on an older version of IBM Watson Studio interface so it's difficult to follow the video and do the exercises alongside. There are some optional videos and assignments but these are tested in the practice quiz. For those who opt out of them it's impossible to proceed with the course unless they complete the quizes.

I am really starting to regret investing my time and money in this course. I expected much better from IBM.

por Justin B

7 de ago de 2022

I could not be more disappointed in this course and Coursera in general. I feel have waisted probably over $400 on a year subscription that I thought included the IBM Data Science Prof Cert, which was NOT included, and my card was auto charged for half a year which I did not want. I simply want to cancel the $40 I am charge per month and never deal with Coursera again. I would not recommend this service and am extremely disappointed and frustrated. I do not have the time to describe the many problems I had with the course but it included my IBM Watson usage expire and no help from Coursera in trying to figure out what was wrong.

por manisangsu b

9 de mai de 2021

The entire IBM watson studio is is a massive disaster in this course. Everything went fine till the watson studio came into picture, after that there is no learning , your precious time will be wasted to configure a broken system (which will not work in the end) and that has almost no relevance to what you have signed up for.

From there onwrarsds the videos and the content do not match and you will get completely derailed from your learning because someone wants you to use their product . This is not learning but almost shadow selling practice.

I was in for the entire course , but will now need to think if this is worth my time.

por Heriberto L D d L

8 de ago de 2022

Hands-on parts do not work at all, after more than three weeks trying to solve all issues with the IBM Cloud I decided to drop the course due to being charged and not getting decen support to resolve the account settings issues.

If you come here for hand-on labs and learning go elsewhere. Jumping through hops, and dedicating more time troubleshooting the account permissions is awful. Not a single step-by-step guide worked in regards to the IBM Cloud due to this... Staff did not solve my issue after three different agents tried, and basically gave up.

por Lauren J

1 de abr de 2019

I do not recommend this course; however, as it's part of the Data Science Certificate it's unavoidable. The course is basically an introduction to an IBM online software that lets you use R, Python, etc. without having to download them. That's fine, but it could realistically be done in about five minutes instead of the two hours the course takes to complete. My advice is either don't take this class if you aren't going for the Certificate, or go through it as fast as possible if you are going for the Certificate. This course was a waste of time.