Chevron Left
Voltar para Old Norse Mythology in the Sources

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Old Norse Mythology in the Sources da instituição Universidade do Colorado em Boulder

4.6
estrelas
73 classificações
30 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course is an introduction to the religion of the Vikings as it is recorded in Old Norse and Scandinavian literature from the medieval period. You will learn about the different written sources and what they can teach us about pre-Christian religion in northern Europe in the Viking Age. The course surveys the primary collection of Old Norse poetry about the pre-Christian Scandinavian gods, the Poetic Edda. We will also work with the main collections of stories about the Old Norse gods in prose: Snorri Sturluson's Edda and Saxo's History of the Danes....

Melhores avaliações

JH

23 de nov de 2021

Great introduction to this material and subject. Did not want to stop watching the videos. very easy to watch. Lots of information given. hope there will be a continuation of this course.

TG

6 de abr de 2022

Excellent course. I have listened to the "Nordic mythology podcast" in the past, but I needed something more structured and beginner-friendly. This course is just that. Thank you!

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 32 Avaliações para o Old Norse Mythology in the Sources

por Ramon v O

24 de fev de 2022

​While the topic is highly interesting, and the teacher clearly knows his stuff. The course itself is hardly interactive, and only a powerpoint presentation with a voice reading the exact text of the slides. I stopped the course.

por Steven S

30 de nov de 2021

D​r. Nordvig presents interesting information. It is not just the dates and places, it is the who and the why. I took everything I thought I knew, and flipped it on its head. I am glad I took the class and look forward to further classes presented by Dr. Nordvig.

por Paul G

2 de dez de 2021

Useful intro with good course content, spoilt by errors in test questions and lack of responce from coursera to reported issues.

por Rafael M C

1 de fev de 2022

I didn't like this course. I stopped after the first module (first week) because I checked and the rest of the course follows the same structure. T​he videos are monotonous and the instructor could be easily subtituted by a list of bullet points. He rarely makes any observations and the tests are atrocious quizzes wanting people to remember specific dates from an infinity of dates provided. After teh first week, I felt that I didn't teh information I had hoped to learn. The quality of this course is really poor and I don't hink this is a good introduction to the topic. A suggestion is for the videos to be a little more dynamic and interactive. Another thing that could be different is teh presence of the instructor in some of the videos. Finally, I would like to suggest you don;t foucs the quizzes into a bunch of dates only scholars would know by heart.

por Thomas W

7 de mar de 2022

I​ really do want to offer my thanks to Dr. Nordvig for offering such an in-depth course for free, and greatly admire his philosophy behind doing so. I was trying to prepare for a Masters degree in Medieval Studies, and already had some experience with medieval Icelandic sagas, but this course hugely informed me about Eddic poetry and Old Norse mythology as an academic study.

F​rom this course I have learned, amongst many other subjects, about gods, monsters, and heroes; about the structure of pre-Christian Scandinavian society and religious groups, and the consequent influence of Christianity on medieval authors; finally about the concept of euhemerism, which was both new and intriguing for me.

F​or anyone considering taking this course, whether for academic purposes or simply to learn more about a mythology that has permeated Western culture for centuries, I cannot recommend it enough. Dr. Nordvig is clearly an expert in his field, though his presentations are easy to follow and to understand, and I encourage anyone who finishes the course to read his own publications and to read more into the subject matter.

1​0/10.

por Elizabeth G

29 de jan de 2022

This course gives a brief but fairly comprehensive introduction to Old Norse Mythology as found in the early sources, around the 12th to 14th centuries. The lectures are concise and interesting. The instructor has chosen the topics well and also has done a good job condensing the stories for students. I wish there was more explanation about Skaldic and Eddic poetry (meter, rhyme, structure??) but maybe that is best left to another course.

por Viking G R

4 de dez de 2021

Good Introduction to Norse Mythology, definitely learned some interesting details especially regarding historical evidence of runic inscriptions, age of written records and how written compositions were influenced by the author and the dominant religious dogma of the time.

por Linda B

8 de mar de 2022

Through this course I was able to become acquainted with the foundations of Old Norse Mythology-- the terminologies, important texts, important dates, and the historical contexts. I am grateful to have had the opportunity to get a quick intensive on this subject.

por Rheged-armer T

31 de jan de 2022

A really good overview for anyone wanting to have an objective academic approach to Old Norse Mythology. It would be a real help to all those discovering Norse mythology so that they could be objective and not take things out of context.

por ad k

28 de mar de 2022

An amazing course indeed, and I'd say the most user-friendly course from Colorado system I have taken so far. I have taken a bunch of history and mythology courses, this course taught me a lot though, I gotta admit

por Justin H

24 de nov de 2021

Great introduction to this material and subject. Did not want to stop watching the videos. very easy to watch. Lots of information given. hope there will be a continuation of this course.

por Shawn T

10 de mai de 2022

Just finished 'The Last Kingdom' and found the Saxon/Danish world so fascinating. This further deepened my knowlegde of the history of the broader Scandanavian world. Loved it!

por Tomasz G

7 de abr de 2022

E​xcellent course. I have listened to the "Nordic mythology podcast" in the past, but I needed something more structured and beginner-friendly. This course is just that. Thank you!

por Victor R

22 de nov de 2021

This was a most fascinating and interesting course that I completed on Coursera so far! Looking forward to complete it with honours as well! Skål and may Odin be with you! :)

por Gregory J

5 de mai de 2022

Incredibly insightful and well put together; highly recommended for anyone intersted in learning more about this fascinating culture!

por Mary R S L

6 de mai de 2022

I really love it. I enjoyed this course so far. It made me learn more about Old Norse Mythology and learn more about history.

por David H

5 de fev de 2022

I thoroughly enjoyed this course, well presented and easy to follow. Now I've got a much better understanding of this topic.

por JUAN C O C

1 de jan de 2022

It's been fantastic to take this course, I can't wait for the next one of this compilation of courses

por Ragnar L

24 de abr de 2022

Great course. Fun course. I learned a lot and am inspired to learn much more about Norse Mythology.

por Julie T

2 de dez de 2021

A​ great way to get an overall view of Nordic Mythology. Good content!! Easy to understand.

por Sarah F

12 de jan de 2022

Learned the real history of the Norse myths and the people behind them.

por Daniel D

9 de mai de 2022

Super Imformative on Norse Culture and Poems

por Juliette F

21 de fev de 2022

​superb course, well written and presented

por Francisco O C F

31 de jan de 2022

E​xcelente curso introductorio.

por Michael H

24 de fev de 2022

thorough