Chevron Left
Voltar para Oceanography: a key to better understand our world

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Oceanography: a key to better understand our world da instituição Universidade de Barcelona

4.5
estrelas
186 classificações
51 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The course for a round the world regatta leads the boats through the Mediterranean Sea and the Atlantic, Southern Indian and South Pacific Oceans. On their voyage, the skippers come across a large variety of oceanographic situations: strong currents, floating ice, wave formations of every kind and biological diversity. In this course the student will learn about the foundations of the science of oceanography. You'll learn about the classification and formation of the ocean floor, how current sea satellite analysis systems work, the chemistry of the oceans and the processes that led to its formation. To follow this course does not require previous knowledge of oceanography....

Melhores avaliações

JS
6 de Jun de 2020

The course is very informative , helps in attaining a pile of knowledge about the oceanic world and its reserves. Conveying my gratitude to University of Barcelona for conducting such a course.

FA
17 de Ago de 2020

The course is very informative , helps in attaining a pile of knowledge about the oceanic world and its reserves. Conveying my gratitude to University of Barcelona for conducting such a course.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 52 Avaliações para o Oceanography: a key to better understand our world

por Vinicius S

18 de Ago de 2021

Aprendi muito, curso muito bom!!

por Poliane m a

1 de Out de 2020

Excelente informações thank you.

por Md. M I

22 de Jun de 2020

That's an amazing course.

por Subhashini S

20 de Mai de 2020

We good knowledge

por Ercan T

10 de Jul de 2021

Thanks millions.

por SHUBHAM Y

6 de Jul de 2020

I learnt a lot

por Ramyashree A H

23 de Abr de 2020

Good course!!!

por Olaobaju O A

28 de Mai de 2021

Mind Blowing

por Rituparna P

17 de Nov de 2020

Awesome

por Andros D C S

10 de Fev de 2020

The course is very rich in information, I have acquired broad elements to understand better the ocean dynamics, processes that are involved and the consequences caused by them. Sometimes I was a bit confused, I think the explanations were very good but sometimes not so clear.

As a Paleoceanography student definitely recommend this course to people who have already a bit background in the topic!

por Mari-Liis K

3 de Abr de 2020

It was a good overview of oceanography. The complexity and helpfulness of the course materials and videos vary immensely. Some translations and video subtitles in English are incomprehensible, intermediate Spanish skills helped me a lot. Generally, I recommend the course, but be prepared to struggle with languages.

por Robert C C

12 de Abr de 2018

Good course, but hard to follow. The quizzes tend to focus on details not emphasized in the lectures, and I would have liked more in the way of geological features and processes of the ocean, though what content there was was good.

por Parvathy S

31 de Ago de 2020

The course does say that you don't require prior knowledge about the field to learn about Oceanography but you need a strong understanding in physical and mathematic aspects of science in order to truly study the ocean.

por Ethan C

5 de Jun de 2021

I​ found this course fun, engaging and easy to learn except for that most of it is in spanish or catalan, but there are subtitles for you to read as you watch the video so that you may understand what they are saying.

por Karolin G

4 de Abr de 2021

This course provided a great overview of what oceanography is about and made me want to learn more about it. Thanks, Coursera, I will keep on learning!

por Nijhum p

20 de Jun de 2018

IT IS A GREAT COURSE FOR PEOPLE WHO ARE STUDYING MARINE SCIENCES .I FOUND IT INTERESTING AND I HAVE LEARNT MANY IMPORTANT FEATURES OF OCEAN.

por HARISH R

30 de Out de 2021

I have learned more from this course which enhanced my current knowledge about the ocean.

por Swarnadeep C

30 de Ago de 2020

The course should have been fully in English.

Otherwise, it's a good one!

por sarp g

26 de Set de 2020

Spanish made it harder but overall nice course.

por Ihtisham I P S N i G U

6 de Jul de 2020

Great course about oceanography

por Jessica H B

11 de Fev de 2021

The course gives a very good oceanography introduction, you can start having some idea of what oceanography is and what topics are important to get introduced to oceanography. HOWEVER, sometimes, the instructors don't give a good explanation, and you might have to search further. In my opinion, they gave such brief explanation on certain important topics that i had to unenroll the course to focus on them... But also, I wouldn't have any idea of what to search without this course. Also, somtimes they ask you to click on links or read PDFs, but, the PDFs might be missing and the links most of the times don't work, they take you to non-existing pages! Furthermore, the texts sometimes had grammar mistakes and mistyping (makes it even harder to undestand the content). Finally, an intermediate spanish knowledge might also be helpful since most of the videos were in spanish and the translations were mostly bad.

por Enrique G

8 de Jan de 2022

T​he contents of the course (selection of topics, order of presentation, level of detail of the material) is fine, and the presenters indeed master the subject. However, the quality of the way it is presented needs to be improved, for instance: The presenters are very often in front of the projection screen, hiding it. The projected images themselves lack sufficient contrast. The subtitles in English are inaccurate, sometimes to a ridiculous point: "special" instead of "spatial", "redder" instead of "radar". The translation from Spanish is even worse ("formación"should be translated as "formation" or "build-up" instead of "training", just to mention one example). This badly needs an in-depth review. There are obvious editorial mistakes, as well: many of the links to Internet pages are no longer existing, the video on altimetry (3.4.4) is actually a repetition of the scatterometer one.

por Colin T

15 de Nov de 2020

I found the presentations difficult to follow due to a mix of languages being used.

por Trevor L

29 de Set de 2019

Difficult to see the images and not all lectures had supporting pdf downloads.

Translation to English was mediocre at best – leading to some confusion wrt complex topics

(lucky I have intermediate Spanish skills)

Course seemed somewhat disconnected and varied erratically wrt level of abstraction vs detail

por Jonathan G

10 de Dez de 2017

This was to math heavy and could've easily been called Marine biology. However, the course content and the quizzes did not correlate with each other. The quizzes have nothing to do with the course.